Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Edge Magazine
    Aug 20, 2014
    70
    Boss fights aside, Ubosoft's consideration for its subject matter throughout is striking. [Sept 2014, p.104]
  2. Jun 24, 2014
    80
    Far from the played-out tales of clean-cut supersoldiers fighting impossible odds, Valiant Hearts: The Great War humanizes the First World War and delivers gameplay that focuses on the psychological toll of the war—not on the killing. While some puzzles and exploration elements succeed more than others, Valiant Hearts is worth seeing through for students of history and fans of classic PC adventure titles.
  3. Jul 3, 2014
    90
    A truly engaging story told in a unique visual style... there's really not much wrong with Valiant Hearts, even if its replay value isn't all that valiant.
  4. Jun 25, 2014
    80
    Individual elements of the game are superb, but the juxtaposition of a grim war and puzzles and platforms just doesn’t quite work, and the game as a whole cannot live up to the emotional heft and gameplay of the last twenty minutes.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jul 16, 2014
    10
    When I heard UbiArt announcing this game and what it was about, I felt like they somehow read my mind, as I am a World War I "buff" and loveWhen I heard UbiArt announcing this game and what it was about, I felt like they somehow read my mind, as I am a World War I "buff" and love puzzle games. And I am so very happy that it met up with my expectations entirely.

    While I agree with some reviewers saying that the puzzles seem at times to make the game more child-like, I feel that was a valid choice in that you are trying to show the war in a different light than, say, the thousand FPS call-of-duty clones out there, all trying to make the player into the Rambo-like, unstoppable hero of his own action movie. This actively avoids having you kill anyone, instead knocking them out with a punch upside the head. You throw grenades at times, but the enemy runs before they explode. You may feel like they are babying you, keeping the horrors away, but if you look around your characters, the horror is all around you: you don't need to add to it when the screen fills up with the dead and dying. When your actions are directly responsible for a person's death, it is shown exactly as it should be shown - a horrific act that you would regret, not celebrate; something unforgettable rather than a bloodless body-count racking up on a screen.

    As you play, the puzzles don't change too much in difficulty, but the feeling of helplessness ramps up, as everything you do seems to feel less and less like a victory. That's the point. That's what the war felt like to many. And if that ending doesn't move you to tears, I feel that you really didn't give the attention to the message this game was telling you.

    This is not a game for kids. This is a game showing how a generation lost their innocence to this war.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 28, 2015
    8
    If you are looking for a well written adventure game, complete with fun puzzles and even a bit of a history lesson to boot, then look noIf you are looking for a well written adventure game, complete with fun puzzles and even a bit of a history lesson to boot, then look no further than Valiant Hearts: The Great War. Full Review »
  3. Jun 30, 2015
    9
    Valiant Hearts: The Great War is an incredible and unforgettable experience. No game or movie has ever depicted friendship in war as carefullyValiant Hearts: The Great War is an incredible and unforgettable experience. No game or movie has ever depicted friendship in war as carefully as this has. With satisfying (but not too hard) puzzles and a brilliantly told narrative with one of the most emotionally powerful endings of all time, this remains one of the greatest games of 2014. I only wish it lasted a little longer. Full Review »