Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. 100
    For gamers who've mocked their PS3-owning friends, it's time to suck up to them and hang out at their crib for this one. One taste of this, and it's going to feel like a long, long wait for the summertime release on Xbox 360.
  2. Fantastic animation, incredible art design and an intensely challenging fighting system ensure Virtua Fighter 5 is a game PS3 owners will be proud of for months to come.
  3. Virtua Fighter 5 kicks everyone's ass up and down the block. Sure some fighting series like "Soul Calibur" and "Tekken" distract you with all kinds of extra modes and, uh, bowling, but VF5 rises above the pack thanks to the sheer depth of its gameplay. [Mar 2007, p.84]
  4. I think Virtua Fighter 5 was the game that the AM2 development team was dreaming of when they created Virtua Fighter. [Mar 2007, p.48]
  5. 95
    It succeeds based on the merits of its infinitely replayable, highly finessed fighting engine. While "noobs" might be content to knit the same canned combos over and over, veterans will relish the ability to improvise, discover, and master new moves, combos, and strategies, day after day after day.
  6. While it may not offer the amount of extras that Tekken does, it does offer the most well thought out fighting mechanics a fighting game could have, and that's more important than having a bunch of mini-games.
  7. As an intelligent and masterful 3D beat 'em up experience, this is as pure as it gets. [JPN Import]
  8. If you enjoy really digging into a fighting system and mastering its intricacies you'll be astounded at the depth on display here. The lack of online play is a huge disappointment and it's definitely light on the modes, but Virtua Fighter 5 is still the gold standard that other fighting games will be trying to top for years to come.
  9. To complain that Virtua Fighter 5 isn't accessible enough would be like complaining that a black and white film isn't colourful enough, or that a vegetable dish isn't meaty enough. VF5 sets out to create the world's best beat 'em up for beat 'em up aficionados, and it succeeds.
  10. From the moment I picked up this game I can honestly say I was just floored by how amazing the gameplay really was.
  11. All talk of complexity aside, VF is still brilliant. The new characters are excellent, the fighting's just different enough to force long-time players to tweak their styles and the new moves are a definite improvement. [Apr 2007, p.80]
  12. Sure, the game is lacking online play, but when a game is as masterful as VF5 is, we can survive without it. [Apr 2007, p.68]
  13. While some fighters try to blow you away with the number of characters or some other new gimmick, VF5 brings a high caliber fighter with more substance than most other games in the genre.
  14. 90
    Despite AI-related complaints and the lack of an online mode, it’s with great ease that Virtua Fighter 5 can be declared the greatest 3D fighting game ever created. Its depth is unparalleled, and the diversity of its fighting styles overwhelming (in a good way).
  15. 90
    The lack of any online component is a heartbreaker, but one that can be overlooked if you truly enjoy the deep combat to be found within. The Quest Mode will keep you enthralled for hours on end, but not being able to put your custom fighter up against your buddies via memory card will hurt this game’s longevity.
  16. While the barebones gameplay options and lack of flash may make VF5 seem like a stripped title, that couldn't be further from the truth. While we don't get beautiful cinematics, dozens of characters or a bunch of gimmicky modes to keep us busy, we do get the solidest fighter we've had in a very long time, and what may be the best single player mode in any fighter to date.
  17. 90
    "Virtua Fighter 4" was easily the best in the series, and also one of the best hardcore fighting games ever released. While it doesn't represent as huge a step up as say, "VF4" did over "VF3," it can still claim the crown as the best Virtua Fighter to date. It's a rousing success on all fronts.
  18. Virtua Fighter 5 is a rock solid entry into the series, and a must-buy for your PS3. [Mar 2007, p.64]
  19. The closest Sega has come to creating the perfect Virtua Fighter sequel. Virtua Fighter 5’s fast-paced, in-your-face combat harkens back to the original.
  20. 88
    It offers one of the most intuitive and robust fighting systems ever assembled and the customization options and quest mode are great fun. Granted, its AI isn't very good, it has a couple of interface issues and the lack of online is a major negative, but the mechanics here are so amazing, that it doesn't hurt the overall package as much as it would in other games.
  21. It’s still quite tough on beginners, though, if you’re willing to give it a chance this is PS3’s first (time limited) exclusive third-party killer app.
  22. Virtua Fighter 5 is, quite simply, about the art of fighting. Not destructible environments, super power moves or jiggling breasts, but technique, speed and strategy. As such, this is a game you have to be willing to work at to enjoy, and certainly won’t enjoy if you don’t.
  23. A very good beat 'em up that nonetheless feels more like evolution than revolution. The lack of internet play is a definite minus. [Mar 2007]
  24. Virtua Fighter 5 is downright incredible. Its a near perfect port from the Arcades and features some of the most engrossing gameplay and visuals ever to grace a home console. [JPN Import]
  25. The lack of a difference from "VF4" and the absence of online play is a disappointment. Because of this and the sober approach to fighting it's hard to warm up to VF5, but that seems to be the price Sega pay for making this the purest fighting game around. [Mar 2007, p.72]
  26. Best scrapper ever? Perhaps, but VF5 is such an acquired taste. Great, but not one for all. [Mar 2007, p.64]
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. PeterJ.
    Sep 17, 2007
    8
    Great game. The first game I purchased for my new PS3 and I must say that I love it. It will take a while to figure out all the moves, and if Great game. The first game I purchased for my new PS3 and I must say that I love it. It will take a while to figure out all the moves, and if they didn't have the DOJO to practice them then I would probably give this game a lower score. But they do! My son and I will enjoy fighting each other for years to come! Full Review »
  2. IsaacB.
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    Best 3D fighter ever. MUCH faster than Dead or Alive 4, much better graphics, better gameplay, 60 frames per second locked, and of course, Best 3D fighter ever. MUCH faster than Dead or Alive 4, much better graphics, better gameplay, 60 frames per second locked, and of course, the characters you've all grown to love. A must buy for PS3. Full Review »
  3. GarricB.
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    The game is spectacular looking. The character models are good and the backgrounds are even better. They did take some stuff out of Evo like The game is spectacular looking. The character models are good and the backgrounds are even better. They did take some stuff out of Evo like being able to save all replays (you can only save them in Vs. mode) among other things, but the game is a fighter's dream come true. Full Review »