Warhawk PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2007
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 183
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThisGameSucks
    Sep 30, 2008
    0
    The graphics are terrible lets start with that, anything from the ps2 is better - the controls aren't bad but all u get is a pistol and u have to look for weapons to pick up and trust me, the weapons suck - yes it has vehicles but they don't seem right, tanks seem weak and slow - jets are fine but thats all anybody does so unless u plan on flying a jet around the whole time u The graphics are terrible lets start with that, anything from the ps2 is better - the controls aren't bad but all u get is a pistol and u have to look for weapons to pick up and trust me, the weapons suck - yes it has vehicles but they don't seem right, tanks seem weak and slow - jets are fine but thats all anybody does so unless u plan on flying a jet around the whole time u wont see a single enemy on foot unless u make it into their base - overall not a fun game it just seems to sloppy and unrefined compared to some of the other war games Expand
  2. mattm
    Oct 30, 2007
    1
    I've never played this game, but i know its not as good as you say it is. you ps3 fans need to wake up. Your system has been out for almost a year no and it still sucks. over pirced crap games, but gee wiz we have blu ray! great. who the HELL cares. So im gonna even this review out with a 1.
  3. JamesJ.
    May 20, 2008
    2
    I do not recommend this game, The only element of the game which is online, is very sub-par to its competitor on XBOX live. I was not a fan of Shadowrun on the xbox, but i can easly say, Shadowrun was a much better online only game than warhawk (which says alot because i didnt think shadowrun was any good). I do hope sony looks at xbox live and fixes there service up, because if warhawk I do not recommend this game, The only element of the game which is online, is very sub-par to its competitor on XBOX live. I was not a fan of Shadowrun on the xbox, but i can easly say, Shadowrun was a much better online only game than warhawk (which says alot because i didnt think shadowrun was any good). I do hope sony looks at xbox live and fixes there service up, because if warhawk is the best they have to offer, than i personally would rather pay for my yearly xbox live service. Than get crap for free. There are to much problems with the game for me to mention, however sony online service is probably the main issue with the game. Who knows, maybe if warhawk was made for the xbox, it might have been better. Expand
  4. DavidM.
    Sep 6, 2007
    0
    This game is not very good. It's boring and has no single player. The multiplayer controls are horrible and it's unbalanceed. Another crappy PS3 game. What a surprise!
  5. JeffG.
    Aug 30, 2007
    0
    Overhyped and boring. I have been looking forward to this for the past 6 months and it's complete crap! It seems like it was rushed because of the sloppy controls. I never thought I'd say this but I am getting really close to buying the 'other' console, even though I've been a Sony supporter since the PS1. Sometimes you just need to bite the bullet and realize Overhyped and boring. I have been looking forward to this for the past 6 months and it's complete crap! It seems like it was rushed because of the sloppy controls. I never thought I'd say this but I am getting really close to buying the 'other' console, even though I've been a Sony supporter since the PS1. Sometimes you just need to bite the bullet and realize this is my money I'm wasting, regardless of my biases. Collapse
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    4
    I bought this game in 2010, three years after the game was published so - yes it seemed a bit old in graphics etc. but I give it a try. It was interesting at first, there were some players in online (this is an online-only game!) and I had a friend also who bought this game so we tested the online. I did play it over 15 hours so it wasn't that bad. Actually, the 4-player split/screenI bought this game in 2010, three years after the game was published so - yes it seemed a bit old in graphics etc. but I give it a try. It was interesting at first, there were some players in online (this is an online-only game!) and I had a friend also who bought this game so we tested the online. I did play it over 15 hours so it wasn't that bad. Actually, the 4-player split/screen online was something I really appreciate, that should be done more often in games! But in the end, the game had bad controls, IMO some dominant strategies, lacks in gameplay and also because this is a online-only game, it only last while it has players. I do admit my rating is a bit low on this but I can't give better I didn't like it. This is different from other shooters so you should watch clips from this game, maybe it's for you. A bit mixed feeling about this game. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. May 14, 2012
    70
    With a new sci-fi setting, transformable mechs and some brand new RTS mechanics, the original Warhawk formula has definitely grown up but all this novelty come for a price.
  2. PSM Magazine
    65
    It's fun enough, but even with the headset, it's too expensive for a game that you cannot play by yourself, and its balancing issues severely limit what you can do in the game. [Oct 2007, p.77]
  3. 85
    It's not easy to create a multiplayer game that's utterly accessible to first-timers and yet varied enough to have serious legs.