Wet PlayStation 3

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 56
  2. Negative: 11 out of 56
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2016
    6
    Wet was always appealing to me, due to its grindhouse's style that could belong in a Tarantino movie. Unfortunately I'll quickly explain why this game has been a deception.

    First technically the game is pretty bad with outdated graphics for a 2009 game, very long loading time and even some framerate drops.The IA of the enemies is okay but won't be much of a challenge neither The art
    Wet was always appealing to me, due to its grindhouse's style that could belong in a Tarantino movie. Unfortunately I'll quickly explain why this game has been a deception.

    First technically the game is pretty bad with outdated graphics for a 2009 game, very long loading time and even some framerate drops.The IA of the enemies is okay but won't be much of a challenge neither The art direction of the game deserved better,

    Now concerning the gameplay the first minutes are very fun, you're introduce to different moves, sword fight, etc... But you get nothing new during the rest of the game, well yes you'll have new skills and weapons, but they really are not useful and you'll finish the game using only your pistols, your sword and the same 3 moves (killing enemies without moves is just boring) and the game is still very easy, it's almost impossible to die because of the enemies, no the most probable ways to die during the game is during jumps and that's mostly because the camera is faulty and the jumps will fail if you jump one foot too soon or late you die. The "bosses" are all the same and once again very easy. There's a few enjoyable moment like "rage mode" or some QTE sequence, but they are too scarce to prevailed over the rest of the game.

    The story is, like you'd expected, pretty over the top with B-rank dialogues that you might love or hate depending on your tastes. However it will only last 6 hours which was way too short and the ending is obviously rushed (there's even one lieutenant of the bad guy that disappeared), they clearly cut some part of the game to get it out on scheduled.

    In conclusion the game fails in its game design it should have either work more on its looks and add more QTE's and sequences other than arena's fight. Or having a top notch gameplay that requires skills and less repetitive. In both case they should have at least finish the game properly. The six hours that the game last weren't bad and I liked the first half of it, but the repetitiveness of the gameplay killed this fun and at the end it was boring. Advisable only to grindhouse fans at a very low price.
    Expand
  2. May 14, 2015
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2014
    4
    Bad controls, repetitive gameplay, a wannabe badass main character, strange visuals, (for my opinion) awful music. I seriously had a hard time finding something i like about this game. Would not recommend it!
  4. Mar 14, 2014
    8
    I don't see how anyone can hate this game. its seven hours of excitement and light-hearted fun. Yes, the graphics are not fantastic, but once you get about an hour in you really don't notice unless you're being too critical about it, and a game this fun doesn't need good graphics, they are perfectly sufficient.

    I love the mechanics of the gameplay. the
    I don't see how anyone can hate this game. its seven hours of excitement and light-hearted fun. Yes, the graphics are not fantastic, but once you get about an hour in you really don't notice unless you're being too critical about it, and a game this fun doesn't need good graphics, they are perfectly sufficient.

    I love the mechanics of the gameplay. the sword-fighting/gun-firing/slow-mo/acrobatic action. there are a lot of dynamic abilities that work extremely well and feel rewarding when you do them. Free-running plays a massvie aspect in this game, not like in Brink when you never use it. The only game better than this in free running is Mirror's Edge. There are so many moves in this game: The Vertical Wall Run, Dive, Jump, Slide, Along-Wall Run, Wall Run Turn Jump, Jump at wall - jump off wall, wallrun up people, zipline, swing on poles, wallrun round corners. And you can shoot any weapon while doing any of these moves, in slow motion!!!! some more: slide backwards down ladders, Wall run flip, wall run jump. also, you can chain together moves to get more points!

    Seriously, this game is amazing, it has its issues such as some areas which can be frustrating to complete (The Skydive section, getting golds on some challenges, some rage sections are difficult) but to be honest once you complete the harder parts it's more rewarding and I've never actually rage quitted this game like I have others. Other faults include that sometimes Rubi doesn't grab onto stuff and you fall to your death, but this is a very rare occasion, maybe like once a level at most, but this happened to me alllllll the time in mirror's edge so no one can complain. Lastly, it feels slightly un-polished in some ways, like just a bit more work here and there and it would be truly outstanding. The music and the grainy film effect don't really do anything for me but its cool to be unique.

    This game has everything else you want from a game as well, collectables, challenges, upgrades, Points scores, various level types (Rage, Action/Adventure, "Dodging" sections (there are 2 levels where you jump from car to car and shoot guys and another where you are skydiving), Arena levels, Quick Time Scenes, Shooting Gallery Scenes, Training Levels), also you get new guns as you play-through, the achievements are quite easy but you still need to work to get them (most games have 2 or 3 achievements that are impossible to 99% of people, and most games I have barely 50% of the achievements because they might be multiplayer or just really annoying to get).

    In conclusion I highly recommend this game. Play it with a light-hearted attitude. I don't really pay much attention to the story, I usually stick on the Yog-Pod while playing and have a laugh at that while I'm massacring dozens of helpless bodyguards with my duel shotguns mid air doing a back flip after jumping off some man's face in slow motion.

    Just buy the damn thing, its tonnes of fun and it;s like £5 quid now so its not exactly a massive expense!
    Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2013
    8
    Although this game is a cheesy, basic hack 'n' slash and shoot everything that moves, I really enjoyed this game it's has a good Tarantino esque story with weird and interesting characters and enjoyable, funny and crazy gameplay. This game could have been better if it had more money and time invested in it but if you can find this game cheap (4 years on I'm sure you can find it very cheap)Although this game is a cheesy, basic hack 'n' slash and shoot everything that moves, I really enjoyed this game it's has a good Tarantino esque story with weird and interesting characters and enjoyable, funny and crazy gameplay. This game could have been better if it had more money and time invested in it but if you can find this game cheap (4 years on I'm sure you can find it very cheap) I suggest getting it. This is a game to fill a lazy weekend, but a good one at that. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    I am MAJORLY surprised to see that the critics liked this game more than the users! On my You Tube Christian gaming channel, Gaming 4 Jesus ( http://www.youtube.com/Gaming4Jesus ), I gave this game a 8.5. Being that Metacritic does not allow half scores, I think the game is worth a 9 on here. At the time, this game broke the mold as far as Quinton Tarantino-type wit, obnoxiousness, andI am MAJORLY surprised to see that the critics liked this game more than the users! On my You Tube Christian gaming channel, Gaming 4 Jesus ( http://www.youtube.com/Gaming4Jesus ), I gave this game a 8.5. Being that Metacritic does not allow half scores, I think the game is worth a 9 on here. At the time, this game broke the mold as far as Quinton Tarantino-type wit, obnoxiousness, and rough charm. Plus, how could anyone NOT love Eliza Dushku's voice performance! It was a bit cliche, sure! But she pulled it all off BRILLIANTLY! By the way, I cordially invite anyone reading this to visit my channel (referral above). I hope you will sometime enjoy this game as much as I did! Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    With a Tarantino-meets-Rodriguez style of Grindhouse and Inglorious Bastards, WET is so innovative and unique that even a gun-hiring badass and a cold beer might do the trick. It's a great experience, the controls were really incredible were you slash and kill your target on mission at a time. I gotta hand it to Eliza Dushku of Buffy fame and the short-lived Dollhouse, as Rubi MaloneWith a Tarantino-meets-Rodriguez style of Grindhouse and Inglorious Bastards, WET is so innovative and unique that even a gun-hiring badass and a cold beer might do the trick. It's a great experience, the controls were really incredible were you slash and kill your target on mission at a time. I gotta hand it to Eliza Dushku of Buffy fame and the short-lived Dollhouse, as Rubi Malone there's no stopping on whether she's in action or getting drunk, it doesn't matter. She's like in a reboot of American Pie or something. Great cast, nice soundtrack, and a must-own game. I heard they are making a sequel, but I don't know if it;s coming in 2011 or delayed until 2012. But I have to wait and see. Expand
  8. Dec 28, 2010
    6
    the game has alot of potential but is shot down abit do to bad platforming , dull level's , repetitive levels , boring story. you can tell the developers where big fans of kill bill and the game has abit of its feel . the game reminds me abit of max payn as well. the gun mechanics and sword play are pretty well done and are what mainly holds this game from falling into the toilet . therethe game has alot of potential but is shot down abit do to bad platforming , dull level's , repetitive levels , boring story. you can tell the developers where big fans of kill bill and the game has abit of its feel . the game reminds me abit of max payn as well. the gun mechanics and sword play are pretty well done and are what mainly holds this game from falling into the toilet . there are also alot of bugs and glitches have had a freese up or two and got stuck in things or have the QTE not work . the game is at best a rental or if you can get it dirt cheap which i think now you pretty much can. Expand
  9. Dec 21, 2010
    6
    Third person shooter that does a stellar job mimicking 70's trash movies and featuring one of the coolest heroines ever. Armed with dual revolvers, a katana, and bullet time whenever she performs acrobatic moves, Rubi Malone shoots and slices thugs like none other. Too bad she only does it for about seven hours and suffers from countless sudden deaths due to failed jumps, slides, orThird person shooter that does a stellar job mimicking 70's trash movies and featuring one of the coolest heroines ever. Armed with dual revolvers, a katana, and bullet time whenever she performs acrobatic moves, Rubi Malone shoots and slices thugs like none other. Too bad she only does it for about seven hours and suffers from countless sudden deaths due to failed jumps, slides, or quicktime events. Expand
  10. Oct 4, 2010
    0
    At the beginning, i thought i was playing a game but shortly afterwards, I saw a movie. A movie that was commonly interrupted by deaths and crashes. It had so many good ideas, but too many ideas, and not enough of putting them into action. The one thing that i really liked about this games was Rubi's blood rage moments. Very artistic and very original. Other then that, maybe worth a rent,At the beginning, i thought i was playing a game but shortly afterwards, I saw a movie. A movie that was commonly interrupted by deaths and crashes. It had so many good ideas, but too many ideas, and not enough of putting them into action. The one thing that i really liked about this games was Rubi's blood rage moments. Very artistic and very original. Other then that, maybe worth a rent, but under no circumstances worth buying. Expand
  11. rspydax
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    The demo for WET was dreadful. The first hour of the full game was worse. Yet something made me give this game a chance, and I'm SO glad I did. Once you get used to the slightly awkward control's everything seem's to open up and make sense. The level design and graphics seemed to improve as the game progressed and the final two or three levels looked great. I've always The demo for WET was dreadful. The first hour of the full game was worse. Yet something made me give this game a chance, and I'm SO glad I did. Once you get used to the slightly awkward control's everything seem's to open up and make sense. The level design and graphics seemed to improve as the game progressed and the final two or three levels looked great. I've always been a fan of the Tomb Raider games but I can't remember the last time I managed to play one to completion, something always frustrated me or I became bored due to the familiarity of it all. At times WET feels a little like Tomb Raider, but well before that climbing/swinging/where-is-that-damn-key fatigue sets in you are plunged into a mad 10 minutes of non-stop gun and sword play, where the variety of moves and abilities puts other 3rd person games to shame. I short, I played WET to completion and I can't say that about many PS3 games. Expand
  12. AndrewQ
    Nov 14, 2009
    3
    Everything about this game is cool. It has a cool feel to it, the art style is awesome and screams Quinten Tarantino, the concept of dual targeting is AWESOME, and the demo was a lot of fun. The game, on the other hand, resembles when you bake a cake and take it out of the oven too soon. Sure it looks done, but it doesn't taste quite right, other than the frosting, and now I really Everything about this game is cool. It has a cool feel to it, the art style is awesome and screams Quinten Tarantino, the concept of dual targeting is AWESOME, and the demo was a lot of fun. The game, on the other hand, resembles when you bake a cake and take it out of the oven too soon. Sure it looks done, but it doesn't taste quite right, other than the frosting, and now I really want cake. At any rate, this game really and truly needed some QA. I swear those that playtested this game were either hyped up on experimental drugs, or they simply didn't actually playtest it. It is full of potential to be an awesome game. I love the dual targeting mechanic, and the swordfighting is fun. but it reeks of really shoddy level design and just bad choices. The only reason I gave it a 3 is because it has potential. Hopefully someone will eventually see it and build a spiritual successor. Until then, I'll stick to Prince of Persia. Expand
  13. JP
    Sep 30, 2009
    7
    Not a great game. It contains huge flaws in the design that should hamstring it. However, the whole style and atmosphere carry it through and help to paper over the cracks. There were many times the air turned blue with the profanities I hurled at the screen in frustration. However, as soon as I finished I had to restart on a higher difficulty level and played it through again. Oh, and Not a great game. It contains huge flaws in the design that should hamstring it. However, the whole style and atmosphere carry it through and help to paper over the cracks. There were many times the air turned blue with the profanities I hurled at the screen in frustration. However, as soon as I finished I had to restart on a higher difficulty level and played it through again. Oh, and the soundtrack is the best I've heard since GTA. Expand
  14. TylerH.
    Sep 24, 2009
    6
    This game falters between good and average, and in parts, sup-par to say the least. Graphical-style is so-so, where the art direction they went with was a good idea, but its not up to next gen standards. Rage mode is excellent, but extremely breif. Other parts feel tacked on to extent gameplay, while odd cut-scenes and missions seem pointless. Nice concept, game is fun in spurts... but This game falters between good and average, and in parts, sup-par to say the least. Graphical-style is so-so, where the art direction they went with was a good idea, but its not up to next gen standards. Rage mode is excellent, but extremely breif. Other parts feel tacked on to extent gameplay, while odd cut-scenes and missions seem pointless. Nice concept, game is fun in spurts... but not what it could have been. No real replayability; rent. Collapse
  15. DecoM
    Sep 15, 2009
    2
    NOT a good game. Stranglehold has done what it does, only much better. It has no multiplayer, so no replayability to be found here at all. the gameplay feels stiff, and the enemies take forever to die. That's not what you're looking for in a game where you're supposed to feel so overpowered. The vehicle sequence is VERY limited, and it's hard to hit your target. The NOT a good game. Stranglehold has done what it does, only much better. It has no multiplayer, so no replayability to be found here at all. the gameplay feels stiff, and the enemies take forever to die. That's not what you're looking for in a game where you're supposed to feel so overpowered. The vehicle sequence is VERY limited, and it's hard to hit your target. The RAGE mode is fun, though, and it looks fantastic. The graphics a re weird. They do their job, but Rubi can't jump on many ledges, you'll often find that you can't jump to somewhere easy to reach, but you CAN jump to somewhere hard to reach, which can confuse people who just want to run through the game and complete all the objectives. And when you shoot someone 2 times, they're alright, but then you shoo them 3 times, and all of a sudden they get covered in blood all over their body and a huge blood spurt will come out. WEIRD game. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 61
  2. Negative: 2 out of 61
  1. 65
    WET isn't really an original game. Several ingredients are taken from other good titles. Nevertheless, WET is amusing for a couple of hours and therefore it's just a good B-title.
  2. Wet is a very good game that any fan of shooters will enjoy.
  3. 66
    Come for the blood, bullets, crude language, seedy characters piles of dead bodies, but don't expect to find any lasting kind of satisfaction.