Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    76
    Warriors Orochi 3 is an outstanding game in its category. One of the best Musou action games out there.
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    70
    Warriors Orochi is certainly not a bad game; it's just a stale game. It's a gameplay formula that we have seen before on an engine that is incredibly outdated.
  3. Mar 30, 2012
    80
    Warriors Orochi 3 is currently a representation of the series at its peak. Updated graphics, reduced pop-in, unparalleled content, and a nearly-bursting character roster make for a completely revamped experience that the previous titles couldn't offer.
  4. Apr 1, 2012
    85
    Warriors Orochi 3 is quite possibly my favorite Warriors game of the series. It's stuffed to the gills with content, featuring enough characters, stages, and unlockables to keep the hardcore fan enthralled for months.
  5. Apr 11, 2012
    80
    For the faithful, it comes highly recommended. It's newcomers who should really consider giving this a try, though. Carve your way through the crude visuals, archaic menus and seemingly inexplicable features and you may just find your new favourite game.
  6. Apr 16, 2012
    70
    A nice twist in the saga: a lot of new moves and an appealing structure.
  7. Apr 24, 2012
    80
    Once again, this Musô title will be hated by many, and loved by a few. It's a very nice cross-over for fans of this beat'em all offspring, but one that will not appeal more to people who don't understand how others can enjoy playing Dynasty Warriors-like titles. But Warriors Orochi 3 knows how to please the fans.
  8. Mar 28, 2012
    91
    Overall, Warriors Orochi 3 is one of the best examples of a modern Dynasty Warriors title, and something that all fans should definitely check out. It's not going to do much to sway naysayers and those that don't care for the repetitive button mashing of the series, as it doesn't do much to change up the core gameplay, but if you're at all vested in the series, you should think about picking this up.
  9. Apr 5, 2012
    85
    If you only play a single Warriors game, with such an abundance of content, Warriors Orochi 3 has to be the one. And for those who've played the rest, be assured that you're about to experience the best – because this is a new peak for Omega Force and for the Warriors series.
  10. Apr 8, 2012
    72
    Warriors Orochi 3 is an example of evolution and expansion. But it is still not a brilliant game, it fails the usual things. The appearance of Ryu Hayabusa and Ayane are used to refine the gameplay, now faster and more precise.
  11. Apr 16, 2012
    30
    The third round of Dynasty Warriors vs. Samurai Warriors is almost identical to the first two, with more characters, more options, but even less innovation.
  12. The three main protagonists have a friend list that is almost as extensive as that of a 15 year old girl on facebook wearing a push up bra. Meaning you have to be a pretty determined collector to unlock them all. [May 2012, p.84]
  13. Apr 17, 2012
    59
    After about two or three hours of this you'll probably be tired of it all and want some peace, but this is Orochi's secret: you will be tempted to come back. [Issue#217, p.]
  14. There are many things to like about Warriors Orochi 3. The over-the-top madness, enormous scale battles, and – bizarrely enough – gibberish storyline all have varying levels of charm. Sadly the overly familiar mechanics and uninspired level design somewhat undermine all of this.
  15. May 16, 2012
    53
    Impressively busy action is let down by repetitious combat and overlarge stages. Mind numbing to all but the diehards. [June 2012, p.109]
  16. Apr 2, 2012
    70
    Warriors Orochi 3 is definitely one of the best Musou action games out there. If you like the genre it's a must have. On the contrary, if you can't stand a repetitive campaign and simple fighting mechanics, this title won't change your mind.
  17. Apr 18, 2012
    80
    The best and most complete musou game of this generation, with a good number of characters, some of them really charming. If you like this genre, this is better than the recent Dynasty Warriors games and has a lot of possibilities.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    TRUE Dynasty Warriors, Samurai Warriors fan game. Mixes both of the genres into one epic story. The best Orochi game to date. The amount of characters is insane, you're going to constantly forget who to play as. Tons of bosses and for the first time in WARRIORS history an EDIT LEVEL MODE! Great game by far. Sad thing is, it's hated so much in the West we only got Japanese voices. Full Review »
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Really enjoying this game so far, I love the changes they've made throughout this series. Though I haven't played the previous WO games, I really enjoy the battle system where I can switch constantly unleashing hell. Many of the things that bothered me about these games, such as archers/rifleman being broken as hell, have been fixed and the new way they've handled weapons (you can fuse your old ones into your new ones) makes it so you don't just toss away the weapon you worked so hard to upgrade.

    Overall I gave the game a 9 (more an 8.5), because although the game is a blast it does have some things that bring it down. First of all would be that some of the enemy officers can do an obscene amount of damage with their musou attacks, often killing your character during it's duration as you're stun-locked the whole time. The other being what other people generally gripe about is that although they have refined many aspects of the game, it still feels very much like every other game in the series, which means if you have recently played other games of the genre, you may lose interest in this game rather quickly.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    My score's really a 7.5, not an 8. I'm really enjoying this so far, I'm on chapter 3 but only just. The whole back and forth storyline is a little jarring, eg chapter 3 comes before chapter one, then chapter 2 and 4, but it doesn't really matter. The 'storyline' is only there for you to kill thousands of enemies in every battle. It's more in depth than the Dynasty Warriors games, the Japanese voice actors work a lot better than the terrible english voice actors, and the in battle events, like the cut scenes, remind me of Dynasty Warriors 3 which was previously my favourite DW game along with DW7. This is undoubtedly a great hack and slash game, I love it and will be putting serious time into it over the next few weeks to max out some characters, get the best team together and beat the game. Very enjoyable and highly recommended. Full Review »