Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Urban Trial Freestyle challenges players to push their risk-taking to the absolute limits to deliver maximum stunt rewards. The game's nonstop action is complemented by a host of features including trophies, multiple game modes, leader boards, rider and bike customisation, and much more.

    With slick urban detailed graphics and an innovative physics engine fine-tuned for fun pick-up and play, the game has been specifically engineered to get the most out of each platform.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    It's easy to get sucked into Urban Trial Freestyle for hours trying to perfect a run, and the difficulty ramps up that there will almost always be a new challenge for you. A nice "harder-core" compliment to Joe Danger.
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Urban Trial Freestyle is a very good stunt game that has the potential to provide hours of entertainment, especially if you like trying to break records, be they your own or others.
  3. This has the rare, old-fashioned appeal of being a real pad-passer. [Apr 2013, p.110]
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    I wouldn't classify this as a must-play title, but if you're starved for a Trials HD experience on a non-Microsoft platform, Urban Trial Freestyle does just enough to do the trick.
  5. Many set pieces simply do not work smoothly, and sacrifice fun for punishing perfection. Even replaying the tracks to memorise when to open the throttle or the best way to land can’t counteract this, and Urban Trial Freestyle ends up being not just unforgiving, but also plain unfair. [May 2013, p77]
  6. Feb 20, 2013
    60
    It gets so difficult, and the progression is so odd, that I couldn’t even finish the game. You can only try to maneuver a dirt bike through pneumatic platforms that launch you from one to another, up a shaft, so many times before admitting defeat.
  7. Feb 20, 2013
    40
    There's no passion or care in Urban Trial Freestyle's construction, no sense of playfulness of fun. It's a game that does the bare minimum required to look like another game, and once the resemblance is close enough, it leaves it at that, with all the rough edges still on display.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    I've finished both PS3 and Vita versions.. they are very good. waiting for some dlc or additional maps. Also cant wait for iOS version! A must have for me! Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    This game is a blast. Quick paced, challenging and addicting. The physics felt spot on and the different bike setups was a nice touch. High replay value. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    I played Trials 2 on steam and it was fun. So i decided to get Urban Trials. And I'm really enjoying this game. The bike controls and the tracks are easy to learn but hard to master, the setting feels very much like Motorstorm. I don't know why this game got so many bad reviews. Please don't listen to them and try it out for yourself. Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    First off, let me say this: screw the critics. Urban trials is a fun, challenging game in the same vain as Trials HD on the Xbox. I will admit that its a watered down clone and it doesn't have the same personality but it is still fun and that is all that counts. The graphics are early PS3, the frame rate does tend to stutter at times, and the background chatter is annoying. Early in the game, it is nearly impossible to get a fast run time and it is nearly impossible to do a basic flip because the bike you are given is slow and heavy but after a few runs you will have enough money to pimp out your bike (and rider) and things get much faster at that point. I love the urban street setting, riding across cars, tractors, and having the highway collapse under my bike is cool. This game is not perfect but it is fun and it is worth the price. Check out the demo and see for yourself. Collapse
  5. Sep 21, 2013
    5
    Good: It is a good entertainment.
    Bad: The truth is that is really "cheap" game at several levels. So I did one question to myself: "Why
    paying for this game when you can play free on internet similar games (with the same graphics)? Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    1
    If you love Trials HD or Evolution, then this game isn't for you! The graphics are OK, but terrible physics and bad controls make this wannabe a must avoid at all costs affair. If you have never played any of the Trials on Xbox then you may even like this! but play Trials first and then play this I guarantee you will hate this shameless rip off. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    I never deleted a PSN or xbox live game, but this game is so bad, it deserve it. OK, I did deleted some, but based on a hdd space issue. The game physics is terrible, it prevents you from falling but with a set threshold. Both game modes are not enjoyable, but the stunt mode just wins the wtf award. for instance, in Deep crisis, fist trick is a flip, i can't even pull off one full flip but leaderboard shows a 13294 degre flip! Could it be i'm just not good enough? Nope, this game was made to cash in on ps3 gamers waiting for trials HD, and then let them down with this subpar excuse of a trial game. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews