Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. This has the rare, old-fashioned appeal of being a real pad-passer. [Apr 2013, p.110]
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    80
    Urban Trial Freestyle is a rather enjoyable game. It frustrated me, and some things felt unfair, but that never stopped me from restarting the track for another shot at beating that ghost. The presentation and customization options are not too exciting, but they get the job done. If you’re into Trials-type games, this is one you may want to try.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Urban Trial Freestyle is a very good stunt game that has the potential to provide hours of entertainment, especially if you like trying to break records, be they your own or others.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Urban Trial Freestyle is an awesome experience but it just doesn’t last that long.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    It's easy to get sucked into Urban Trial Freestyle for hours trying to perfect a run, and the difficulty ramps up that there will almost always be a new challenge for you. A nice "harder-core" compliment to Joe Danger.
  6. Apr 13, 2013
    75
    Happily addictive. [May 2013, p.81]
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    75
    In other words, it won't win Game of the Year, but it will keep you playing for awhile — and really, what more can a game do?
  8. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    A good effort, an entertaining ride, a clone that’s different, but in none of the ways that it needs to be different. As an option for a system that doesn’t get the blissful torture of Trials HD or it’s sequel, it’s worth the money if you have that itch, but when put up against the best, it shows itself to be nothing more then a quality knock-off.
  9. 70
    Excitebike meets Wipeout in this challenging arcade racing game. Great for those short line-ups when five minutes need to be burned but lacks any deep reserve of nitro to keep the engines burning at full speed into first place glory.
  10. Feb 25, 2013
    70
    Urban Trial Freestyle has nothing new to offer other than Trials Evolution, but is filled with an addictive gameplay and a good longevity. The PS Vita version has some technical issues, but it's worth the price.
  11. 70
    A shameless imitation that nevertheless does a convincing job while trying to bring something new to the table. Bravo, you cheeky sods.
  12. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    I wouldn't classify this as a must-play title, but if you're starved for a Trials HD experience on a non-Microsoft platform, Urban Trial Freestyle does just enough to do the trick.
  13. Apr 4, 2013
    65
    You may think this is beginning to sound like a gimped versions of our beloved Trials, and you’d be right. Feeling flat and uninspired, it seems like the folks at Tate Interactive were simply trying to bring a whiff of the Trials gameplay to PlayStation owners. Sadly, what they received was a gutted version that lacks the fundamentals, and fails to add anything new. While it is playable and even enjoyable at times, you will still find yourself asking ‘Why am I not playing Trials?’ But if you don’t own an Xbox, sadly this may be your best bet.
  14. Many set pieces simply do not work smoothly, and sacrifice fun for punishing perfection. Even replaying the tracks to memorise when to open the throttle or the best way to land can’t counteract this, and Urban Trial Freestyle ends up being not just unforgiving, but also plain unfair. [May 2013, p77]
  15. Feb 28, 2013
    60
    Flaws like these show that, while Urban Trial Freestyle is a decent addition to the PlayStation games library, the game struggles to match who they're trying to imitate in pretty much every department.
  16. Feb 20, 2013
    60
    It gets so difficult, and the progression is so odd, that I couldn’t even finish the game. You can only try to maneuver a dirt bike through pneumatic platforms that launch you from one to another, up a shaft, so many times before admitting defeat.
  17. Feb 19, 2013
    60
    There’s biker and vehicle customization in the game, and a fair amount of it. With outfits, accessories, and bike upgrades to attain, enough reason exists to go out of your way to nab cash in-game and increase your star count.
  18. Feb 19, 2013
    55
    Urban Trial Freestyle may throw in the occasional little tweak, but they aren’t enough to elevate the game past the level of a flattering wannabe. If you're into the idea of a platforming-heavy motorbike game, stick with the tried and true Trials series.
  19. May 13, 2013
    50
    Controls are not as superb as in Trials Evolution, physics engine not as perfectly precise and the challenges not as insanely over the top. That’s why Urban Trial Freestyle is a rival for Joe Danger rather than Trials Evolution. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.75]
  20. Mar 5, 2013
    50
    Urban Trial Freestyle may have taken a lot of inspiration from Trials Evolution, but it only emulates the bare minimum. Yes, there is a bike, and, yes, there are obstacles to navigate, but any soul or innovation is left at the starting line. This is a cold, sterile replication of a successful franchise, and a testament to the fact that fun cannot be imitated in such an uninspired way.
  21. Feb 19, 2013
    50
    Urban Trial Freestyle is, at its very best, a poor man’s Trials Evolution. It feels very much the same, but it lacks the personality and host of features that its source material possesses.
  22. Feb 20, 2013
    40
    There's no passion or care in Urban Trial Freestyle's construction, no sense of playfulness of fun. It's a game that does the bare minimum required to look like another game, and once the resemblance is close enough, it leaves it at that, with all the rough edges still on display.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    First off, let me say this: screw the critics. Urban trials is a fun, challenging game in the same vain as Trials HD on the Xbox. I will admit that its a watered down clone and it doesn't have the same personality but it is still fun and that is all that counts. The graphics are early PS3, the frame rate does tend to stutter at times, and the background chatter is annoying. Early in the game, it is nearly impossible to get a fast run time and it is nearly impossible to do a basic flip because the bike you are given is slow and heavy but after a few runs you will have enough money to pimp out your bike (and rider) and things get much faster at that point. I love the urban street setting, riding across cars, tractors, and having the highway collapse under my bike is cool. This game is not perfect but it is fun and it is worth the price. Check out the demo and see for yourself. Full Review »
  2. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    I played Trials 2 on steam and it was fun. So i decided to get Urban Trials. And I'm really enjoying this game. The bike controls and the tracks are easy to learn but hard to master, the setting feels very much like Motorstorm. I don't know why this game got so many bad reviews. Please don't listen to them and try it out for yourself. Full Review »
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    I played Trials HD on my friend x-box, now got Urban Trial Freestyle on PS3 and i must say i'm very positively surprised! Critics compare it so much to Trials yes its the same genre but a whole different game. Controls are perfect for me easy at start but hard to master and earn 5 stars. I recommend it especially to play with friends. Full Review »