Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown contains the definite version of Virtua Fighter 5, refined over the years since its original arcade debut. The new release also adds an extensive list of features never before seen on consoles. Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown, will contain a full overhaul ofVirtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown contains the definite version of Virtua Fighter 5, refined over the years since its original arcade debut. The new release also adds an extensive list of features never before seen on consoles. Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown, will contain a full overhaul of Virtua Fighter 5�s mechanics, balance and animations, along with new game modes, new dynamic fighting arenas, a massive collection of customizable character items and new characters added to the roster. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 15, 2012
    90
    At £9.99/$14.99, there's no excuse for fighting fans not to try Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown. Intricate and occasionally obtuse though it may be, it's also wonderfully balanced and endlessly varied; those who get past its initial barriers rarely go back. One of the world's best fighting games at this price should not be missed.
  2. As a $15 stand-alone download, Showdown is an absolute steal. [Aug 2012, p.80]
  3. Jul 11, 2012
    90
    Its prudence, that veil of simplicity masking a system of astonishing possibility and depth, makes it one of the purest fighting games on the market today.
  4. Jun 6, 2012
    82
    This is a polished and proven fighter that still has a lot left in the tank.
  5. The original is five years old, which you will probably notice because of the awful sound effects, but it is still one of the most in-depth fighting games of its generation. And Final Showdown is by far the best version, including the possibility to play online against other players. [July 2012, p.92]
  6. Jun 15, 2012
    80
    It's the less expensive and the most polished version of the Virtua Fighter Saga. Yes, it's not all that new either, but the original VF5 was a strong title for hardcore and elitist versus fighting fans, and this one is definitely a revision worth buying for them.
  7. Jun 6, 2012
    60
    Virtual Fighter 5: The Final Showdown shows its age when compared to triple-A contemporary fighters, but it works well as a budget-friendly downloadable release. While the single player modes don't offer a wealth of longevity, there's enough bang for buck value to be found in the online multiplayer to keep the fanbase happy.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Best fighting game ever made. Plain and simple. If you are into button mashing and instant gratification then stay away. Fighting game noobsBest fighting game ever made. Plain and simple. If you are into button mashing and instant gratification then stay away. Fighting game noobs dont stand a chance in this game and that's why this game is not nearly as popular as it should but if you are a fighting game veteran then YOU MUST ABSOLUTELY PLAY THIS GAME. It's without a doubt the deepest fighting game ever made and only the best and most skilled players win every single time. There's no lucky bs in this game. If you are a fighting game fan and you don't play this then you have zero credibility as a fighting game fan IMO. Collapse
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    This is the deepest fighting game ever made, I can't find flaws in the gameplay and this is just because there are NOT.
    Probably NetCode
    This is the deepest fighting game ever made, I can't find flaws in the gameplay and this is just because there are NOT.
    Probably NetCode should be better for a game based on frames but the connection is OK if you play with people that have a good one so it doesn't count that much and it's pretty good if the think SEGA needed to receive a petition to bring that game on consoles,
    and it's VirtuaFighter so: 10/10.
    Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2015
    10
    This is it, my dear fighting games fans - the ultimate fighting game. Virtua Fighter has finally surpassed Street Fighter with thisThis is it, my dear fighting games fans - the ultimate fighting game. Virtua Fighter has finally surpassed Street Fighter with this comprehensively amazing update. The depth of gameplay and also the character customization options here are just incredible. The superb soundtrack has to be mentioned as well. Where do you go from here? I guess the only way forward would be a next-gen Virtua Fighter on the PS4 or 5 - a game that would push the realism and the style even further. Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    I just can't define the epic-ness of once again playing vf online after all these years. Vf is my favorite fighting game of all time andI just can't define the epic-ness of once again playing vf online after all these years. Vf is my favorite fighting game of all time and possibly my favorite game of all time. I do wish there was more single player components, but I understand it at this price. I'm still debating whether to dedicate myself to this game once more. With the newfound smoothness of gameplay it's probably worth it. Sf4 served me for years but vf is still king. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    Very good and balanced game. To me this is still the most honest fighting game out there: there's no cheating bosses or anything. And when youVery good and balanced game. To me this is still the most honest fighting game out there: there's no cheating bosses or anything. And when you lose, you know you lost to the better man in that fight. The balance is just that good. There's aren't a lot of modes to play in, it's just fighting in it's purest form.
    I did not own the original Virtua Fighter 5, but I do understand that it's kind off a rip off because this could just as easily be downloadable content. As a stand-alone game, it's as perfect as a figting game can get though.
    Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    This game is easily, the best fighting game engine on the market, I´m going to review the game for the casual gamer and pro gamer of fightingThis game is easily, the best fighting game engine on the market, I´m going to review the game for the casual gamer and pro gamer of fighting games (as myself). For the casual: As much as I love Virtua Fighter is kind of difficult to recommend this game for somebody that just want to play with friends that have no idea about the game and just want to have fun without complex things to know, however, there is an arcade mode, customization mode, challenges to help you get better ad entertain you, but as I say, is very difficult to recommend this game for the casuals over Tekken or Soul Calibur, anyway, the game provides extremeoly good tools to help you get better (tools that in Tekken doesn´t even exist) so if you are a casual and want to play a fighting game pick VF, but if you only want to mash things and watch characters endings and that kind of bs, maybe you should consider Tekken. For the pro gamer point of view: This game is the best fighting game in history, complex mechanics, extremely deep matchups, no random issues with random launchers (like Tekken), great netcode, the only downside is that the community is small, but I´m comletely sure that SEGA is going to make some announcement soon and there is a lot of people with no game after the dissapointment that the last 3D have caused, so this game is going to increase popularity of the tops. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    I guess good for Virtua Fighter, but the game still isn't as good Tekken. The fighting is still pretty sloppy and the game still feels likeI guess good for Virtua Fighter, but the game still isn't as good Tekken. The fighting is still pretty sloppy and the game still feels like I'm playing Virtua Fighter on Dreamcast. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews