• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2012
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    The technology works consistently well, assuming you’re sitting on the floor in a reasonably well-lit room. But just as importantly, Book of Spells has clearly been crafted with the Potter fan in mind, featuring incantations, settings and characters taken straight from the books.
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    70
    Not impressed by Wonderbook. I gave it to a group of 9-year-olds. It turned out that the lack of Harry Potter (the game was developed in cooperation with J.K. Rowling) was not an issue and they did not complain that they had to do practically same things over and over again. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.64]
  3. 60
    Fair future potential, questionable playability and extremely short life span makes Wonderbook workable but a bit-too-expensive of a “reading“ experience. [Jan 2013]
  4. Jan 12, 2013
    80
    Combines excellent tech with first-class production values to create a really splendid Christmas toy. [Issue#226, p.80]
  5. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    The great design and high level of creativity is to be commended and appreciated, the game provides an effectively immersive environment, and Harry Potter followers should really love the style and the chance to become a virtual wizard. The end feels anticlimactic, there's no multiplayer option, and there are a few small technical bugaboos but other than that, this is a really solid step in the right direction.
  6. Jan 7, 2013
    60
    This is an above-average game for kids failing to prove it is able to use the technology potential behind it. Anyway, if you have children around the block fitting the age range, you cannot go wrong with Book of Spells.
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    Wonderbook is one of the greatest Augmented Reality device of its generation. Creating immersion like you've never experienced before and using cleverly the PS Move, Book of Spells will entertain young players that love Harry Potter's adventures. However, quickly the gameplay shows its limits and appears to be too simple to amaze us more than an afternoon. But, we're still looking forward to the future Wonderbook title!
  8. Dec 6, 2012
    60
    The technology is fantastic and presentation is impeccable – although the low-res EyeToy visuals really do show their age alongside the slick gloss of the game itself – but as a whole Book of Spells is not the charming experience it promised to be.
  9. Dec 5, 2012
    70
    Technically one of the most successful AR games we have ever seen. It works perfectly, and seeing this book coming to life on the TV screen is a delight even for our adult eyes ... But of course it is dedicated to children (6 to 10 years)! They will be even more delighted when they take the magic wand in their hands and try to learn the most famous Harry Potter spells (the "adventure" is set in the same universe, thanks to a collaboration with JK Rowling). Too bad the game is so short, so repetitive and leaves us a little hungry once completed. When all the spells are learned we would like to put them into practice in an real adventure or a series of mini games, but no. A very good start for the Wonderbook anyway, full of promise. We are looking forward to get the next games using it.
  10. Even though my son is just three years old, as soon as the music started we had his attention. Or to be more exact: Wonderbook had his attention. Curious as he is, he joined the action and judged the game worthy of his attention. To see himself on the telly, how cool is that? [December 2012, p.74]
  11. Dec 3, 2012
    70
    Book of Spells is a children's game that retains the magical appeal that makes Harry Potter's world so intriguing, even for older players. The games are easy, true, but if you, as a grown-up, can read a young adult novel on a packed bus without shame, you can probably enjoy Book of Spells in the comfort of your own home.
  12. 80
    In the end I see Wonderbook: Book of Spells as being a a hit with the kids and it is a good start for the peripheral that makes it all come alive. Sure, there is certainly some room for improvement; however, the future is bright for future "books" that utilize this unique peripheral and I cannot wait to see what is next.
  13. Nov 30, 2012
    45
    You're left with a book that can't be read, a game that isn't really played, and a sense of disappointment that can't be waved away by all the wands in Ollivander's shop.
  14. If you can ignore the eyesore low-res video feedback of the PlayStation Eye, the book itself and the creative crap it spawns looks sharp, well animated, and it grows in complexity. Likewise the interactive stories and narration are top-notch stuff. [Christmas 2012, p.76]
  15. Nov 28, 2012
    80
    Book of Spells' biggest draw is the new Harry Potter content written by Rowling herself. Other than that, it is nothing more than a mini-game collection that benefits from being based on one of the world's most popular and beloved literary works.
  16. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    Absolutely delightful.
  17. Nov 26, 2012
    70
    It is fun to play around and experiment with spells; it gives Wonderbook: Book of Spells a charm only to be matched by the Harry Potter universe. It is a shame, however, that the exams you have to take lack creativity and become predictable in time. It degrades an atmosphere that is otherwise magical.
  18. Nov 25, 2012
    75
    Great for younger Potter fans, fully-grown Muggles may want to rent for JK's new stories. [Christmas 2012, p.88]
  19. Nov 23, 2012
    60
    It's a title recommended to children and a young adult obsessed with the Harry Potter universe, there is no problem with that, but it's not much to introduce a peripheral like this.
  20. Nov 20, 2012
    70
    Even with all of its problems, I genuinely love the technology. It feels like a strangely inventive step forward for Sony. And, if developers can get behind the tech, we might see a string of educational and entertainment titles hit the market soon. That'll just depend on the bugs getting worked out of the system.
  21. Nov 19, 2012
    100
    Wonderbook it's just marvelous, as fairy tales are when you listen to them with the curiosity of a child.
  22. 80
    One of those rare cases where a game manages to create a unique experience by adding a physical object to it, rather than something that just seems gimmicky.
  23. Nov 16, 2012
    45
    Book of Spells is a decent proof of concept for the Wonderbook's augmented reality technology, but the rest of the experience fails to deliver anything memorable or worthwhile, quickly collapsing into an endless parade of gimmicks and dull, overly simplistic minigames.
  24. Nov 16, 2012
    59
    At first glance it is fascinating, but the longer you look you'll realize that augmented reality still is in its infancy. Wonderbook shows what potential lies in the fusion of camera, motion recognition and game. And in its best moments it creates something magical – but rather visually than in terms of gameplay.
  25. Nov 15, 2012
    60
    Whether you classify it as a game or not there's some very clever technology at work here, but it's hampered by boring mini-games and a meandering story.
  26. Nov 15, 2012
    81
    If you have children, this is definitely a magical present for Christmas.
  27. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Wonderbook: Book of Spells is the first game for Sony's new Wonderbook system and therefore has to be good in order to sell the device. Fortunately, the game delivers in almost every way, aiming at young gamers and implementing augmented reality and the PlayStation Move superbly. Based on the Harry Potter universe (and co-produced by J.K. Rowling) this game will also give Potter fans a kick with its magical atmosphere.
  28. Nov 14, 2012
    85
    It's easy to understand and offers a different experience, something not very common these days. Technically surprising, it's hard to forget the fact that it's has been developed for kids, but if you're a Harry Potter fan, you should give it a try.
  29. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    There's a more nuanced approach to family inclusiveness here than in most games aimed at this age group, and - perhaps helped by the confidence in the power of words that bleeds through the whole Potter universe - a touching emphasis throughout on the importance of becoming wise.
  30. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Wonderbook is not just a good idea anymore: accompanied by the lovely Book of Spells, this strange peripheral comes to life to surprise all with its beautiful augmented reality. Maybe is not worth buying a PlayStation 3 only for this, but if you already have one a purchase is highly recommended, especially to anyone who wants to gift a very special "toy". We hope that future books for Wonderbook are just as good as this one.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    2
    @ Venusaur "Plus, it's Harry Potter, who the heck doesn't like Harry Potter? Seriously? "

    Have you even got this game ?, I bet you will not
    find any mention of Harry Potter as I think you will find that license is owned by EA.
    This game has no real direction and is a 5 minute "Wonder" as confirmed by most reviews
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    wow this is most worst game i seen in my life i saw my friend playing this game and i said wtf the no real thrill the no monster no killing no anything just making spells that it....

    what a waste of money
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    Bought wonderbook: book of spells for my younger siblings as a christmas present, and thats one of the first things they jumped into playing. I was surprised at how much they enjoyed it and even messed around with it a bit myself. While there are some things that need to be worked out, it wasn't a let down and harry potter fans can find themselves enjoying it and using many spells from the movies. To sum it up it is great for younger age groups. Full Review »