• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2012
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    81
    If you have children, this is definitely a magical present for Christmas.
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    59
    At first glance it is fascinating, but the longer you look you'll realize that augmented reality still is in its infancy. Wonderbook shows what potential lies in the fusion of camera, motion recognition and game. And in its best moments it creates something magical – but rather visually than in terms of gameplay.
  3. 80
    In the end I see Wonderbook: Book of Spells as being a a hit with the kids and it is a good start for the peripheral that makes it all come alive. Sure, there is certainly some room for improvement; however, the future is bright for future "books" that utilize this unique peripheral and I cannot wait to see what is next.
  4. Feb 6, 2013
    70
    Not impressed by Wonderbook. I gave it to a group of 9-year-olds. It turned out that the lack of Harry Potter (the game was developed in cooperation with J.K. Rowling) was not an issue and they did not complain that they had to do practically same things over and over again. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.64]
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    70
    Even with all of its problems, I genuinely love the technology. It feels like a strangely inventive step forward for Sony. And, if developers can get behind the tech, we might see a string of educational and entertainment titles hit the market soon. That'll just depend on the bugs getting worked out of the system.
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    80
    Book of Spells' biggest draw is the new Harry Potter content written by Rowling herself. Other than that, it is nothing more than a mini-game collection that benefits from being based on one of the world's most popular and beloved literary works.
  7. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    Wonderbook: Book of Spells is an impressive piece of technology, realizing the potential of augmented reality as a teaching tool and a means of wholesome family entertainment. Its appeal diminishes the older your children get, but Sony has convinced us that a world of possibilities lies ahead for Wonderbook.
  8. Nov 16, 2012
    45
    Book of Spells is a decent proof of concept for the Wonderbook's augmented reality technology, but the rest of the experience fails to deliver anything memorable or worthwhile, quickly collapsing into an endless parade of gimmicks and dull, overly simplistic minigames.
  9. Nov 13, 2012
    50
    Sadly, torn between a character license it can't fully use and an experimental format of vague structure and uncertain purpose, Wonderbook's magic spell grows weaker over time, rather than building to a fantastical crescendo.
  10. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Wonderbook is not just a good idea anymore: accompanied by the lovely Book of Spells, this strange peripheral comes to life to surprise all with its beautiful augmented reality. Maybe is not worth buying a PlayStation 3 only for this, but if you already have one a purchase is highly recommended, especially to anyone who wants to gift a very special "toy". We hope that future books for Wonderbook are just as good as this one.
  11. Nov 23, 2012
    60
    It's a title recommended to children and a young adult obsessed with the Harry Potter universe, there is no problem with that, but it's not much to introduce a peripheral like this.
  12. Nov 19, 2012
    100
    Wonderbook it's just marvelous, as fairy tales are when you listen to them with the curiosity of a child.
  13. Dec 5, 2012
    70
    Technically one of the most successful AR games we have ever seen. It works perfectly, and seeing this book coming to life on the TV screen is a delight even for our adult eyes ... But of course it is dedicated to children (6 to 10 years)! They will be even more delighted when they take the magic wand in their hands and try to learn the most famous Harry Potter spells (the "adventure" is set in the same universe, thanks to a collaboration with JK Rowling). Too bad the game is so short, so repetitive and leaves us a little hungry once completed. When all the spells are learned we would like to put them into practice in an real adventure or a series of mini games, but no. A very good start for the Wonderbook anyway, full of promise. We are looking forward to get the next games using it.
  14. Nov 14, 2012
    70
    Book of Spells can't be recommended to the average gamer. Its pace is too slow and its base is too simple and boring. But your little sister or son should find magic here, thanks to the amazingly well implemented augmented reality features. He or she might have to listen and watch more than play, but is placed in a pretty and accessible world and eventually becomes a real wizard of witch.
  15. 80
    One of those rare cases where a game manages to create a unique experience by adding a physical object to it, rather than something that just seems gimmicky.
  16. Nov 25, 2012
    75
    Great for younger Potter fans, fully-grown Muggles may want to rent for JK's new stories. [Christmas 2012, p.88]
  17. Jan 7, 2013
    60
    This is an above-average game for kids failing to prove it is able to use the technology potential behind it. Anyway, if you have children around the block fitting the age range, you cannot go wrong with Book of Spells.
  18. Nov 12, 2012
    80
    Wonderbook: Miranda Goshawk's Book of Spells is a great augmented reality adventure that deftly imagines the experience of spell-casting at Hogwarts.
  19. Nov 30, 2012
    45
    You're left with a book that can't be read, a game that isn't really played, and a sense of disappointment that can't be waved away by all the wands in Ollivander's shop.
  20. Nov 13, 2012
    62
    Sony went new ways with Wonderbook, but the debut-title The Book of Spells has some weak points. The story vom J. K. Rowing and the Harry Potter-air are great, but the detection doesn't work correctly the whole time, the game is too short and the gameplay is repetitive. I hope the next titles for Wonderbook will unleash the full potential of the new device, because The Book of Spells doesn't.
  21. Nov 12, 2012
    80
    Respect is due to Sony for figuring out how to turn Augmented Reality from an interesting tech-demo into something that makes commercial sense, and feels truly original.
  22. Dec 6, 2012
    60
    The technology is fantastic and presentation is impeccable – although the low-res EyeToy visuals really do show their age alongside the slick gloss of the game itself – but as a whole Book of Spells is not the charming experience it promised to be.
  23. Nov 26, 2012
    70
    It is fun to play around and experiment with spells; it gives Wonderbook: Book of Spells a charm only to be matched by the Harry Potter universe. It is a shame, however, that the exams you have to take lack creativity and become predictable in time. It degrades an atmosphere that is otherwise magical.
  24. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    Wonderbook is one of the greatest Augmented Reality device of its generation. Creating immersion like you've never experienced before and using cleverly the PS Move, Book of Spells will entertain young players that love Harry Potter's adventures. However, quickly the gameplay shows its limits and appears to be too simple to amaze us more than an afternoon. But, we're still looking forward to the future Wonderbook title!
  25. Dec 3, 2012
    70
    Book of Spells is a children's game that retains the magical appeal that makes Harry Potter's world so intriguing, even for older players. The games are easy, true, but if you, as a grown-up, can read a young adult novel on a packed bus without shame, you can probably enjoy Book of Spells in the comfort of your own home.
  26. 60
    Fair future potential, questionable playability and extremely short life span makes Wonderbook workable but a bit-too-expensive of a “reading“ experience. [Jan 2013]
  27. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Magic. That is what this Miranda Goshawk's 200 years old Book of Spell brings every time we turn a page of Wonderbook. The level of interaction between Move, the book and what we see on the screen is probably the highest Sony has achieved in the field of Augmented Reality. Maybe it's short, very easy on its level of difficulty and simple in its gameplay, but it's also a very captivating experience.
  28. Nov 15, 2012
    60
    Whether you classify it as a game or not there's some very clever technology at work here, but it's hampered by boring mini-games and a meandering story.
  29. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    Absolutely delightful.
  30. Even though my son is just three years old, as soon as the music started we had his attention. Or to be more exact: Wonderbook had his attention. Curious as he is, he joined the action and judged the game worthy of his attention. To see himself on the telly, how cool is that? [December 2012, p.74]
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    Wow people really are stupid. It's meant for kids, and as far as kids games go its great. I could get them some sucky shovelware that givesWow people really are stupid. It's meant for kids, and as far as kids games go its great. I could get them some sucky shovelware that gives them about 5 minutes of fun and is a quick cash in or I could give them some quality content that was made with a child in mind. So as far as fun kid/family games go, this is awesome. Plus, it's Harry Potter, who the heck doesn't like Harry Potter? Seriously?

    Edit: Eggb. You're a troll. All it takes is a quite look at your profile. Fable the journey a 9?! Pffft. You don't own a playstation, you don't own Book of spells. Because if you did, you'd realise that this IS a harry potter game with Pottermore connectivity, based in hogwarts, set in the Harry potter universe. Fool.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    2
    @ Venusaur "Plus, it's Harry Potter, who the heck doesn't like Harry Potter? Seriously? "

    Have you even got this game ?, I bet you will not
    @ Venusaur "Plus, it's Harry Potter, who the heck doesn't like Harry Potter? Seriously? "

    Have you even got this game ?, I bet you will not find any mention of Harry Potter as I think you will find that license is owned by EA.
    This game has no real direction and is a 5 minute "Wonder" as confirmed by most reviews
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    wow this is most worst game i seen in my life i saw my friend playing this game and i said wtf the no real thrill the no monster no killingwow this is most worst game i seen in my life i saw my friend playing this game and i said wtf the no real thrill the no monster no killing no anything just making spells that it....

    what a waste of money
    Full Review »