Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    82
    At a measly 4-5 hours of gameplay it's just not long enough to please twin-stick shooter fans, and coupled with the poor choice in camera angles and lack of detail on the enemy soldiers I'd have to recommend Voltron: Defender of the Universe only at a discount for someone not familiar with the Voltron series. But honestly, this game is targetings fans of the show, and fans are going to love it. plus it's all we have and all we are probably going to get for a long time.
  2. Dec 14, 2011
    80
    As a downloadable title, Voltron offers a surprising amount to enjoy. I never thought I'd like this game as much as I do-but it's difficult to overlook the main flaws of unbalanced difficulty, a lack of levels (there are only about a dozen) and only three chances to play as Voltron.
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    80
    It isn't very long (in single-player or co-op) or difficult, but with a healthy heaping of '80s nostalgia, old-school gameplay and robust modern multiplayer, Voltron: Defender of the Universe especially during cooperative multiplayer mayhem provides solid, budget-priced entertainment.
  4. Fun in parts, but Prime would destroy this for breakfast. [Feb 2012, p.115]
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    60
    Ultimately, Voltron: Defender of the Universe is nothing but wasted potential.
  6. 60
    A great little game that can burn up more than a few hours of your time. There is an option for downloadable content from the main game menu, so the developer is thinking ahead. The $9.99 price tag seems a little high due to the short story, but if future DLC were to be free, or minimally priced, the price would fit better.
  7. Jan 3, 2012
    50
    It's nothing special, nothing new, but it still entertains.
  8. Voltron is an anime series from the eighties in which a team of fighters controls tiger-shaped (we 're not making this up) vehicles that can combine with each other to form a huge robot. The sad news? We've waited 20 years for this and the result is rubbish. [January 2012, p.85]
  9. Nov 30, 2011
    40
    The gameplay itself is simplistic, repetitive and fails to convey the powerful feeling of piloting a team of robot lions that transform into a towering intergalactic badass. It may be Voltron by name, but in this case the five cats have come together to form an absolute dog.
  10. Dec 16, 2011
    26
    Voltron: Defender of the Universe is a poorly designed cash-in on a franchise that hasn't been relevant in years. It's particularly telling when the announcer is your absolute best feature, stating "Voltron will return after these messages" when you pause, then "And now back to Voltron" when you resume play. That's right: the best part of the game only appears when you stop playing. I rest my case.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    8
    Never a huge fan of Voltron as a kid, but I'm still having a blast with this game! You hardly notice the shortcomings from the critical reviews when you play local co-op. The quicktime Voltron events could be better, but the twin stick portions are very fun. When you lose all your heath, your pilot hops out and you have to survive for 10 seconds until you can hop back in! It's a neat feature. The cut scenes are made of pure nostalgia, and make a very nice touch. On the other hand, I'm relatively new to this genre so I'm probably not as jaded as I would be with other games. If you, like me, are able to take these cheap little arcade games and enjoy them for what they are instead of what think they could have been, I think you'll agree with me that an 8/10 is very appropriate for this game. Full Review »