Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine PlayStation 3

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine takes place in the brutal, science fiction setting of Games Workshop's Warhammer 40,000 universe. In the 41st Millennium, humanity faces extinction at the hands of horrific aliens and demonic hordes. Only one force offers salvation, the superhuman SpaceWarhammer 40,000: Space Marine takes place in the brutal, science fiction setting of Games Workshop's Warhammer 40,000 universe. In the 41st Millennium, humanity faces extinction at the hands of horrific aliens and demonic hordes. Only one force offers salvation, the superhuman Space Marines. Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine is an intense Action-RPG featuring epic battles where players take direct control of the ultimate defender of humanity, the mighty Space Marine. In the grim darkness of the far future there is only war. [THQ] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Sep 10, 2011
    97
    Overall Space Marine is an awesome experience. The game lasts for about 12 to 15 hours which is just long enough. Due to the well paced story and well handled upgrades to your equipment this running time gives you just long enough to mess around with all of the goodies before it's time to move on to the multiplayer.
  2. Sep 9, 2011
    81
    Space Marine may not have convinced me to buy thousands of dollars worth of pewter figurines or tabletop maps, but it did provide some serious, bloody fun.
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    80
    Space Marine gets off to a sluggish start and it never really reaches the lofty heights that long-time fans of the tabletop games probably hoped for, but Relic has still done an admirable job in making their first AAA-level action game - and the online play is a definite fun distraction if not entirely unique or long-lasting.
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    75
    It may not be the best or most original action game, but it's a fine first outing for the franchise, and a rare gem for Warhammer fans.
  5. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    It's both a light and funny action game and a wasted chance to make something more due to an overall unpolished job. Strongly consider it if you love Ultramarines though, since they get a great depiction.
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    65
    An interesting mix between TPS and Hack'n'Slash. Unfortunately, level design is too linear, resulting in a driven and boring progression.
  7. Sep 12, 2011
    50
    Despite the air of brutality Space Marine tries to cultivate, it's ultimately defined by convenience; by linear levels where you follow the green lights of unlocked doors from one corridor to the next, while the gentle trickle of upgrades and new weapons does just enough to keep you playing. The result is sometimes casually enjoyable, but never vivid, or memorable, or truly involving.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 58
  2. Negative: 4 out of 58
  1. May 31, 2012
    10
    Game takes you straight to action by killing hordes of orks. There is not much for the story its just kill orks and collect servo skulls. ForGame takes you straight to action by killing hordes of orks. There is not much for the story its just kill orks and collect servo skulls. For me this is best third person shooter game. There are many weapons to choose from there is not "best weapon". Best weapon is that you can use best. There were little disappointments with leveling because there are only 41 levels and you cant start it all over so when you reach level 41 it can get little boring. In multiplayer there are only three classes to choose from I really hoped that there would have been at least four or five. Well there are DLC that allow you play with robot called Dreadnought. You can customize your Space/Chaos Marine any way you want there are armor parts and paints to use. Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Okay well first off anybody who isn't a warhammer 40k fan probably wont get half the dialogue in the game. i love how relic portrayed theOkay well first off anybody who isn't a warhammer 40k fan probably wont get half the dialogue in the game. i love how relic portrayed the universe they did a great job no doubt. the combat system is really fun and is extremely satisfying. it would have been nice to have a few more moves but im not complaining its not enough to give the game a low rating like some people on here. like dawn of war it gives you the option to customize your space marines looks which is nothing short of awesome. the story is a typical warhammer storyline anybody who expected anything different is an idiot. i'd bet good money that relic will patch this game up to near perfection and give it many new features including more multiplayer within the next couple months so all you cry baby jagged gamer snobs can be patient. if you know relic you know they'll add a bunch of stuff and fix most of the glitches. all in all great great great game. love it. 10 out of f'ing 10 Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    This game really lets you be a Space Marine, and that's good! Great pacing and a good variety of weapons keep it interesting. Playing it onThis game really lets you be a Space Marine, and that's good! Great pacing and a good variety of weapons keep it interesting. Playing it on Hard is really a challenge since you cannot just charge into the fray, stun an enemy then execute kill to heal.. You need to tactically plan your assault (defense) then be mindful on which enemies to execute to heal. Multiplayer-wise, it feels like Transformers War for Cybertron without the transforming, which is great and the endless customization options are a great addition to the game. All in all, It's a good game even though I've only familiarized myself with Warhammer 40k lore with the game, Dawn of War 1 and 2. Hoping for more Xenos and mutants to kill on the sequel, hopefully (I'm looking at you, Eldar, Necrons, Tyranids, Tau, Dark Eldar). Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    The 40k Universe perfectly captured by Relic.

    Single Player Campaign is bloody good fun. Albeit all too short Multi-player is incredibly
    The 40k Universe perfectly captured by Relic.

    Single Player Campaign is bloody good fun. Albeit all too short

    Multi-player is incredibly fun, but the lack of maps and nagging ping problems drags the experience down.
    Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    The game won me over with multiplayer (and I normally hate multiplayer). The unlocks, the customization, and the single most brilliantThe game won me over with multiplayer (and I normally hate multiplayer). The unlocks, the customization, and the single most brilliant mechanic in any game this year, the ability to copy the gear/perk loadout from the person that just killed you (regardless of level difference). Thank God they finally fixed the matchmaking on PS3! Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    7
    Fun, mindless violence. The weapons feel amazing, the animations are nice and the environment are gorgeous
    Cut scenes can be annoying, but
    Fun, mindless violence. The weapons feel amazing, the animations are nice and the environment are gorgeous
    Cut scenes can be annoying, but I'm afraid that's plaguing the entire industry right now. Not having dedicated server greatly impairs multiplayer, but I'm hoping they'll fix that
    There's also 4 player co-op coming for free, so the latency should be alright if you're not playing with randoms
    Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    This game is so NOT good, i watched my friend play it and i fell asleep many times during those repetitive orc fighting parts( most of game),This game is so NOT good, i watched my friend play it and i fell asleep many times during those repetitive orc fighting parts( most of game), and bad voice acting (all the orcs have Australian accents). Please, if you own an XBox 360, get Gears of War 3 and not this, if you own a PS3, save your money...seriously, wouldn't even take this game for free. Collapse

See all 58 User Reviews