• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2012
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 9 out of 30

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 28, 2013
    7
    The reasons i rate this game with a seven are a few and quite simple. First this game gives you a very easy platinum and it costs only 20 E! it s a very small game but for a kid i think it s a very good way to spend those 5 or 8 hours of its game play. I mean 20 E for an enjoyable 5h long game with an easy platinum is not that bad even me that i don t like harry potter that much i enjoyedThe reasons i rate this game with a seven are a few and quite simple. First this game gives you a very easy platinum and it costs only 20 E! it s a very small game but for a kid i think it s a very good way to spend those 5 or 8 hours of its game play. I mean 20 E for an enjoyable 5h long game with an easy platinum is not that bad even me that i don t like harry potter that much i enjoyed this game. It also uses the ps move system in a very good way. The cons is it s small duration and the campaign which was quite easy and aimed for kids. The advantages are it s low price and the way that it uses the ps move Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2014
    6
    59/100: When I pre-ordered this game I expected not really that much of it. I thought the Wonderbook would be really innovative but the game itself wouldn't become that special. After I fully completed the game I knew my expectation were right. The game is short but fun to play on some lazy evening. The experience with the Wonderbook for the first time is fun but not a second playthrough59/100: When I pre-ordered this game I expected not really that much of it. I thought the Wonderbook would be really innovative but the game itself wouldn't become that special. After I fully completed the game I knew my expectation were right. The game is short but fun to play on some lazy evening. The experience with the Wonderbook for the first time is fun but not a second playthrough worthy. When I played it for the second time and rushed a little bit through the game, I got my platinum trophy in 2 hours. I think it's fun (especially for kids) but not for longer dan some little hours. Expand
  3. May 2, 2015
    7
    In the end I see Wonderbook: Book of Spells as being a a hit with the kids and it is a good start for the peripheral that makes it all come alive. Sure, there is certainly some room for improvement; however, the future is bright for future "books" that utilize this unique peripheral and I cannot wait to see what is next.
  4. May 17, 2015
    5
    The idea of the Wonderbook in combination with a Harry Potter stylish game was great. I was actually quite looking forward to this game just to experience this story with the innovative Wonderbook. It turned out to be not what I expected at all. A story that can be completed in 2-3 hours and only just repeating the same moves over and over again. The potential of this game was good, butThe idea of the Wonderbook in combination with a Harry Potter stylish game was great. I was actually quite looking forward to this game just to experience this story with the innovative Wonderbook. It turned out to be not what I expected at all. A story that can be completed in 2-3 hours and only just repeating the same moves over and over again. The potential of this game was good, but the workout was just as bad as most of the other PlayStation Move titles. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    The technology works consistently well, assuming you’re sitting on the floor in a reasonably well-lit room. But just as importantly, Book of Spells has clearly been crafted with the Potter fan in mind, featuring incantations, settings and characters taken straight from the books.
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    70
    Not impressed by Wonderbook. I gave it to a group of 9-year-olds. It turned out that the lack of Harry Potter (the game was developed in cooperation with J.K. Rowling) was not an issue and they did not complain that they had to do practically same things over and over again. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.64]
  3. 60
    Fair future potential, questionable playability and extremely short life span makes Wonderbook workable but a bit-too-expensive of a “reading“ experience. [Jan 2013]