User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 223

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    I don't understand why the reviews for this game are so low. Yes, the game is on the short side but so are many more games. To me the only problem with the game is that it was so good it left me wanting more. This is seen as the only major issue the game has, but still during the 6-7 hours the game takes to complete you will be in pure shooter nirvana. The great graphics, the welcomed difficulty and the overall sense of mayhem makes this game one of the years best games on the PS3. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    I'm in love with Vanquish. It mashes together everything a hardcore gamer could want: intuitive controls, mobility, balance, a competitive scoring system, and stylized action. Itâ
  3. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    It may not have had the hype of some of the forthcoming big name games but, make no mistake Vanquish one of the most exciting PS3 action games this year. Challenging, innovative and when it's at it's best genuinely thrilling.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    Vanquish is a stylish game with endless fun potential. Its a great change of pace from the everyday shooter clones on the market. It has none stop action and amazing graphics that never make the frame rate drop even with everything exploding all around you. I highly recommend this to anyone that just wants a fun none stop action shooter.
  5. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Vanquish is a one of a kind, its unique and is totally different from other third person shooting games. It never gets boring as the gameplay is fun because you feel so powerful and fast, and the game throws something big at you out of the blue which makes your heart pump. In the game, you take contol of Sam Gideon in the futuristic world, who wears a special suit called A.R.S, which has the ability to boost with amazing ecceleration and speed, slow mo to help you destory your robots enemies to pieces and you can also melee, but make sure not to over use these ability as your suit will overheat meaning you have to wait for it to recharge. You can hide behind objects to cover and shoot but thats not the fun way to play the game, JUST BOOOOOST!!! The game takes around 7 hours to complete.The game doesn't have multiplayer, but that doesn't mean it doesn't have replay value, after each act you unlock challenge mode which is one of the most addicting mode I have ever played, challenge mode will take you a while to complete as it is bloody hard! Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    Vanquish reminds me of what it felt like as a kid to play the newest and coolest arcade games in the late 80's and early 90's that SEGA made. I'm talking about those big cabinet games that moved around like After Burner and cost $1 to play. Every second of this game is fun fun fun. The graphics are beautiful and the gameplay addicting because the control mechanics are TOP NOTCH. I suggest going through the last couple tutorials before starting but after that, it's all second nature. The story behind the game is simple, but a lot of fun..again it's a throw back of the corny but cool characters in arcade games back in it's golden era before the home market caught up and became superior over the coin-ops. There are 2 demos on the PSN right now.. I played them for about an hour before grabbing my jacket to go to the store to pick this game up. Nowadays games have to be at least 10 hours of gameplay for some to bother but there is a lot more to offer here. The game makes you want to improve on all your stats because it's so addicting. Playing through it you start thinking, I bet I could get through this faster next time if I throw my grenades here first, wait to blow up the exploding barrel here, and take cover here. One of the demos is a timed challenge, this is what did it for me, besides the amazingly awesome WOW moments that's in the campaign. Think God of War with kick-ass guns, only you're not Kratos, you're a regular average good guy in an awesome accelerator suit from a bad movie. (GI JOE) Also if there are any Bayonetta fans out there, as I was, Vanquish is better. Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    This game is simply amazing. It takes all the standards of cover based TPS and turns them on their head to create a new experience in a genre that is rapidly becoming driven into the ground. Sure, there is cover in this game but you will only spend mere seconds at a time in it to restore your power-suit's energy. The rest of the time will be spent using said energy to perform maneuvers that elevate Vanquish's "standard gameplay" to something that looks like a meticulously choreographed cut-scene of your own design. The two techniques that use suit energy are rocket sliding and slowing time (triggered primarily by dodge rolling into an aiming position), and the rapid juxtaposition of the two is highly encouraged. Both of these techniques are actually far more effective in preventing damage than cover is, and both are highly aggressive maneuvers. However, the suit doesn't carry much energy with a stiff penalty for ever exhausting it completely--but on the upside it does recharge very rapidly. Thus Vanquish's perfect **** of insane speeds, dodge rolls with jaw dropping head shots attached, and cover mechanics is born. Not to mention there are many maneuvers the game never tells you about that are guaranteed to raise a smile (IE the melee during a dash allows you to kick off an enemy's chest into an aerial slow-mo aim to head shot his friends, or that you can trigger slow-mo during a slide/vaulting over cover/flipkicking enemies into the air) that the player must discover through experimentation to keep you learning all the great things you can do with suit energy. Levels won't cease to amaze you until the game is over, with new set pieces that crop up everywhere. The game is short, but the replay value will come from the gameplay--like a Devil May Cry game this game is begging to be played harder, faster, and more stylishly as your skills increase. For anyone who is a fan of TPS or Japanese-style action gaming this is about as good as it gets. I will say the story is a wreck of B-movie self-indulgent dialogue and sometimes appears as self-parody, but I don't think that should stop any gamer from experiencing the amazing game play to be found in this title. Expand
  8. Sep 1, 2011
    6
    The controls are great, the graphics are pretty good and the gameplay is relentlessly fun. Vanquish is a great game for those looking for an adrenaline rush; a rush it is coming in at just over 5 hours long on Normal difficulty. The story is pretty poor; Russian evil dude wants to destroy USA etc... it's been done a million times before. Most male characters have a rough accent and at times annoying and over the top dramatic. Nonetheless, it's a decent game and I had fun playing and I'm glad I rented it. The graphics are good in the sense of large environments and the particle effects are good as are the characters models. The let downs are the length and the story, the best bits are the gameplay and levels. 3/5. Expand
  9. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    yes its a tad short but this game is seriously good fun the action is fast and frantic the weapons are interesting.the boss fights are pretty cool too if you like third person shooters this will stave off the hunger for gears 3.one complaint no multiplayer.
  10. Oct 19, 2010
    7
    This game's shooter mechanics are average or acceptable. The concept of a man in a spacesuit with a gun has been done before. The graphics are very good. I wasn't excited to play this and I had never heard about it before. The game engine felt borrowed from another game. Nothing stood out about this game, and the difficulty was very high. It was more overwhelming than being an addictive or fun experience. I can't really recommend this over Lost Planet or Gears of War which are more interesting, but this game seems just OK. Expand
  11. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    Bought this game along time ago. I will just say that this game is underrated, I think this game sold under a million copies in which I doubt they will make another one. It's a shame because this game was unique and it seems that people just want mor of the same crap and then complain afterwards. If you guys want different games that are unique you will have to go out and buy games like this, if not we will be forced to play Call of Duty style games forever. That is another thing I don't understand, How can Call of Duty get a good score and how to people get manipulated into buying the most generic shooter ever created? Pretty soon you will buy a different game and Call of Duty will be in the box... you can't escape it. And you just know that the "pro" reviews are dirty because it's funny how they can give some games a bad review for being the same thing as the previous, but every year Call of Duty seems to get an awesome mark from them, and that game never changes and it sucks. I guess this is more of a rant on Call of Duty...lol
    Buy this game
    Expand
  12. Nov 9, 2010
    6
    Could have got much better score from me, probably even a GOTY award from me if it wouldn't have some problems. Never saw annoying lags and bugs, great looking graphics, controls are good if not counting, that you can do evade move only in four dircetions. What problems in this game? Well, first of all, I completed this game on hard in 4 hours, giving you '' What? Did I already completed this game? '' feeling. Even though completing this game gives you a God Hard difficulty option, it doesn't save you from the feeling. For second problem, the end section of the game. At the final sections of the game, you will face boss battles, repeatedly. Worst of all, boss enemies which you had faced before, you will need to fight againts them, again, again and again. It just gets annoying when almost every fight is againts bosses, making you bored. Buy this only when it gets cheaper. Expand
  13. Nov 18, 2010
    6
    I'm not about to argue that Vanquish isn't fun, it is, it is tons of fun and stylish to boot. The story is inconsequential but that's cool, I don't mind if the gameplay is there, which it is. But at the same time, I am absolutely shocked at all the brilliant reviews it has been receiving for one reason. It has the life span of a three course meal at a restaurant, you can hire the game and if you have excellent shooting chops, blow through it in four hours straight on the hardest difficulty. I don't mind the exclusion of multiplayer as it has become rather trendy of late and often feels tacked on instead of properly worked with and wouldn't fit within the element of the title. I do mind that it has next to no re-playability. You'd think in a world of 40 hour open world games and engrossing, linear epics like Uncharted the developer could have at least found a way to make the ride last longer, even it it was just to include a stack of challenge modes eg. Timesplitters. In conclusion, it could have been brilliant, but I see a high score as a recommendation to buy, and I wouldn't buy this title, it's a fun rental for a night and that is all. Expand
  14. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    amazing graphics and visuals, great characters and a nice story. but the real great thing about vanquish is the game play everything about it is good, one of the best shooters out there. the story might be short but with the scoring system and god hard mode unlocked after you beat the game it has more than enough replayability to be totally worth it.
  15. Apr 8, 2012
    8
    Love this game easily one I the best 3rd person Shooters on the ps3, with shinJi Mikamo you cannot go wrong. Stunning, fast paced graphics, coupled with high octane gun fights, this game didn't sell well, shocks really as people should bite the bullet and pick it up.
  16. Jun 19, 2011
    6
    Mmm, i thought it looked a bit grainy??? Re release in HD please. Incredible matcho snake talking nonsence but enjoyable in places. Repetitive. Repetitive. Repetitive.
  17. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    I have been playing Vanquish for a little over two years. Such is the appeal of Shinji Mikami masterpiece, I just keep coming back to it.

    Vanquish is a polished gem of a game. Everything is rock solid, no glitches, no bugs no crashes. The game inspires confidence as soon as you see these beautiful graphics. And they are beautiful. Real care and attention has been placed on all
    aspects bun none more so than the Battle Suit. There are so many moving parts and flashing lights, it is a treat to look at and often worth a camera spin to see just how good it looks. Weapons morph into existence as extensions of the suit and are generated so beautifully they deserve a special mention.

    The gameplay is solid. It feels very retro, in the style of Mega Man. You feel overpowered with the control you have over the character as the controls are that good, but it's not long before your control is tested to the max. Once you get past the learning curve it really does become second nature to operate the suit in a heartbeat.

    The difficulty of Vanquish is fantastic. Choose casual and it really is just that. The suit will look after you and the enemies go down like flies. Hard is the path to choose. Trophies are rewarded for completing each level and eventually the game by choosing hard mode. Each Boss has a trick to it just like great retro games of old one you uncover the trick it is a matter of execution. Like I said the difficulty if perfect.

    Scoring is done in the old Sega arcade style over Stages and Acts and scores are posted to an online leaderboard This constitutes the only online aspect of the game and Vanquish is better off for it.

    As you beat the game Tactical Challenges game mode will become unlocked. These are by far the most challenging aspects of the game. The sixth and final challenge is by far one of the most difficult aspects of any game I have played. Based on this challenge only, PS3trophies.org ramped the difficulty level for the Platinum to 9.5 out of 10. So again worth a special mention for those looking for a challenge.

    Vanquish is a truly sensational game and one that you will keep coming back to. Most people I know are put off by the frantic nature of it but believe me it is so smooth and solid that once you get used to the overload it is a thing of beauty. The best game from developers Platinum Games in this reviewers opinion. And it features the single best credits screen of any game.
    Expand
  18. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    Really good fun. Awesome shooting mechanics, slow motion works really well and the animation for changing guns is the coolest I've ever seen. The only problem is that it gets a bit repetitive. However, don't let that put you off buying this amazing game.
  19. Mar 6, 2012
    3
    I'm sorry I didn't enjoy this game one little bit. This is like a really pointless hack n slash game. Going around shooting the same robots, over and over and over and over and over again. And the so called bosses are the same over and over and over and over again it gets very boring, very quickly. There is no customisation to either weapons or suit (increasing mag size is a joke). I've almost completed it but its taken every ounce of my being to get this far; for me its like going to the dentist to have a tooth taken out but have to endure the pain without local anaesthetic. I respect that some people enjoyed it but didn't. Expand
  20. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    Amazing gameplay, good graphics, believable character models and expressions, extra challenges for those who want more ... Where is my goddamn sequel?!
  21. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    Vanquish is one of thoose games that gets through on some real fun gameplay but every thing els is pretty much average . the game is just to short . some where around 4-5 hours. the story doesnt do much some thing about russians splintering into a new faction and attacking san francisco with a new wepon from space and the action begins and not much of any story after that. the voice acting is decent and the wepon selection is ok with about 8 differnt guns and 2 types of grenades . where the game shines is in its crazy action with your charicter flying across the floor at what looks like 100 MPH shooting stuff . all in all vanquish has it where it counts its fun . i picked mine up new on sale at Kmart for $27. this game is certainly worth picking up if you can get it for under $30. the short time it takes to beat it keeps it from wanting to pay more then that. otherwise its certainly worth renting. Expand
  22. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    The great forgotten game of 2010, switch the language to Japanese to get rid of the poor voice acting, exercise your trigger finger to avoid frustration then dive into a shooter that is willing to do something a little bit different. I just hope there is a sequel with a multiplayer focus because the way this game was put together and the polish of everything including the visuals is astounding.
  23. Jan 14, 2011
    7
    Seriously, how short can a game be? Its fun in parts, but christ If it wasn't for the large boss health bars the game would be half the length. Rent for a laugh and a few hours of ADHD enducing action, but dont buy unless you want to feel like a sucker.
  24. Jul 6, 2011
    8
    Excellent gameplay, decent graphics and sound and a weak story. The characters are gross exaggerations of overly simplified western stereotypes which makes everything seem, well, cheesy for lack of a better word. Gameplay is very good which makes the game a lot of fun to play. It's took bad they botched the story,'this could have been a 9 plus experience. Oh well, I'd give it 8.5/10, no more but have to give 8/10 due to lack of .5 increments. The game is more 8 than 9. Expand
  25. Nov 6, 2010
    8
    The best PlatinumGames project yet. It starts off like a run-of-the-mill space shooter, but then the first boss transforms into a giant mech that fires thousands of missiles at you in one attack, and the game starts to show the Shinji Mikami charm. Combat is fast and intense, and using your suit's booster jets to power slide across battefields never gets dull. The weapons are satisfying for the most part, however others like the LFE gun and Lock-on Laser aren't very useful, and there aren't many weapons in the game altogether so you're likely to stick to the same 3 or 4 weapons for the entire game. The boss battles are a treat, with quick-time events given a wonderful over-the-top execution. There isn't much story and what little characters there are never really get developed. This would be forgiveable if the incredibly fun game play lasted much longer. On the easiest difficulty you'll finish this game within 4-5 hours. While you will very likely want to play through again on a harder difficulty immediately afterwards, it's still disappointing that the campaign is so short, and with no multiplayer and only online leaderboards, there isnt much else to do but to play through on the higher difficulties hunting trophies. Still, while a sadly brief game, Vanquish is one of the most insanely fun games you'll play this year. Even if you don't want to pay full price for it, I highly recommend it when it drops in price, and I'm calling it an essential rental. Here's hoping for a bigger, better and funnier sequel. Expand
  26. Oct 23, 2010
    8
    While the game may be over quicker than most like, it takes up slack by revving up the action and crafting an intriguing story that I hope to see continue. The ARS suit brings up fond memories of Casshern and Guyver, and the weapon swapping system is interesting in that the more you pick up the same kind of weapon, the more your suit refines it's model of that weapon, upgrading it's performance.
  27. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    This game is unbelievably on steroids. I am a big fan of mecha/gundam/guyver and robotech. I was skeptical thinking that this is another mediocre game but I am very surprised with the presentation of Vanquish. Nonstop shootin' guns blazin' challengin' enemies is what makes this game memorable.
    Second transformation of boss mechas after a hideous battle really pushed my overdrive mode to
    "rape that big boss in the a**!" I am out of words.lol.

    Vanquish 10/10

    Buy this game and make sure to bring extra sodas cuz u r in for a thrill ride. Bring sum weed too. Peace out!
    Expand
  28. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Vanquish is simply amazing. This game is a genuine classic. Its the devil may cry of third person shooters, with fast and stylish gameplay. Although the game is short enough and the plot wont win any awards, it doesn't matter. Platinum games are the best game developers of all time and have cemented that place with this game. Fingers crossed for a sequel.
  29. May 4, 2013
    9
    The only thing that knocks this game down from a ten was the first couple of hours of the story. A bit too cheesy and derivative, but I did warm up to it as I played. As for the action, level design, and enemy design... Just wow. I played this game through on Hard and died over and over and over again. But I kept coming back to it. Because when you die, you feel like, if I just did that instead, maybe I wouldn't have. It makes Gears of War and Halo seem down right sluggish. This game is available for free right now on Playstation Plus, a great way to play this game if you haven't. Expand
  30. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    I do not understand people who claim they can play this game on the hardest setting in under four hours. Clearly they haven't tried playing on it. It's mental.
    In any case, this game is great! It's got excellent graphics, gameplay that doesn't bore even after two playthroughs, lots of references to other games and a killer difficulty (at least on Hard/ God Hard. Damn that ending boss).
    Though the storyline is pretty mediocre, it doesn't bother too much since you just want to keep playing.

    The ending scene hints for a sequel? Let's hope.
    Expand
  31. May 11, 2011
    8
    Vanquish is a really good game that suffers from a few problems, the pacing is non-existent, story is corny and predictable, and someother minor things. But with so many good things, it doesn't matter because no matter how I look at it, Vanquish is a great game with more good than bad.
  32. May 2, 2011
    10
    This game has a slightly embarrassing, overly-macho plot. It's pretty short. It's a good thing every second of gameplay is sheer adrenaline and fun.

    Basically, Vanquish is a second-person cover shooter, where you can dash at incredible speeds to find new cover (which is constantly being destroyed), and enter bullet-time to dodge the ridiculous hail of gunfire. There is no padding, just
    lots of amazing gameplay. Don't listen to the haters here. I much preferred this game to Gears of War, and I liked Gears of War. If you've ever liked a shooter, pick up Vanquish. It's available for a good price, and every set-piece is memorable. Expand
  33. Feb 26, 2013
    7
    Its face paced action is sure a good thing. However, the games to short and besides the turbo function nothing special. Still had fun with it, liked the end fight.
  34. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Party like it's 1999! At least that is what you think you may be playing. An old Sega Dreamcast game with Next-Gen graphics. Vanquish is one of those rare games they don't make anymore. It is one of those games that you most likely will either love, or trade in for Call of Duty titles. It is definetly not for weak hearted, short-spanned gamer out there. Trophy hunters need not apply. You're going to have a blast playing Vanquish. It is a great mix of Bayonetta, Lost Planet, and Virtual-On. So, if you did not like any of those, turn away right now. Graphics are fairly solid. Framerate keeps up pretty good 90% of the time, and the gameplay is just as smooth. It has crazy amount of action on screen, and it leaves you no room to breathe. Boss battles are awesome and challenging. The sound is good, but music is your typical ambient arcade music. Typical SEGA. Also this is not a long game. Less than average but on par with Call of Duty playtime of 4-6 hours. I would love to have seen some DLC for this game. It is one of those rare games you actually want to buy DLC for, but do not have it. Also no MP hurts replayability. CO-OP would have been a bug plus. Overall a must buy for hardcore gamers, and fans of Shinji Mikami's titles. Lack of replayability is the only downside to an overall classic that is of the dying breed. Expand
  35. Apr 9, 2013
    7
    A great-looking game with an emphasis on having fun. Vanquish isn't attempting to wow anyone with its plot/narrative, it's all about giving the player some cool toys to play with. Story and dialogue are clichéd and cheesy with hammy voice acting, but I got the impression the game knew that, and didn't care, which as far as action games go is just fine.
  36. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    Its only fault is being so much on the short side... Game is just so much fun! The action is really engaging, the weapons are satisfying to shoot, it's a joy to simply move around the scenery making use of the crazy amour. The voice acting is quite good as well, it's a shame that the lines itself are pure cheese. The story is generic and somewhat substandard, but it's not intrusive to game-play: cut-scenes are pretty short and can be skipped. Overall, excellent game where its only drawback is that there is not more of it. But there comes the replay value, I guess. You will want to play it more. Expand
  37. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    My favourite game of 2010, hands down. After first dismissing early vague screenshots, I quickly realised the error of my ways. Shinji Mikami. Platinum Games. This game wasn't just a Dark Void-esque Gears throwback, it was a cleverly packaged homage to Probotector, Space Harrier et al; merciless shooters of yesteryear. The game BLEEDS style. The Guyver crossed with Iron Man tearing up some anime surplus mech warehouse in space. Presentation is slick, with bold sharp graphics and an eye for detail. A great soundtrack accompanies the tightest 3rd-person shooter controls available, providing intense skilful gameplay. The story is short and uninspired, but that's ok; you only came for the fireworks anyway. Expand
  38. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    This is a pretty good and interesting action game. The artistic design is kind of nice, graphics are good technically. What is important about this game, what makes it stand out from the rest of the shooters are several mechanics kidn of unique to it, at least in this combination and usage. Three of them are these: (1) Slow-Motion â
  39. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    This is definitely the best third person cover-shooter I have played. Forget that gears of war crap, it's slow and clunky and the characters have no charisma. Vanquish is incredible.
  40. Feb 5, 2014
    8
    Ecstatic action made by Shinji Mikami of Resident Evil, Dino Crisis and Devil May Cry fame, shining with the quality and atmosphere one could expect from such a talented developer as Platinum Games. It comes with most of the clichés you'd expect from a shooter: turrets, on-rail vehicles, epic bosses etc. The levels have just enough variety to keep me interested, and some characters have the cool overstated features of animé badasses. It ends suddenly after five "acts" which has me feeling they cut out the finale. But Vanquish is still a bit like pizza: it's short but well rounded, every bite is equally tasteful, and it has much flavor despite the familiar graphical presentation. Vanquish offers a fair challenge, and is mostly well balanced without frustrating difficulty spikes. Sure, I died more than 30 times during the campaign on 'normal', but save points are spread fairly throughout the game, so it's easy to jump back in and give it another go. The very fluid and fast controls reminds me of Dark Souls, and the game also reminds me of Metal Gear Solid and animé action in the way it all seems so imaginative and potent, brimming with playfulness underneath the Gears of War imitation. The plot feels pointless and I don't feel enriched or amazed after playing it. But it's outstanding action gameplay. The added online rankings (both global and friend list) add a touch of arcade machine. The SEGA logo made me think of Sonic and the effortless fun of early arcade games. I'm glad to say the gameplay fully lives up to both that logo and to the nostalgia I connect it with. It could get a better score, but I'll reserve the high marks for totally unique, thoughtful games.

    (I gave it a 7 but kept playing for the fun trophies and challenges which improved play-time with more than a few hours. The only other game I have so gladly stayed with for achievements was Rayman Legends. The optional Japanese voice-track helps keep the game fresh on replays, and the open design of the arenas make for different strategies and scenarios so each time has variety.)
    Expand
  41. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    an extraordinary game, full of frenetic action and speed. Japanese´s product and the clear signal that they too know how to do shooters up to the top.
  42. Jun 23, 2013
    6
    Vanquish, a game I got mad at countless times... I can't really complain since I got it free through PS+, but I will still review it. I swear they must have picked the worst voice actors in this game other than Elena. But Robert Burns, my God... He sounded horrible, and the main character wasn't bad but not great at all. So basically this games story won't make sense, the story is based in the future with Russia and the US at "war" never heard of this concept before! The Russians have taken control of Providence, a space ship that hold American personnel and civilians. The Russians used this beam weapon to destroy San Francisco and have told the US to give up. And the US says no and send troops to destroy Russian robots... That's it. That's extent of the story! If you're a shoot em up kinda gamer you may like this, 'cause that's all you do in this game. Every mission is go kill robots here, go on an elevator fight more robots, go on a flying "ship" if that's what you want to call it and once again kill more robots. There is little variation between robots, there is the big and small robots and some ANNOYING bosses. The bosses are some of the cheapest in a game ever. The learning curve is something that drew me and a lot of other people away from the game, its so steep. The first boss you face is hard, and I did beat him with 5 to 6 deaths, which by the way takes away from your average score. The weapons are also pretty basic, you got the rocket launcher, sniper, machine guns, laser guns, and some special weapons. I hated how the turrets are not infinite or even have that much ammo, they run out of ammo so fast. I think some of the only things I liked about this game was the graphics, the graphics for their time are good. But looking at them now, they're not so good they're decent. Sam's suit, however, is very creative and has a lot of moving parts and the weapons also look good. I also like the games slow-mo mode, and adds depth to the combat system which by the way is pretty cool. Your character is usually just a "lets go kick some butt" type of guy, which gets very annoying. Also I don't thing I ever cared about one character in this game, except for Elena. She is about the only character that has some depth and story behind her. Not to forget, the story at the beginning was laughable, WHY? Why even start it like that (no spoilers), no one shows fear at all. San Francisco was just blown sky high and everyone is showing no fear, or even something that grabs your heart and pulls you in. They don't even explain how they took over the ship in space, or why a civilian space craft would be armed with a weapon capable of leveling a city of that magnitude. I am glad I got this game for free and didn't have to pay for it. I would not recommend this game. Expand
  43. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    Shinji Mikami proves to be a genius once more. This is the best 3rd person shooter of all time. It doesn't have a good story and you can finish it in 6 to 8 hours, but the controls are so smooth, the action is simply breathtaking, and it looks very polished. Not worth a full price, but pick this up. This is, or at least should be, the next generation of shooters.
  44. Jan 22, 2013
    7
    Vanquish's appeal bases on the traditional aspect of mastering the difficulties of a game.
    The game doesn't offer amazing graphics, new gameplay innovations or a lot of variety or content. Hell, even the story is nothing but bland, so are the stereotype characters.

    But there is one thing that this game handles exceptionally well: The balance between challenge and frustration. On higher
    difficulties you really face a challenge and intense combats and that's got to be worth something. Expand
  45. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    Quick reviews to help with your purchase.
    An understatement to call this game fun. Fast paced and a breath of fresh air for third person shooters. Lukewarm plot, though used best to help pace the game and certain times excite the player before taking over the controller again. Short at base game, expects player to either play on a harder difficulty, or try one after first play through.
  46. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    Now this is what i call gaming entertainment. It's not a great story i give you that. In fact i din't took the trouble to try to follow it to be honest. But the action, my God, the action. It feels, looks and sounds amazing and every bit it's just exhilarating!!
  47. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    This game doesn't have the best story or the best graphics but it achieves something way better. It is just plainly fun and you'll keep wanting for more. Also, the controls and the weapons are great. The game isn't that long (maybe around 7-8 hours, don't remember exactly) but you'll have no problem starting another game and doing it again.
  48. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    Corto pero engancha. Buena jugabilidad, argumento algo simplón aunque con sus giros argumentales. Buenos gráficos, los habituales en SEGA, nada especial. Algo repetitivo en cuanto a variedad de enemigos y de escenarios.
  49. Apr 7, 2013
    4
    It's Gears of War with Robots, Bullet Time, and Metal Gear Rising QTE's

    Feels a bit like Warhammer 40K Space Marine too, whereas you're walking around some giant area waiting for another horde of bots to show up or be airdropped in for you to shoot

    And of course, there's the pop up shooting gallery that makes up most of the game, where either you glue yourself beneath some barricade
    while the other guy shoots at you, and then you do the exact same thing

    whoopee
    Expand
  50. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    This is a sold shooter! Exactly what I want from this type of game story was perfect length not too long and not too short, with bonus content and online rankings to keep you playing if you loved the combat system. Got it for free with my playstation plus membership very glad I downloaded it! Tight controls, fast paced combat, with what I would call" Bullet time" very close to how it worked in Max Payne 3. The only reason its not a 9 is the voice acting scratchy war vet scratchy main character voices seemed to close. The difficulty on normal is great you will most likely die quite a few times. Expand
  51. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    Vanquish is the definition of a great video game--fun, frantic, and challenging. No, it does not have great depth in its exaggerated (and admittedly fun) characters or the story they tell. No, you can't customize your weapons or armor how you like. No, unfortunately it is not very long. It does, however, give you over-the-top action that doesn't cease from start to finish. The levels are diverse in their design and approach. The gameplay is perfected in its tight controls and furious mechanics. You will love it from the first minute to the last. Quality over quantity: Vanquish delivers that. Expand
  52. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    This is definitely a great game for third-person shooter fans. The game is short but there are a good number of challenge missions to keep you occupied. The story is a little predictable but all the flashing lights and gunfire will keep your attention if not make you have a seizure. Great sci-fi action, shooting, game mechanics. Is certainly worth playing and having in your collection. A+!
  53. Nov 14, 2013
    7
    Graphics: Nice graphics, not the best some low textured environments. 8.

    Sound: Fast paced themes match the game just fine, the voice acting isn’t the best, and at best its average. 7.5.

    Gameplay: The game is a fast paced third person shooter with suit abilities that allow you to boost and fly through and shoot enemies. The game also has a slow-mo mechanic built into it. The
    shooting in the game feels kind of arcady but that’s not a bad thing. The game is littered with enemies which can get very annoying throughout the beginning of the game. Near the middle to end you get a laser gun which makes the game feel a lot better, although the game litters more enemies and reuses bosses/mini bosses. The boss before the last boss was a real pain in the ass, because at times even (playing on normal) regular enemies when they are about to die, they end up doing a 1 hit kill, which makes the game more cheap than challenging. Overall it’s a good game. 8.5.

    Story: Confusing story, weird at times, cliff hanger endings, a main protagonist who thinks he’s solid snake. Average story. 7.5.

    Replay Value: The game has 5 acts and on normal I beat it in about 6-8 hours. There’s no feel to want to play it again on any harder difficulties, once is enough, I would rent or get this game cheap. I got it free with plus. 7.5.

    Overall Score: 7.8 out of 10.
    Expand
  54. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    This game literally has one of the most amazing concepts I have seen in a game. The controls are fluid and responsive, the suit looks and is, amazing. The slow-mo moments are perfect and the game deserves to be given more credit where it's due, the game literally does everything right in terms of game-play, in the story however, that's it's weakest point, but the story essentially doesn't matter when the game-play literally drowns it out. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    80
    Vanquish manages in many ways to be quite literally awesome though; from the bombastic battles you partake in, through its outstanding technical performance, brilliantly ridiculous cutscenes and superb twists on an established genre.
  2. Jan 31, 2011
    50
    If you're still itching to waste a few hours on Vanquish, here's some advice: wait until the inevitable price reduction.
  3. There's really been nothing else quite like it this generation, which makes comparison difficult, and its one misstep is the fact that its only online component is a paltry ranking system. In truth, having multiplayer inside the chaotic sphere of Vanquish would have made Mikami's latest baby the prodigal son of third-person shooters. There's always next time though. [December 2010 p78]