Venetica PlayStation 3


Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 7 out of 14
Buy On
  1. 70
    Venetica's main flaws are the bugs and the graphics. However, the story is interesting and there is much content to enjoy. Despite the flaws, it's an interesting game for the RPG fans.
  2. It's not the best action-RPG out there, but it's fun and enjoyable. It lacks depth and customization, and it has enough bugs to spoil the fun, but overall it's an interesting experience. Recommended especially for newcomers to the genre.
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    If you don't expect much from it, you'll have a pretty good time with Venetica. However, without the patience to figure out quests and gameplay elements on your own, you'll end up incredibly frustrated.
  4. Venitca's story is ok, but the rest of the game fails. The fighting system is boring, it has a lot of technical flaws and the world feels uninspired.
  5. Although the game has many and evident flaws, especially in its visuals, and it is not revolutionary, nor it differentiates itself from the rest of action and RPG games, it indeed is engaging and makes you keep playing thanks to its freedom.
  6. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jan 31, 2011
    The concept is imaginative, and not many RPGs are set in Venice, but the ideas are nearly always let down by the execution. [Feb 2011, p.100]
  7. Jan 27, 2011
    Venetica has too many flaws in just about every facet to make for an engrossing role-playing experience.
  8. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    A mildly entertaining fantasy yarn tragically coded by a team without any 360 experience. [May 2010, p.102]
  9. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Feb 10, 2011
    Factor in frequent freezing issues and dialogue-tree selections that don't seem to correspond with the resulting actions and Venetica doesn't stand up to current-day RPG standards. [March 2011, p.82]
  10. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 3, 2011
    Useless like a paper hammer. [Feb 2011, p.113]
  11. Feb 1, 2011
    Games shouldn't reach retail in this condition, and while I'd love to give Venetica a higher score, Atari should've never allowed Venetica to reach the market in its current state; if I wasn't required to finish the game for my review, I would've put it back in the box after a few hours because of the save bugs.
  12. Jan 14, 2011
    Once I had committed a few hours to the game and was deep inside Venice leveling up and completing quests, I was indeed drawn into the game. But the sordid path it took to get me there and the unnecessary complications of the map were beyond frustrating and would turn away most gamers.
  13. Jan 25, 2011
    The game is downright ugly. The framerate comes and goes, but the biggest offenders are the generally awful and low key environment textures, the way to similar to every other building design of Venice, and awful collision issues that the character models have. Scarlett will often clip through anything she has to interact with, which becomes even more noticeable in every cutscene that she has to hug her deceased love one in.
  14. Jan 25, 2011
    It's impossible to recommend Venetica to anyone when there are so many other better action-RPGs out there. You might be tempted to pick it up because it's only forty dollars, but don't do it... unless you've already played every other RPG on the market.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    Venetica is a bit rough around the edges, but is enjoyable nonetheless. I highly recommend any RPG fans pick it up.

    The story follows a woman
    Venetica is a bit rough around the edges, but is enjoyable nonetheless. I highly recommend any RPG fans pick it up.

    The story follows a woman named Scarlett as she obtains a weapon named Moonblade and must defeat Death with it. The story isn't all that interesting, but luckily, you can skip cutscenes and most dialog. The voice acting ranges from good to decent.

    The combat is simple, but enjoyable. Draw your sword with R1, attack with X. You also have special abilities you can use such as the ability to sense secret doorways (a power reminiscent of the the Vale in the newest Wolfenstein game).

    The RPG elements are pretty enjoyable as well. You eat food for health, sleep for health, get clothing trimmed to fit you, get weapons repaired and constructed using ore, and upgrade your general abilities using action points as well as learn new powers through two skills trees: one for physical powers, one for mental powers.

    All in all, the game is cheap fun. I wouldn't buy this for $60, but if you can find it below $30, you should be satisfied. It's got enough content to keep you occupied for awhile. If you like Fable or The Legend of Zelda, this game should scratch your itch.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    In short: Terrible storyline and narration, voice actors that make you want to put the game on mute, graphics that lack any distinguishableIn short: Terrible storyline and narration, voice actors that make you want to put the game on mute, graphics that lack any distinguishable quality, horrible gameplay. This game could've looked average on the PS2, but is by far the worst game that has ever had the pleasure of entering my PS3. Full Review »