White Knight Chronicles II Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: White Knight Chronicles II is enhanced with stunning graphics, over 400 weapon and armor choices, and new fan-requested features. For the first time, players can create an Incorruptus (a unique knight) for their own avatar and use it during online multiplayer quests for the first time ever.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Sep 25, 2011
    91
    The rewards for engaging, learning, and conquering Chronicles II are many, especially for those who enjoy falling into the sticky trap of co-operative online roleplaying games, where loot is hard-earned with time and skill.
  2. Jul 4, 2011
    78
    White Knight Chronicles II is a good quality sequel that fixed most of the errors of the first episode. It's not perfect, not a next-generation RPG, not a masterpiece, but is a pretty good game, if compared to the (low) current rating of similar products.
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    74
    White Knight Chronicles 2 lacks some innovation over the original game, but it delivers a solid experience for RPG fans.
  4. Jul 6, 2011
    65
    Level 5 have once again created a vast and competent RPG, but it has failed to reach the upper echelons the best in the genre achieve, being more slow-and-steady rather than thrill-a-minute. JRPGs have fallen out of favour recently, so buyers need be aware that this is very much JRPG-centric. There's plenty of content to keep fans of this type of RPG happy, but it certainly won't appeal to everyone.
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    60
    Mixing the JRPG and MMO genres is a great idea, but with WKC2 Level-5 fails again and gets a mixed result.
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    50
    Hardcore WKC fans may be willing to pour hundreds of additional hours into this sequel, nay - expansion - but most will likely be turned off by the confusing story, niggling flaws and generally repetitive nature of the combat and questing.
  7. Jul 1, 2011
    20
    If you were to find the perfect illustration of the downfall of Japanese RPGs, it would probably look like White Knight Chronicles II. Its combat system is wonky, trying to find the pieces of itself and finding only the player's weariness, its story and characters are so tasteless that one might wonder if we're still in 2011, and finally, its shameless recycling of maps and stuff from the first one doesn't do it any good. Only the multiplayer manages to linger on in our thoughts, baring a little esteem, but it's definitely not enough to dive into this tiresome adventure. Please don't fail on ninokuni like you ailed on this one, level-5, please.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    this game is really GOOD!! if you liked the first game you will like this game too, the graphics are better the updates in the gameplaythis game is really GOOD!! if you liked the first game you will like this game too, the graphics are better the updates in the gameplay Definitely make correct the mistakes made in the first game,the same good amount of time of gameplay and do everything in the game,now you raise you guild rank level much more quickly and dont saty behind of others playing,new weapons( now the weapons dont have penallity on VIT =) everything really good i just think that they could have change the chances to get some hard iten...they still whit itens that have 1 percent drop..that could be frustate sometines..and the history still practicly the same...anyway it dont stop the game to be one of the best choices of JRPG if you have the one you MUST have this one Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    Most modern gamers don't like any game with a turn-based element. Maybe it's the thought of thinking that scares them. White Knight ChroniclesMost modern gamers don't like any game with a turn-based element. Maybe it's the thought of thinking that scares them. White Knight Chronicles is one of the 5 best computer RPG's of all time and WKC2 is just as good. Typical rpg elements present in sequels are missing (most characters return from the original), but it does feel bigger and better. The gameplay is brilliant and designed to make the player who just wants to kill or destroy everything quit and play something much that requires much less thought. Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    This is a really good RPG. I was a fan of the first and this one has just gotten better. Must buy for any RPG fans. The amount of content inThis is a really good RPG. I was a fan of the first and this one has just gotten better. Must buy for any RPG fans. The amount of content in the game is very nice, and it does for sure have replay-ability. Combat is better then the first game with more options. This is a solid JRPG, and one of the few we have seen come to the states in the past few years. Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2011
    7
    Very enjoyable game, a lot of things to do (especially if you start with wkc 1. I'm about 65 hours into the game now and I have the feelingVery enjoyable game, a lot of things to do (especially if you start with wkc 1. I'm about 65 hours into the game now and I have the feeling I'm not even halfway yet.). Interesting story, though some cutscenes don't really add anything to the story (luckily you can skip those). Downside is that the A.I. is absolutely retarded. They know when to heal, but they have a habit for using the most powerful ones when not necessary (and by that draining your mp retardedly fast), offensive spells are used completely random. I've had a character whacking away at a monster using her weapon while she had to use magic and used magic when there wasn't any point to. Also despite the fact there are only 3 types of attack, and most monsters are vurnerable to 1 type, and my computergenerated friends can't figure out which one to use, not after the 1st monster, nor the 1000th one, which gets on my nerves from time to time. You do have to love the concept of RPGs and stories though, since the battle system aswell as the environments are very repetitive. If you don't care about the storyline, you won't get far. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2015
    7
    I would sadly have to say that I agree with some of the critics here. SPOILERS!!!!!(You should know this by now.)

    Story - Some twists here
    I would sadly have to say that I agree with some of the critics here. SPOILERS!!!!!(You should know this by now.)

    Story - Some twists here and there but mostly sticks to its cliche retardedness(That's not even a word)

    ~Characters ~

    Leonard - Mr. I have to save the Princess no matter what.
    ["O Wizel, white warrior, wielder of the ancient sword, grant me your power. Verto!]

    Yulie - Ms I like Leonard but I'll never admit it
    [O' Luthia, argent goddess and beacon in the ancient night, grant me your power. Verto!]

    Eldore - The old guy who knows everything

    Kara - The traitor/friend/traitor/friend
    ["Oh Dinivas, deliverer of dark and dread, ruler of the ancient shadows, grant me your power. Verto!"]

    Caesar - The guy whose rich loves dragons & Kara and also the guy whose knight has the coolest battle theme which is still stuck in my head.
    ["O Larvayne, vermillion drake, leveler of ancient lands, grant me your power. Verto!"]

    Grazel - The badass with a badass knight and also the villain.
    ["O Adolmaea, shining sovereign, supreme light of the ancient skies, grant me your power. Verto!"]

    Sound - Not extraordinary but not bad. The 2nd Battle Theme is amazing I love all the Knights Themes and Balandor Plains BGM is 1 of my favorites. It has a Pretty Good OST.

    Gameplay - Fun at times but sometimes repetitive another thing is that I wish some of the abilities in this game had more oomph to it like a sword attack that's flashy and powerful not a simplistic stab or a simple slash. Another thing is that I wish some characters had a unique ability that other characters do not like Eldore having Majestic Fire Rain or Yulie having Aerial Barrage or Leonard with HikĊ-Ken that would have made all the characters powers and abilities more unique.

    Graphics - I bet if there wasn't so many MMO elements in the game White Knight Chronicles would have had better graphics. Regardless though WK has decent graphics.

    Replay Value - Moderate replay value comes from choosing different classes which is probably enough to make you grab that controller again and put WK back into your PS3 again.

    Overall - This game is good for when your bored and you just want to play a JRPG that's satisfying but not extraordinary. If you were looking for an Amazing game with a great story and awesome gameplay go play Tales of Xillia because this is not 1 of those games.
    Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2011
    7
    White Knight Chronicles (and WKC II) as a story falls rather flat on it's face. WKC's story is so bad takes a three point hit its scoreWhite Knight Chronicles (and WKC II) as a story falls rather flat on it's face. WKC's story is so bad takes a three point hit its score because of it. It's a very cliche "Save the princess!" love story with the youthful hero chasing after the princess and time after time the bad guy pulls her away at the last moment. Not a big fan of that. However; in terms of game play I actually enjoyed this game a lot. The AI used for the companions is smart about attacking and using magic. The enemies are reused quite often but are difficult enough while not being too hard. You get to design your Avatar player's appearance right from the get-go. There is a well thought out system for crafting new armor and weapons called Binding and even a mini-game where you design a town (called your Georama). Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2016
    3
    This takes the worst parts of an mmo and JRPG and puts them together into a horrible mess.

    Issue 1: Story. If there is a "baby's first RPG"
    This takes the worst parts of an mmo and JRPG and puts them together into a horrible mess.

    Issue 1: Story. If there is a "baby's first RPG" then it would have the same story as this. You are the good guys and there's bad guys trying to kill you/take your stuff. That's basically it. Do not get this game expecting a good story. There's nothing in the story that is compelling me to move forward to complete it. I'm moving forward only so that I can finish the game and never have to look at it again.

    Issue 2: Combat. Remember FF12's mmo-styled combat? It is sort of like that, but much worse. First of all, you can't "program" your party members to take certain actions. There's a few preset roles you can assign them like "heal first" or "go all out," but that's all the control you have over it. They seemingly just do random things based on what skills and items you've equipped to them. What's especially irritating is that most enemies are weak to a certain element or attack. Your AI-controlled party members never learn these weaknesses and continue to use random attacks. If you need your party member to take a certain action, your only option is to take control of him/her and do it yourself.

    The combat is timer-based, with no pausing, so you're just standing around waiting for your ring to fill up before you can do anything. And if you happen to be in the process of casting an AOE spell targeted on a particular enemy in a group and that enemy dies, your spell is canceled and you have to wait for your ring to fill up to start casting it again. All while the other enemies (who would have died from the AOE) are eating your face.

    There's a lot of other combat-based nuisances (entering/exiting combat, party members that stand around doing nothing while you're attacking from range), but there's not enough space here to cover them all.

    Issue 3: Side quests. There's a very large number of side quests and errands. They take an incredible amount of time and award almost nothing that you can't buy on your own from cash you gain from moving from one story objective to another. They do provide a bit of background for the world and NPCs, but since the story is so bad, they're just not worth it.

    Issue 4: Dungeon Pacing. You'll frequently find yourself in a dungeon heading for the next objective via the shortest route possible and find that there's either a locked door (that you may have previously unlocked) or silly message like "you can't go here yet," that blocks your path and makes you take the extra-long way around the dungeon to get to the objective. That is not fun.

    Issue 5: Skills. There's a very large number generic and boring spells and attack skills. I'm using a mage as my primary character as it seems the quickest way to kill all of the trash in between the story objectives. A single mid-level spell that targets a monster's weakness is normally enough to kill it and only takes MP. Though the biggest spells, skills, and combos also take one or more AC points. You have to hit something with a weak skill 3-4 times to recover a single AC point, so you can't just plow through a dungeon with your best skills or you'll run out of AC points quickly and you'll have none left of the boss fight. Forcing the use of weak and boring skills just to get some AC points to use more powerful and slightly less boring skills is not fun.

    Most other aspects of the game are good/average: Voice acting, world design, cinematics, sound/music, character models, character design.

    If you're a JRPG fan and are looking for the full JRPG package, I suggest looking elsewhere. I'm surprised this one has a higher user score than Enchanted Arms (which I consider to be a bad/below-average game). I'd much rather play that game than this one simply because it has an adequate story and interesting combat.
    Expand

See all 23 User Reviews