• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2007
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 178

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TylerK
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    I love this game...Easily the best online 3rd person shooter available for the PS3. I would even say that Warhawk even beats Call of Duty in some aspects. Great game!
  2. ThisGameSucks
    Sep 30, 2008
    0
    The graphics are terrible lets start with that, anything from the ps2 is better - the controls aren't bad but all u get is a pistol and u have to look for weapons to pick up and trust me, the weapons suck - yes it has vehicles but they don't seem right, tanks seem weak and slow - jets are fine but thats all anybody does so unless u plan on flying a jet around the whole time u The graphics are terrible lets start with that, anything from the ps2 is better - the controls aren't bad but all u get is a pistol and u have to look for weapons to pick up and trust me, the weapons suck - yes it has vehicles but they don't seem right, tanks seem weak and slow - jets are fine but thats all anybody does so unless u plan on flying a jet around the whole time u wont see a single enemy on foot unless u make it into their base - overall not a fun game it just seems to sloppy and unrefined compared to some of the other war games Expand
  3. mattm
    Oct 30, 2007
    1
    I've never played this game, but i know its not as good as you say it is. you ps3 fans need to wake up. Your system has been out for almost a year no and it still sucks. over pirced crap games, but gee wiz we have blu ray! great. who the HELL cares. So im gonna even this review out with a 1.
  4. JamesJ.
    May 20, 2008
    2
    I do not recommend this game, The only element of the game which is online, is very sub-par to its competitor on XBOX live. I was not a fan of Shadowrun on the xbox, but i can easly say, Shadowrun was a much better online only game than warhawk (which says alot because i didnt think shadowrun was any good). I do hope sony looks at xbox live and fixes there service up, because if warhawk I do not recommend this game, The only element of the game which is online, is very sub-par to its competitor on XBOX live. I was not a fan of Shadowrun on the xbox, but i can easly say, Shadowrun was a much better online only game than warhawk (which says alot because i didnt think shadowrun was any good). I do hope sony looks at xbox live and fixes there service up, because if warhawk is the best they have to offer, than i personally would rather pay for my yearly xbox live service. Than get crap for free. There are to much problems with the game for me to mention, however sony online service is probably the main issue with the game. Who knows, maybe if warhawk was made for the xbox, it might have been better. Expand
  5. HawkRules
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    Ok, so there is no story mode. You won't care, This Game is AWESOME! The things you can do are endless. Everything is so well balanced you'd have to be a fool not to give this game the props it deserves. It's well worth the investment.
  6. MC
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    Amazing online game, very addictive and better than Halo3 imo. once a few more maps are developed this score will become a 10.
  7. JasonH
    Jul 8, 2007
    8
    The multiplayer is a lot of fun. I played the Beta and it was very well polished and very diverse. They were able to update the beta and fix a lot of the problems such as random game crashes, and bad streaming voice chat. When this comes out it will be a fun online only title, plus if you buy it in stores you get a Bluetooth wireless head set for cheap that is Sony made.
  8. brokr
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    Addictive... It's flat out a great game. Granted, the $40 price tag sucks considering there's no single player mode. What happens if your internet goes down? You're SOL. Plus side - if you buy the retail version w/ bluetooth headset - you can connect it to your phone as well!
  9. LTLLTL
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    As intense and fun as it can get. Very pretty. Only downside is there is not party system and you have to push to talk.
  10. RandyS.
    Sep 27, 2007
    8
    This game is hot, there is a problem with rank, however; it a hot game...I wish it still had a single mision mode.
  11. S.N.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    Online multiplayer that includes (upto) 4 player splitscreen. YES. Singlescreen multiplayer is great, but it's much more fun with two guys and a sixpack against the rest of the world.
  12. OlivierN.
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Great online game, flying is implemented really well, great balance. I love the different possibilities offered: AA Turrets, flying Warhawks, Jeeps, Tanks, on foot, sniping...months of fun!
  13. kurtb
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    This game has recieved the most play time of any game that has ever spun in my blu ray drive.. Roughly 800 hours and counting. Its been two years and I'm still playing which is a testament to how addictive this game is. There is a very steep learning curve but once you start to master the many elements within the game it really opens up and becomes an obsession... You will know what This game has recieved the most play time of any game that has ever spun in my blu ray drive.. Roughly 800 hours and counting. Its been two years and I'm still playing which is a testament to how addictive this game is. There is a very steep learning curve but once you start to master the many elements within the game it really opens up and becomes an obsession... You will know what I mean the first time you see your psn id on the leaderboard... Expand
  14. lycan7hropys
    Jun 4, 2009
    8
    the best reason to own a PS3 during its first year and still holds up as of june 09. the visuals and sound are nice but not alot of players play with the expansion packs. still, for $20 for the main game its worth it if you have alot of time to learn.....its not very noob friendly is this game. still,there is really nothing like it right now and yet another reason i prefer sony's big the best reason to own a PS3 during its first year and still holds up as of june 09. the visuals and sound are nice but not alot of players play with the expansion packs. still, for $20 for the main game its worth it if you have alot of time to learn.....its not very noob friendly is this game. still,there is really nothing like it right now and yet another reason i prefer sony's big black ugly system. Expand
  15. FrankBassham
    Jul 10, 2009
    9
    Warhawk has given me more moments of online fun than any other game this generation. Huge levels, balanced play, and spectacular fun. This game has caused more of my friends to want PS3s than any other game I've showed them, including The Case of the Drunk in the Doghouse, in which an inebriated friend called his wife and told her he'd be home later with his new PS3 and Warhawk, Warhawk has given me more moments of online fun than any other game this generation. Huge levels, balanced play, and spectacular fun. This game has caused more of my friends to want PS3s than any other game I've showed them, including The Case of the Drunk in the Doghouse, in which an inebriated friend called his wife and told her he'd be home later with his new PS3 and Warhawk, Hilarity ensued. I would rather rate this a 9.5 or so. Expand
  16. DylanN.
    Aug 28, 2007
    9
    Definitely a solid 8.5-9.0 game. I just purchased the downloadable version and started playing (have my own Bluetooth headset, of course). 3 hours later without moving, drinking or blinking I've stopped to breath. Very fun, very chaotic. I'm a little disappointed at the network features - PlayStation just doesn't have it's multi-player act together the way Xbox does Definitely a solid 8.5-9.0 game. I just purchased the downloadable version and started playing (have my own Bluetooth headset, of course). 3 hours later without moving, drinking or blinking I've stopped to breath. Very fun, very chaotic. I'm a little disappointed at the network features - PlayStation just doesn't have it's multi-player act together the way Xbox does yet - no ability to add friends in game (from what I could see), etc. Overall - worth $40 - and you now there will be a few free maps in the near future (and no doubt some pay ones). Expand
  17. ThomasS.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Great game, single player campaign was better than average, but where it really shines is the multiplayer mode. IIf this just had multiplayer as the only way to play, it would still be worth 60$ (40$ download). They way the clouds look and the planes, just an amazing experience.
  18. AlC
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    As a pure multiplayer experience, it is excellent fun. Balanced gameplay, huge diverse maps, and multiple ways to take on the competition, I can't recommend this game to the online PS3 owner more. The only downside you'll find comes in the form of a steep learning curve, so you may not fair too well off the bat. Get past it, and some very intense competition comes your As a pure multiplayer experience, it is excellent fun. Balanced gameplay, huge diverse maps, and multiple ways to take on the competition, I can't recommend this game to the online PS3 owner more. The only downside you'll find comes in the form of a steep learning curve, so you may not fair too well off the bat. Get past it, and some very intense competition comes your direction. In closing: if you have a PS3, and have an online connection, buy this game. Stacks up with the best multiplayer games out there, and is easily the best online experience you're going to get with the next-gen consoles thus far. Expand
  19. TonyM.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    So far so good. I am only crying for rolling and more guns. Flying is way funnier than in battlefield, but ofc not so good as on simulators. As on riflemen its really fun too, there is little autoaim and its very easy to move and aim. Im looking forward to patching and maybe we will get more jets and vehicles!
  20. CraigH.
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    An amazing online experience with non stop action, explosions, and unique things to do. want to fly around and dogfight? Check. Want to run around on the ground and torch people with a flamethrower? Check. Want to hang out in an anti-aircraft turret and shoot down approaching enemies? Check. This game has it all. To me, it feels like a nice balance between Battlefield 2 and Unreal An amazing online experience with non stop action, explosions, and unique things to do. want to fly around and dogfight? Check. Want to run around on the ground and torch people with a flamethrower? Check. Want to hang out in an anti-aircraft turret and shoot down approaching enemies? Check. This game has it all. To me, it feels like a nice balance between Battlefield 2 and Unreal Tournament. BF2 for the large maps, checkpoints, vehicles, etc and UT for the fast paced action many of us love. If you're a fan of multiplayer shooters, this can NOT be missed. Expand
  21. TavisD.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Great multiplayer game makes up for no single plater. Awesome graphics.
  22. ArronC.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Certainly the best game with multiplayer for the PS3. I actually like it better than the Halo series because the vehicles actually work well. I bouth the download version so I can't comment on the headset but I'd say it's totally worth the money.
  23. DavidM.
    Sep 6, 2007
    0
    This game is not very good. It's boring and has no single player. The multiplayer controls are horrible and it's unbalanceed. Another crappy PS3 game. What a surprise!
  24. JamesC.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    This game is absurdly fun and addictive.
  25. AaronC.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    Sweetest Game ever imaginable. Sometimes a bit like Halo and Star Wars Battlefront, but it has its own feel.
  26. SimonW
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    Love this game, so addictive, game play is great!
  27. BartM.
    Apr 3, 2008
    9
    One of the best game I've ever played and that fact that it is only available on-line is a true bonus - I get on-line, jump in and enjoy for as long as I like.
  28. BrettB.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    I got this game the day it came out and I still very much enjoy playing it. Awesome game. All of the bugs were fixed very soon on.
  29. AlfredoS.
    Jun 3, 2008
    9
    Warhawk is absolutely one of the greatest multiplayer games on the PS3 yet. Great controls, huge maps, and awsome gameplay. It somehow reminds me of the battlefield series.
  30. MarkW.
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played in nearly 30 years of gaming. The game play is fast paced and extremely addictive. The learning curve is steep but once you get the hang of the game you will be hooked. Anything can happen in this game like swooping down in a plane and ramming an opponent who is driving a jeep and launching the jeep 30 yards in to the air into a mountain side or off a The best game I have ever played in nearly 30 years of gaming. The game play is fast paced and extremely addictive. The learning curve is steep but once you get the hang of the game you will be hooked. Anything can happen in this game like swooping down in a plane and ramming an opponent who is driving a jeep and launching the jeep 30 yards in to the air into a mountain side or off a cliff into the water hundreds of yards below. You can also ride on the wing of an ally's plane since it can hover like a helicopter and snipe enemies from the clouds. The best part of the game however are the intense battles that utilize conventional methods of taking out enemies with a large number of weapons and vehicles. I've put in about 320 hours on the game and i know people who have played more than 1500 hours. This game doesn't get old and had the potential to be an epic masterpiece for Sony. Expand
  31. JakeM.
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    First of all, to those who would diss the graphics.. remember that it was made two years ago, and was one of the first major online PSN games. If you are having the troubles "This Game Sucks" had, then why not try playing on a smaller map? ;) Another note on the graphics: they work very well. I mean, imagine if the went for hyper-realistic, as in Call of Duty. I just can't picture First of all, to those who would diss the graphics.. remember that it was made two years ago, and was one of the first major online PSN games. If you are having the troubles "This Game Sucks" had, then why not try playing on a smaller map? ;) Another note on the graphics: they work very well. I mean, imagine if the went for hyper-realistic, as in Call of Duty. I just can't picture and F-16 in this game, because it doesn't fit. It's got graphics that go perfectly with the game. The balance of battles is perfect. Air superiority is a must, just like real battles. Good soldiers is a must, again very real. Also, to those who would try to compare it to Halo or COD... don't. That's like comparing... well, and XBOX and PS3. They're just different. Expand
  32. JGG.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    The ranking glitch is fixed. Love this game ... can play it for hours ... more maps would be great ... I'd like a Warhawk 101 tutorial too.
  33. JackS.
    Oct 22, 2007
    5
    Would have given this a 9.5 if it wasn't for the glitches. For some reason it ranks me straight up to commander as soon as I take it online. Anyone else experiencing this? Solutions?
  34. MikeB
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Best online game ever imo.
  35. BMcComber
    Aug 28, 2007
    9
    I put many, many hours into the beta, and loved every minute of it... while it worked. Now that the bugs have been worked out and it's a good solid experience, and the amount of just plain fun it provides more than make up for any shortcomings it has. If you aren't a fan of shooters or online games it probably won't do anything for you, but otherwise I definitely recommendI put many, many hours into the beta, and loved every minute of it... while it worked. Now that the bugs have been worked out and it's a good solid experience, and the amount of just plain fun it provides more than make up for any shortcomings it has. If you aren't a fan of shooters or online games it probably won't do anything for you, but otherwise I definitely recommend this title. Expand
  36. JeffG.
    Aug 30, 2007
    0
    Overhyped and boring. I have been looking forward to this for the past 6 months and it's complete crap! It seems like it was rushed because of the sloppy controls. I never thought I'd say this but I am getting really close to buying the 'other' console, even though I've been a Sony supporter since the PS1. Sometimes you just need to bite the bullet and realize Overhyped and boring. I have been looking forward to this for the past 6 months and it's complete crap! It seems like it was rushed because of the sloppy controls. I never thought I'd say this but I am getting really close to buying the 'other' console, even though I've been a Sony supporter since the PS1. Sometimes you just need to bite the bullet and realize this is my money I'm wasting, regardless of my biases. Expand
  37. Ben
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    The best and complete online experience so far ever done. Great graphics and sound, perhaps a little bit chaotic but you can rest for a while in one of the safe zone of your teams as shown on the map. Sure it's pure arcade there's not a real simulation...but it's so fun !! A must buy !
  38. GamerBear
    Sep 10, 2007
    9
    The first really fun and unique game I've played on my PS3. The developers tried to make the game fun for both experienced players and lightweights and it shows...I definitely fall in the lightweight category and have always hated these games, but this one left me feeling like I accomplished something even when not playing well. A lot better than I expected.
  39. BobS.
    Sep 1, 2007
    9
    Wonderfull game for 40 bucks ive been playing for hours. awsome graphics and controls r perfect but in six axis mode i wish was only plane. best online experience sence starwars battlefront 2 and counterstrike source
  40. MarkR.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    I'm so glad they concentrated on the multiplayer aspect here. This game rocks. I don't agree at all with the balancing issue that PSM has stated. The game is very well balanced, and a blast to play.
  41. JonM.
    Sep 15, 2007
    9
    Great grafix! And lots of action. Keep your head on a swivel because ya might get fragged from the air, a sniper, or shanked by a knife attack! Did I say lots and lots of action? Doesn't get a 10 because of no single player mode.
  42. AdamA.
    Sep 17, 2007
    9
    Warhawk is a fast-paced whopper of a game that will grab you by the collar and drag you in while you shout into your headset and love every minute. Multiplayer only was the way to go here in my opinion, even though fleshing out the backstory behind the two factions would have been a nice touch. While I'm on the topic, both factions feature stellar design and a cool stylized look that Warhawk is a fast-paced whopper of a game that will grab you by the collar and drag you in while you shout into your headset and love every minute. Multiplayer only was the way to go here in my opinion, even though fleshing out the backstory behind the two factions would have been a nice touch. While I'm on the topic, both factions feature stellar design and a cool stylized look that borrows heavily from German and American WWII gear and machinery. Each weapon and vehicle is balanced quite well to greater emphasize personal skill over brute force. For instance, a single footsoldier with the proper weapon is fully capable of bringing down a tank or Warhawk. but is otherwise slow and highly vulnerable to attack. Vehicles add a much deeper level of action to this game, the least among them being the Warhawk itself. These birds are fragile but extremely fast, while the weapons spread throughout each map give them the greatest level of available firepower. It is needless to say, but dogfights above the battlefield can become extremely intense. Overall each vehicle handles rather well after a little practice, and even the biggest noob will eventually become competent in a Warhawk. Mastery, however, will only come with time. If you're looking for a highly tactical experience like SOCOM then you might want to skip on Warhawk because the size and scope of the battles make individual squad tactics difficult to execute. In addition, most lower level ranked games are highly uncoordinated and usually play more like team deathmatch. The current set of maps is balanced to the point of being identical for both sides, though the artwork throughout remains fantastic and each map can be "scaled" to size depending on the number of players. Still, some new maps would be great. The bottom line? If you like high-adrenaline action in unfriendly skies, then Warhawk is the game to have for your PS3. Expand
  43. TomL.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    The most perfect online multiplayer experience ever!
  44. BuddyR.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Great multiplayer game!! perfect for people like myself who dont really care for single-player anyways!
  45. KelR.
    Sep 4, 2007
    5
    For me this was a pretty big let down. I was really looking foward to the multiplayer part of this game and after several hours of playing online I've come to the conclusion that It's over-hyped and boring. This is supposed to be the next generation of games so why does my character look like a big block head lego guy? The only redeeming part of the game is the mediocre dog For me this was a pretty big let down. I was really looking foward to the multiplayer part of this game and after several hours of playing online I've come to the conclusion that It's over-hyped and boring. This is supposed to be the next generation of games so why does my character look like a big block head lego guy? The only redeeming part of the game is the mediocre dog fights, which are slightly amusing. There are too few maps to play on and the ground combat part of the game is weak. Just rent it first before you blow your money on this one. Expand
  46. ChuckU.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    Awesome multiplayer game!! Beautiful graphics, killer sound, air and ground vehicles, flexible and intuitive controls, very balanced weapons and combat, massive maps, scalable maps, multiple game types, easy server hosting, no lag, fast paced action, retail version comes with a bluetooth headset. Need I say more? Extremely addictive game!!
  47. JakeG.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    Straight up best online game for the ps3 so far.
  48. BenM
    Nov 6, 2008
    9
    Returned to this game recently (without purchasing any upgrades), and it is still a fantastic online experience. Busy servers after this long dont lie. And the diversity of roles you can play in each battle is superb.
  49. JoshS
    Oct 21, 2008
    9
    The lasting appeal of this game is great! I have been playing since a year ago when the game came out and I just keep coming back.
  50. JoshN.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best games I have EVER played. Perfect if you ask me.
  51. EgorM.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    Counter-Strike is the best FPS game in the world.
  52. JaredC.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    This is the only game that has made into an addict... 182+ hours put in and counting. This game never gets old, no story line to follow or set objectives to complete.. JUST GOOD OL' FASHIONED WAR!!
  53. Elsa
    May 27, 2008
    9
    This game has stood the test of time. It is now about 9 months old and the servers are still busy. The devs are constantly adjusting the ranked servers in response to player needs and there is both free content and pay content available to keep the game fresh. The gameplay is highly addictive and the gaming community is friendly and fun (in no small part due to the care and attention of This game has stood the test of time. It is now about 9 months old and the servers are still busy. The devs are constantly adjusting the ranked servers in response to player needs and there is both free content and pay content available to keep the game fresh. The gameplay is highly addictive and the gaming community is friendly and fun (in no small part due to the care and attention of the devs). Well worth the purchase... even now. Expand
  54. EthanR
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    This game is absolutely perfect in every way. And xbox fanboys, do the world a favor and shut up.
  55. PeterJ.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    James J u just hate PS3 so don't write such lies. Warhawk is one of the best games ever !!!
  56. JoeB
    May 28, 2009
    10
    "This game sucks" dont blame the game for you being crap, this game is one of the best online shooters out there and for £15 its a steal, reccomended to all
  57. Barry
    Nov 26, 2007
    7
    Can be fun and addictive often, but the lack of scope and aim in this game is a real letdown. An even bigger letdown is that there is no singleplayer.. it just feels like a rushed game that the dev's have wanted to get rid of during the BETA stages. Not many bugs from what i can see but that's far from the point.. If this game had singleplayer campaign mode it would be a really Can be fun and addictive often, but the lack of scope and aim in this game is a real letdown. An even bigger letdown is that there is no singleplayer.. it just feels like a rushed game that the dev's have wanted to get rid of during the BETA stages. Not many bugs from what i can see but that's far from the point.. If this game had singleplayer campaign mode it would be a really great PS3 title. Graphics are ok, but don't compare to the likes of Assassin's Creed, COD4 10 fold. Worth £20 max for what u are getting... rent it first. Expand
  58. ScottL.
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    $40.00 too much? Heck no, This is the best $40 I have ever spent on a game over 20 years of playing games. This game is easy to pick up and play for anyone, after a couple of hours getting familiar with everything you will be hooked! I have logged over 80 hours with Warhawk and I am amazed at how I am constantly having to change my battle tactics to be victorious which makes this game $40.00 too much? Heck no, This is the best $40 I have ever spent on a game over 20 years of playing games. This game is easy to pick up and play for anyone, after a couple of hours getting familiar with everything you will be hooked! I have logged over 80 hours with Warhawk and I am amazed at how I am constantly having to change my battle tactics to be victorious which makes this game always fun and never boring. Anyone who has a PS3 MUST BUY this game. Just based on fun alone this game is an absolute blast. Plan to stay up late every night just to play one more game, and then one more after that, and on and on! Expand
  59. Jakes
    Aug 27, 2007
    6
    The game just isn't that good. The concept works and the gameplay is pretty fun, but the balancing issues prove quite quickly that you don't have as many real options as it first seems. That is, not if you want more kills than deaths.

    I really think this game had potential as a full fledged title with single player and co-op and next gen graphics. I mean, the concept and
    The game just isn't that good. The concept works and the gameplay is pretty fun, but the balancing issues prove quite quickly that you don't have as many real options as it first seems. That is, not if you want more kills than deaths.

    I really think this game had potential as a full fledged title with single player and co-op and next gen graphics. I mean, the concept and general gameplay is there. But as it stands, it isn't really worth bothering with, even at $40.
    If all you have is a PS3, you can consider the title. But you are better off just waiting for a real shooter like UT3.
    I could see some people really liking this title. My friend seems to enjoy it plenty. But after a few hours with it personally I just don't think it is good enough for my gaming time.
    Expand
  60. GooseDude
    Aug 28, 2007
    6
    Six Axis Controls are useless and are definitely not a way to showcase its use. 60$ package is a waste of money as most PS3 owners already have a headset. 40$ download is only playable on the purchasing PSN Account per console. Truly a Battlefield Clone....but nowhere near as good. IMO it is a gutted version of what it could have been and rushed to market. I loved the original WARHAWK!!!
  61. FelMar
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    This is definitely one of the best online games ever. True, it's online only but the online portion kicks major @$$. The most fun I've had all year, and that's all that matters.
  62. artist5280lucas38
    Aug 31, 2007
    9
    I am happy to dust off the PS3 and take a break from Bioshock. Warhawk is much fun! You can customize your characer and aircraft (within limits),play the offline four split screen, LAN, or the mayhem of 32 player online! The game delivers on pure fun and exciting battles...I can even play with my kids as a team online!! There are plenty of battles on Sony's free server, and I can I am happy to dust off the PS3 and take a break from Bioshock. Warhawk is much fun! You can customize your characer and aircraft (within limits),play the offline four split screen, LAN, or the mayhem of 32 player online! The game delivers on pure fun and exciting battles...I can even play with my kids as a team online!! There are plenty of battles on Sony's free server, and I can take part in an air campaign, ground battle or stealth my way onto a base and help take it over all during the same battle!!!! Warhawk is sweet, very addictive and loads of fun; a pleasant break from my 360! Expand
  63. MartinK.
    Aug 31, 2007
    6
    The game is pretty much planetside meets battlefield. The game isn't setting any new standards, and is pretty much a ripoff of other games. The controls are so and so. But as a "cheap" network game, you do get something for your money. For replayability I would go for something else.
  64. Dante399L
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    It is one of the best games I've ever played. If you enjoy the excitement and the intensity of being in a battlefield, Warhawk is the best game for you.
  65. [Anonymous]
    Mar 16, 2008
    9
    Easy to learn, and quickly gets into the fun. Pick whatever vehicle you want and your off. This is a vehicle focused online third person shooter, with huge maps. All the vehicles are easy to get used to. The vehicle selection however has some balancing issues, making several game types spawncamping based, the zone capture mode however has always given me a good time, and large CTF matches Easy to learn, and quickly gets into the fun. Pick whatever vehicle you want and your off. This is a vehicle focused online third person shooter, with huge maps. All the vehicles are easy to get used to. The vehicle selection however has some balancing issues, making several game types spawncamping based, the zone capture mode however has always given me a good time, and large CTF matches are always fun. Expand
  66. MikeW.
    Apr 14, 2008
    9
    Warhawk is one of the most fun online gaming experiences I've ever had, and this is from someone who has been playing games since Pong. Though it apparently had some issues at launch the game is quite solid now and is truely a joy to play. The huge maps are broken down into smaller zones which become their own mini maps to play in, changing the dynamic of the battlefield and how you Warhawk is one of the most fun online gaming experiences I've ever had, and this is from someone who has been playing games since Pong. Though it apparently had some issues at launch the game is quite solid now and is truely a joy to play. The huge maps are broken down into smaller zones which become their own mini maps to play in, changing the dynamic of the battlefield and how you use it. A very interesting take on level design. Worth every penny for either the downloadable pack or the Blu-Ray disc with headset bundle. Expand
  67. JoshuaB.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    James J, what are you talking about? Warhawk is possibly the most solid online gaming experience you'll probably get! People don't like it because they always die! "How do I not die" you noobs ask. You learn! Like I had to for Call of Duty 4 online while i was cruedly being owned by rank 45s. Ok, lets focus here. Warhawk can be pretty amazing. Open ended battles, a range of James J, what are you talking about? Warhawk is possibly the most solid online gaming experience you'll probably get! People don't like it because they always die! "How do I not die" you noobs ask. You learn! Like I had to for Call of Duty 4 online while i was cruedly being owned by rank 45s. Ok, lets focus here. Warhawk can be pretty amazing. Open ended battles, a range of vehicles, and among the vehicles is : The Warhawk. Flying in one of these is an absolute joy with great handling. It's also a real joy watching an enemy guard a base, decide to give up guarding, set off in their car, and you, behind a wall or something sneak up and take the base. Or there's times where on zones there is a massive battle for the middle base... ahhh, good times. Expand
  68. JasonK.
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    Better than any other shooter multi-player out there (& I'm in my 30's), and still going strong in 2009! The game is cheap to buy, or try the demo and see the incredibly deep gameplay, beautiful rock/paper/scissors balance, amazing flexibility & creativity, great variety on land or in the air, giant maps, furious action...it's addictive perfection. The learning curve is a Better than any other shooter multi-player out there (& I'm in my 30's), and still going strong in 2009! The game is cheap to buy, or try the demo and see the incredibly deep gameplay, beautiful rock/paper/scissors balance, amazing flexibility & creativity, great variety on land or in the air, giant maps, furious action...it's addictive perfection. The learning curve is a little steep, so for resources, tips, & help, checkout warhawk.wikia.com Expand
  69. PhilipM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Pure fun, great graphics, micro and macro battles are awesome. Needs more maps.
  70. DougB.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome arcade game great with 4 friends on split screen.
  71. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    This could be the greatest on line 3rd person shooter game for the PS3. The only bad part is the people who spawn kill. If there was a system in the game to automatically kick spawn killers, it would be so much better. If you are looking to buy this game, you will regret it if you don't. the people in planes are the worst. They just go around killing troops with machine guns.This could be the greatest on line 3rd person shooter game for the PS3. The only bad part is the people who spawn kill. If there was a system in the game to automatically kick spawn killers, it would be so much better. If you are looking to buy this game, you will regret it if you don't. the people in planes are the worst. They just go around killing troops with machine guns. Overall, its the best shooter game out there for the PS3. Expand
  72. May 15, 2012
    9
    Bought this game at Game Stop for $5 ! Let me say that those were the best $5 I've ever spent! Such an underrated, yet highly ADDICTING GAME! Once you start, you won't stop! Great job SCEA!!!
  73. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    Warhawk is definitely one of the best Playstation 3 exclusives out there. Although it is a multiplayer only game, it didn't need a single-player campaign to better the experience. The online multiplayer is fast-paced and is a AAA experience people will never forget. With huge battlefields and a variety of game-modes, this game will keep you addicted and coming back. As a remake and aWarhawk is definitely one of the best Playstation 3 exclusives out there. Although it is a multiplayer only game, it didn't need a single-player campaign to better the experience. The online multiplayer is fast-paced and is a AAA experience people will never forget. With huge battlefields and a variety of game-modes, this game will keep you addicted and coming back. As a remake and a successor of the first Warhawk (released in 1995) this game was a huge step forward. As one of the first releases in the game lineup with the debut of Playstation 3, this game was the best of the lot and i still think it competes with other major titles. This game is unique. Teamwork and Coordination prevails over individual needs. You'll never know what might happen any second as every game you play is a completely new experience. However there are a few issues though. The game isin't as rewarding. Ranking up only unlocks new customizations (they did it to keep all players equal) and ranking up is slow.... extremely slow. (keeps you playing) The point - system isn't very rewarding and it can get frustrating. But considering how much fun you can have flying and on ground in many different map layouts... it doesn't count. With Starhawk, the sequel coming out 2012... Warhawk fans and players will be well rewarded.

    You will die a lot in this game... but the more you play.. them more experience you get... and the better you get at the game. It worked for me and thousands of other players. There is lots of variety: dogfights, ground skirmishes, tank battles, getting in a jeep with another player and shooting the hell out of everyone..... infinite possibilities. This game is a must-own for very Playstation 3 owner and a must-play. One of the best PS3 exclusives. P.S The game is still alive and lots of people still play the game. :)
    Expand
  74. Dec 13, 2011
    4
    I bought this game in 2010, three years after the game was published so - yes it seemed a bit old in graphics etc. but I give it a try. It was interesting at first, there were some players in online (this is an online-only game!) and I had a friend also who bought this game so we tested the online. I did play it over 15 hours so it wasn't that bad. Actually, the 4-player split/screenI bought this game in 2010, three years after the game was published so - yes it seemed a bit old in graphics etc. but I give it a try. It was interesting at first, there were some players in online (this is an online-only game!) and I had a friend also who bought this game so we tested the online. I did play it over 15 hours so it wasn't that bad. Actually, the 4-player split/screen online was something I really appreciate, that should be done more often in games! But in the end, the game had bad controls, IMO some dominant strategies, lacks in gameplay and also because this is a online-only game, it only last while it has players. I do admit my rating is a bit low on this but I can't give better I didn't like it. This is different from other shooters so you should watch clips from this game, maybe it's for you. A bit mixed feeling about this game. Expand
  75. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    Warhawk is a very Battlefront-esqe 3rd person shooter. Purely internet based, it delivers a wonderful action-based from of playing, with incredibly balanced weapons. Death Match and Team Death Match isn't really what Warhawk was made for, but the Capture the Flag mode wins me over every time I play it. However, starting out can be quite difficult, but that is to be expected, but it doesWarhawk is a very Battlefront-esqe 3rd person shooter. Purely internet based, it delivers a wonderful action-based from of playing, with incredibly balanced weapons. Death Match and Team Death Match isn't really what Warhawk was made for, but the Capture the Flag mode wins me over every time I play it. However, starting out can be quite difficult, but that is to be expected, but it does have the sense to only allow a certain rank range in the Ranked/Pointgain servers. Warhawk is simply what people will always want: Nearly nonstop action, and a whole lot of fun. Definitely one to add to the collection. Expand
  76. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Great game! Lots of customization options; weapons and vehicles are balanced; fun maps; varied gameplay. It's a steal considering that a used copy of this game is under $10. Hours of fun!
  77. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    This game is my favorite game ever, and I have played this game a lot (1400+ Hours and counting). You're given a lot of freedom in this game, you can fly, you can be a troop, you can drive jeeps and tanks and if you get the DLC, APC's, Dropship's and Jetpack's are available to you. No it doesn't have the best graphics, no it doesn't have single player, yes it is old, but its still fun. ItThis game is my favorite game ever, and I have played this game a lot (1400+ Hours and counting). You're given a lot of freedom in this game, you can fly, you can be a troop, you can drive jeeps and tanks and if you get the DLC, APC's, Dropship's and Jetpack's are available to you. No it doesn't have the best graphics, no it doesn't have single player, yes it is old, but its still fun. It does have a serious learning curve, its not like Call of Duty where within a weak you'll be the highest rank and doing great, it takes time and even though I have played of for so long I still need improvement. The people who say this game suck are usually the ones who never gave it a chance or expected to go in and just kill everyone and have everything go their way. If anything is wrong with this game, its not the game itself, its the players. And because you have freedom the jerky players do get annoying at times but nothing you can't work out.

    Basically what I'm saying is, this game is hard, its different, its full of idiots, but its still a great game and you just have to give it a chance. You're not going to be a star player the day you buy it. but you don't have to to have fun. If anyone see's this I suggest picking it up used at Gamestop, its only $3 there, its still online, still a good player count, still as fun as its always been. The main thing to do is just to try when you play, don't give up, just try.
    Expand
  78. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    This game is really summed up in a few words: best third person shooter ever. The multiplayer stages are massive and full of places to discover. The controls are nearly flawless and add to the challenge of besting your friends. Teamwork is a massive component of his game and when done it works out perfectly. And when you think that you just about done everything, there is dlc awaiting. BoyThis game is really summed up in a few words: best third person shooter ever. The multiplayer stages are massive and full of places to discover. The controls are nearly flawless and add to the challenge of besting your friends. Teamwork is a massive component of his game and when done it works out perfectly. And when you think that you just about done everything, there is dlc awaiting. Boy is it worth it. Not only is the dlc incredibly creative and useful but it is also balanced so that it isn't a huge advantage to have it. All in all this game was the reason I got into shooters. Buy it immediately if you have not already! Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. May 14, 2012
    70
    With a new sci-fi setting, transformable mechs and some brand new RTS mechanics, the original Warhawk formula has definitely grown up but all this novelty come for a price.
  2. It's fun enough, but even with the headset, it's too expensive for a game that you cannot play by yourself, and its balancing issues severely limit what you can do in the game. [Oct 2007, p.77]
  3. 85
    It's not easy to create a multiplayer game that's utterly accessible to first-timers and yet varied enough to have serious legs.