Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    70
    Warriors Orochi is certainly not a bad game; it's just a stale game. It's a gameplay formula that we have seen before on an engine that is incredibly outdated.
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    70
    A nice twist in the saga: a lot of new moves and an appealing structure.
  3. Apr 8, 2012
    72
    Warriors Orochi 3 is an example of evolution and expansion. But it is still not a brilliant game, it fails the usual things. The appearance of Ryu Hayabusa and Ayane are used to refine the gameplay, now faster and more precise.
  4. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Apr 25, 2012
    70
    The three main protagonists have a friend list that is almost as extensive as that of a 15 year old girl on facebook wearing a push up bra. Meaning you have to be a pretty determined collector to unlock them all. [May 2012, p.84]
  5. Play UK
    Apr 17, 2012
    59
    After about two or three hours of this you'll probably be tired of it all and want some peace, but this is Orochi's secret: you will be tempted to come back. [Issue#217, p.]
  6. There are many things to like about Warriors Orochi 3. The over-the-top madness, enormous scale battles, and – bizarrely enough – gibberish storyline all have varying levels of charm. Sadly the overly familiar mechanics and uninspired level design somewhat undermine all of this.
  7. PSM3 Magazine UK
    May 16, 2012
    53
    Impressively busy action is let down by repetitious combat and overlarge stages. Mind numbing to all but the diehards. [June 2012, p.109]
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    70
    Warriors Orochi 3 is definitely one of the best Musou action games out there. If you like the genre it's a must have. On the contrary, if you can't stand a repetitive campaign and simple fighting mechanics, this title won't change your mind.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    TRUE Dynasty Warriors, Samurai Warriors fan game. Mixes both of the genres into one epic story. The best Orochi game to date. The amount ofTRUE Dynasty Warriors, Samurai Warriors fan game. Mixes both of the genres into one epic story. The best Orochi game to date. The amount of characters is insane, you're going to constantly forget who to play as. Tons of bosses and for the first time in WARRIORS history an EDIT LEVEL MODE! Great game by far. Sad thing is, it's hated so much in the West we only got Japanese voices. Full Review »
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Really enjoying this game so far, I love the changes they've made throughout this series. Though I haven't played the previous WO games, IReally enjoying this game so far, I love the changes they've made throughout this series. Though I haven't played the previous WO games, I really enjoy the battle system where I can switch constantly unleashing hell. Many of the things that bothered me about these games, such as archers/rifleman being broken as hell, have been fixed and the new way they've handled weapons (you can fuse your old ones into your new ones) makes it so you don't just toss away the weapon you worked so hard to upgrade.

    Overall I gave the game a 9 (more an 8.5), because although the game is a blast it does have some things that bring it down. First of all would be that some of the enemy officers can do an obscene amount of damage with their musou attacks, often killing your character during it's duration as you're stun-locked the whole time. The other being what other people generally gripe about is that although they have refined many aspects of the game, it still feels very much like every other game in the series, which means if you have recently played other games of the genre, you may lose interest in this game rather quickly.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2014
    1
    This game is only for those who know Japanese or American language, for he who is not of that nationality, will not understand anything ofThis game is only for those who know Japanese or American language, for he who is not of that nationality, will not understand anything of this game! I started playing and finished without knowing the reason to play it, and have a bad look that the scenarios seem a PS2 game. a bad game and repetitive, not worth the price paid. Full Review »