• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Warhawk Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 190 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Dowloadable Game] In Warhawk, players experience the thrill of white-knuckle aerial combat with hundreds of enemy fighters, bone-crunching armored assaults and high-intensity infantry combat in a massive, all-out war fought both on the ground and in the skies. During gameplay, players are[Dowloadable Game] In Warhawk, players experience the thrill of white-knuckle aerial combat with hundreds of enemy fighters, bone-crunching armored assaults and high-intensity infantry combat in a massive, all-out war fought both on the ground and in the skies. During gameplay, players are tasked with protecting their homeland from the invading Chernovan armada. By doing so, players take command of the most advanced war machine in the fleet, the Warhawk, capable of aerobatic dogfights at high speeds or hovering over ground troops providing tactical support. Players continue the battle on foot with an arsenal of weaponry including pistols, rifles, grenades and more. Furthermore, players can gain access to an array of ground vehicles and lay waste with powerful weapons mounted on jeeps, tanks and specialty transports. Fight on Foot, in Ground Vehicles, or in the Sky – Next-gen multimodal design throws players into a deep gameplay experience. Fight in the war as a foot soldier, vehicle driver or ace pilot - whenever you want. Experience an Expansive Online Community – Players can join in epic multi-modal 32-person online battles, constantly evolving with downloadable content and a variety of online game modes. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Incognito Inc.
  • Genre(s): Action, Simulation, Shooter, Flight, Shooter, Third-Person, Combat, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: 1-4
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. At $40 for the PSN file, it may be the most expensive downloadable game you buy, but it’s currently the best online multiplayer title to hit PS3.
  2. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    Highly addictive with a damn near perfect gameplay balance, Warhawk is the bomb. [Oct 2007, p.119]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    The constant pressure of combat, fuelled by rapid five-second respawns, keeps the action ripping along at a formidable pace. [Oct 2007, p.94]
  4. 85
    Warhawk is not groundbreaking, the developers will admit that, but what is there is the best of the best.
  5. The game looks great, can be really addictive, and offers a variety of ways to enjoy the experience that Warhawk offers.
  6. Edge Magazine
    80
    Warhawk's manic pace makes for an instantly gratifying experience, and its brilliantly implemented notion of flight and considered balance among combat options more than compensate for the slenderness of its offering. [Oct 2007, p.90]
  7. PSM Magazine
    65
    It's fun enough, but even with the headset, it's too expensive for a game that you cannot play by yourself, and its balancing issues severely limit what you can do in the game. [Oct 2007, p.77]

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 81
  2. Negative: 6 out of 81
  1. TylerK
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    I love this game...Easily the best online 3rd person shooter available for the PS3. I would even say that Warhawk even beats Call of Duty in I love this game...Easily the best online 3rd person shooter available for the PS3. I would even say that Warhawk even beats Call of Duty in some aspects. Great game! Expand
  2. JGG.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    The ranking glitch is fixed. Love this game ... can play it for hours ... more maps would be great ... I'd like a Warhawk 101 tutorial too.
  3. EthanR
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    This game is absolutely perfect in every way. And xbox fanboys, do the world a favor and shut up.
  4. LTLLTL
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    As intense and fun as it can get. Very pretty. Only downside is there is not party system and you have to push to talk.
  5. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    Warhawk is definitely one of the best Playstation 3 exclusives out there. Although it is a multiplayer only game, it didn't need aWarhawk is definitely one of the best Playstation 3 exclusives out there. Although it is a multiplayer only game, it didn't need a single-player campaign to better the experience. The online multiplayer is fast-paced and is a AAA experience people will never forget. With huge battlefields and a variety of game-modes, this game will keep you addicted and coming back. As a remake and a successor of the first Warhawk (released in 1995) this game was a huge step forward. As one of the first releases in the game lineup with the debut of Playstation 3, this game was the best of the lot and i still think it competes with other major titles. This game is unique. Teamwork and Coordination prevails over individual needs. You'll never know what might happen any second as every game you play is a completely new experience. However there are a few issues though. The game isin't as rewarding. Ranking up only unlocks new customizations (they did it to keep all players equal) and ranking up is slow.... extremely slow. (keeps you playing) The point - system isn't very rewarding and it can get frustrating. But considering how much fun you can have flying and on ground in many different map layouts... it doesn't count. With Starhawk, the sequel coming out 2012... Warhawk fans and players will be well rewarded.

    You will die a lot in this game... but the more you play.. them more experience you get... and the better you get at the game. It worked for me and thousands of other players. There is lots of variety: dogfights, ground skirmishes, tank battles, getting in a jeep with another player and shooting the hell out of everyone..... infinite possibilities. This game is a must-own for very Playstation 3 owner and a must-play. One of the best PS3 exclusives. P.S The game is still alive and lots of people still play the game. :)
    Expand
  6. OlivierN.
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Great online game, flying is implemented really well, great balance. I love the different possibilities offered: AA Turrets, flying Warhawks, Great online game, flying is implemented really well, great balance. I love the different possibilities offered: AA Turrets, flying Warhawks, Jeeps, Tanks, on foot, sniping...months of fun! Expand
  7. JeffG.
    Aug 30, 2007
    0
    Overhyped and boring. I have been looking forward to this for the past 6 months and it's complete crap! It seems like it was rushed Overhyped and boring. I have been looking forward to this for the past 6 months and it's complete crap! It seems like it was rushed because of the sloppy controls. I never thought I'd say this but I am getting really close to buying the 'other' console, even though I've been a Sony supporter since the PS1. Sometimes you just need to bite the bullet and realize this is my money I'm wasting, regardless of my biases. Expand

See all 81 User Reviews