Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 29, 2011
    72
    In short, Under Siege is a fast-paced, good-looking, accessible RTS that falls down only due to its sudden difficulty spikes and unremarkable story.
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    71
    Fun and interesting, but hampered by obscene difficulty and some other niggles. [Issue#207, p.99]
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    71
    Under Siege is a well-done RTS, although a bit too challenging for its own good. Featuring a high caliber production value and control scheme for a downloadable title, there's a lot to like in this maiden voyage for a new studio.
  4. Jul 7, 2011
    70
    Under siege proves, that with a good control scheme, strategy games can be very playable on a console. Where the game misses strategic depth, it redeems itself by calling upon your quick strategic decisions and its high difficulty. The learning curve could've been a bit less steep though.
  5. Jul 3, 2011
    70
    Finally, adding some longevity to the game, Under Siege includes a fairly powerful level editor that's at least on par with most PC games. While the game's light on actual strategy and heavy on micromanagement and instant to instant tactics, it's still not a bad choice for people looking for quick, RTS-style skirmishes on the PS3.
  6. 70
    If you are in the market for an RTS experience that will test your mettle and only lightly dent your online wallet, then Under Siege is a game you want to look into. Those wanting something that stays closer to the traditional formula of games like Starcraft won't find much comfort here.
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    70
    Under Siege provides quick real-time strategy battles, but overly tough difficulty and a lack of depth prevent the game from being a complete success.
  8. Jun 14, 2011
    70
    A game that requires a degree of patience and tolerance before it truly clicks. If you have the required resolve, there's plenty to admire.
  9. A little too tough for its own good. [Feb 2011, p.96]
  10. Jan 24, 2011
    70
    It's engaging and, if the controls can be forgiven, a satisfying sampler of RTS thrills for the uninitiated. [Feb 2011, p.100]
  11. Jun 14, 2011
    60
    Under Siege is a real-time strategy game with many issues, although it is still able to entertain. Recommended only for those who want to enjoy at all costs a strategy game on console that takes advantage of Move.
  12. Aug 2, 2011
    50
    As consoles lack really good strategy games, their users have to resort to half-measures – and 'half-measure' is a word that illustrates Under Siege perfectly. [August 2011, p.72]
  13. Jun 15, 2011
    50
    It's an RTS title with promise, but one that's just too damn hard and unforgiving.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Really surprised with the game! It's the first RTS that i think that is absolutely great to play in a console. It also haves great graphicsReally surprised with the game! It's the first RTS that i think that is absolutely great to play in a console. It also haves great graphics and the level editor is just insane, you can do whatever you want. With the PS+ bonus is a bargain, best 9 dollars i ever spent Full Review »
  2. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    One of the best surprises I've played in a long time! The controls are solid, the art direction and graphics are stunning, move support isOne of the best surprises I've played in a long time! The controls are solid, the art direction and graphics are stunning, move support is sharp (didn't believe 'till I played it!) and there are lots of customization options. Nice online, map editor and trophies! Even has platinum! And all in a 15â Full Review »
  3. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    Great game at an incredible price. I was waiting for a long time for this. It didn't disappoint me. Finally a decent RTS for PS3. The editorGreat game at an incredible price. I was waiting for a long time for this. It didn't disappoint me. Finally a decent RTS for PS3. The editor is awesome i will play it for a long time. Well done. Full Review »