Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Virtua Tennis 4 with the PlayStation Move is more than just hitting the ball; it's about the angle of the racquet, the spin and speed of the ball and the power of the shot. The advanced motion sensors of PlayStation Move precisely track both the fast and subtle movements of the controller allowing for pinpoint accurate shots as players improve their racquet skills. Virtua Tennis 4 will also support 3D technology delivering unprecedented realism to the tennis experience, bringing you closer than ever to being out on the court. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. Jul 25, 2011
    88
    SEGA keeps the Virtua Tennis series alive with its 4th entry into mix, bringing along a bundle of upgrades and fresh game modes to keep us swinging away.
  2. May 4, 2011
    80
    As an arcade game, Virtua Tennis 4 is great and has no major flaws. It's just a shame that Top Spin 4 is better in almost everything, making SEGA's effort almost incidental.
  3. May 24, 2011
    76
    Despite all of this nonsense, Virtua Tennis 4 still packs in plenty of authentic traditional tennis.
  4. Apr 25, 2011
    70
    On it's own Virtua Tennis 4 is a great game but contextualised by previous games in the series, you can't help but feel a distinct sense of deja vu. The perpetual game play can't be masked by slightly better graphics, in the same way that adding pointless elements to the game play can't excuse the fact it's a slightly shinier version of Virtua Tennis 3 with an extra side of clutter.
  5. May 10, 2011
    70
    It's by no means perfect, but Virtua Tennis 4 shows there is still life (and maybe a few trick shots) left in the tennis simulator genre.
  6. Apr 26, 2011
    65
    A deep and varied career mode collides with the poorest gameplay ever designed for a videogame of the series.
  7. May 16, 2011
    48
    Quick exhibition matches, both locally and online, as well as a few memorable minigames are enough for a quick fix. The odd career mode, however, is more frustrating than fun.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    I really enjoy this tennis game and its fun to play with others.. especially locally. Sure its not a true Tennis Simulation, but its the most fun tennis game I have played in a long time and well worth its budget price. I do not have Move so I have no idea on the motion gimic stuff, but I see no reason to own a PS Move yet.. motion gaming is just lame.

    Anyway, Virtua Tennis 4 is a very fun Tennis game
    Expand
  2. May 10, 2011
    7
    Virtua Tennis 4 has some great aspects to its gameplay. The arcade style on the court and humorous sound bytes from the players ensures some fun when whacking your balls back and forth with a friend.
    The 3D creates a new experience, showing that the future has some exciting things in store.
    Expand
  3. May 19, 2011
    6
    Virtua Tennis 4 is dependable and reliable. You know exactly what your getting. Unfortunately for Virtua Tennis it's becoming a bit standstill and not really doing anything, its the same stuff except just a different number on the end of the title. As an arcade game it's always done what it has set out to do. Be fun and entertaining whilst maintaining the high standards that have made it the best tennis series around. Career Mode has been altered and freshened up but it isn't as addictive as previous outings and whilst the activities you play to improve yourself are always enjoyable you just feel that they are lacking in ideas certainly compared to TS4. For a simple exhibition with a friend Virtua Tennis is still great. And that's where it will always deliver. The one area where the game is arguably better than TS4 is its roster. Online is same old what you'd expect but thats not a bad thing! So the big question is Virtua Tennis stikk the number 1? Not a chance, this year that has changed. Top Spin 4 delivered the most authentic tennis outing to date and established itself as the grand slam champ and leaves Sega with work to do. If it's just an arcade fun approach your looking for then you won't go wrong but for real tennis fans all the appreciation will be shown towards 2K's offering this time around. Expand
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    4
    You cannot play Career mode nor Online Mode using the Move controller. Also I get the filling that Playstation Move is not fully integrated into game mechanics: no support for twist of the hand moves. PS Move is just an afterthought in this game and if you buy this game to play with motion controller you will be very disappointed. Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    4
    Okay, so we all know the difference between Arcade and Sim right? Virtua Tennis 4 never proclaimed to be a Tennis Sim, everyone knows that it is a Arcade and the Virtua Tennis series always has been. Having played Top Spin 3&4 and the Grand Slam Tennis games, I had sampled both ends of the genre, both Sim and Arcade. Virtua Tennis 4 is a mixed game. The actual Tennis matches are brilliant fun, but the way they've (the Devs) decided to set out World Tour is disappointing and quite frankly, pointless. World Tour plays like a board game. Imagine Monopoly but with Tennis players. Each turn, you are handed some 'tickets' which determine how far you can move. You land on a variety of spots, such as Training, Practise Matches, non-playable charity and publicity events and the VT4 equivalent of 'Jail', Stolen Wallet. Which does what it says on the tin: loses you money. This idea is awful. It made me miss out on the vast majority of matches that I could participate in, lowering both the fun and my Star Ranking, which is VT4's version of the Seedings in real Tennis. I don't know what the Devs were thinking with this idea. It's absolutely, one hundred percent disastrous. The game does, at points, seem completely broken as well. I was one step away from a Championship, had a One Step Ticket and the game wouldn't allow me to move to it. The Arcade and Exhibition modes, on the other hand, are fun and pretty much without flaw. You get to play as your favourite Tennis pros, such as Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray, Maria Sharapova (not as hot in-game as in real life :3), Ana Ivanovic (likewise) and Laura Robson. Wait...Laura Robson? Yes, I do know who she is, but many don't and I wonder why they decided to put a little-known Tennis player in, who really isn't that good, when they could have put in the likes of Sabine Lisicki, Serena Williams (arguably better than her sister Venus) or Maria Kirilenko. Sega seem to have put MUCH more focus on the male Tennis pros than the female, with 11 male and only 7 female pros. I could easily think of another four to fill the gap. Overall, I think they have had poor judgement with many of the players, some don't even play competitively anymore or have slipped down to low Seedings. The Graphics aren't anything special. The players to slightly resemble their real-life counter-parts but not by much. Some players seem to have had much more effort in making them seem lifelike, such as Federer and Nadal, while others have been left alone. Other than a slight graphical improvement, not much has changed from the times of Virtua Tennis 3. Expand
  6. May 21, 2011
    4
    Too arcade, gameplay lacks depth. Definitely the worst Virtua Tennis game to date. The best are the first two on Sega Dreamcast. Top Spin 4 is also a bad game (it tries so hard to be realistic, but it becomes a game of chance). So, this year's tennis games are really bad, we should stick to the old ones. Collapse