• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2012
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. 60
    Fair future potential, questionable playability and extremely short life span makes Wonderbook workable but a bit-too-expensive of a “reading“ experience. [Jan 2013]
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    60
    This is an above-average game for kids failing to prove it is able to use the technology potential behind it. Anyway, if you have children around the block fitting the age range, you cannot go wrong with Book of Spells.
  3. Dec 6, 2012
    60
    The technology is fantastic and presentation is impeccable – although the low-res EyeToy visuals really do show their age alongside the slick gloss of the game itself – but as a whole Book of Spells is not the charming experience it promised to be.
  4. Nov 23, 2012
    60
    It's a title recommended to children and a young adult obsessed with the Harry Potter universe, there is no problem with that, but it's not much to introduce a peripheral like this.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    60
    Whether you classify it as a game or not there's some very clever technology at work here, but it's hampered by boring mini-games and a meandering story.
  6. Nov 16, 2012
    59
    At first glance it is fascinating, but the longer you look you'll realize that augmented reality still is in its infancy. Wonderbook shows what potential lies in the fusion of camera, motion recognition and game. And in its best moments it creates something magical – but rather visually than in terms of gameplay.
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    50
    Sadly, torn between a character license it can't fully use and an experimental format of vague structure and uncertain purpose, Wonderbook's magic spell grows weaker over time, rather than building to a fantastical crescendo.
  8. Nov 30, 2012
    45
    You're left with a book that can't be read, a game that isn't really played, and a sense of disappointment that can't be waved away by all the wands in Ollivander's shop.
  9. Nov 16, 2012
    45
    Book of Spells is a decent proof of concept for the Wonderbook's augmented reality technology, but the rest of the experience fails to deliver anything memorable or worthwhile, quickly collapsing into an endless parade of gimmicks and dull, overly simplistic minigames.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    Wow people really are stupid. It's meant for kids, and as far as kids games go its great. I could get them some sucky shovelware that gives them about 5 minutes of fun and is a quick cash in or I could give them some quality content that was made with a child in mind. So as far as fun kid/family games go, this is awesome. Plus, it's Harry Potter, who the heck doesn't like Harry Potter? Seriously?

    Edit: Eggb. You're a troll. All it takes is a quite look at your profile. Fable the journey a 9?! Pffft. You don't own a playstation, you don't own Book of spells. Because if you did, you'd realise that this IS a harry potter game with Pottermore connectivity, based in hogwarts, set in the Harry potter universe. Fool.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    2
    @ Venusaur "Plus, it's Harry Potter, who the heck doesn't like Harry Potter? Seriously? "

    Have you even got this game ?, I bet you will not
    find any mention of Harry Potter as I think you will find that license is owned by EA.
    This game has no real direction and is a 5 minute "Wonder" as confirmed by most reviews
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    wow this is most worst game i seen in my life i saw my friend playing this game and i said wtf the no real thrill the no monster no killing no anything just making spells that it....

    what a waste of money
    Full Review »