• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Book of Spells is a single-player virtual reading/entertainment experience exclusive to the PlayStation 3 and the first title for Wonderbook.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    100
    Wonderbook it's just marvelous, as fairy tales are when you listen to them with the curiosity of a child.
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    81
    If you have children, this is definitely a magical present for Christmas.
  3. 80
    In the end I see Wonderbook: Book of Spells as being a a hit with the kids and it is a good start for the peripheral that makes it all come alive. Sure, there is certainly some room for improvement; however, the future is bright for future "books" that utilize this unique peripheral and I cannot wait to see what is next.
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    75
    Great for younger Potter fans, fully-grown Muggles may want to rent for JK's new stories. [Christmas 2012, p.88]
  5. Dec 3, 2012
    70
    Book of Spells is a children's game that retains the magical appeal that makes Harry Potter's world so intriguing, even for older players. The games are easy, true, but if you, as a grown-up, can read a young adult novel on a packed bus without shame, you can probably enjoy Book of Spells in the comfort of your own home.
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    70
    Book of Spells gives us the first opportunity to play with Sony's new Wonderbook. Although the game has its flaws it surely proves that the book works excellently as a controller. That's why we can't wait to see what other titles might be coming.
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    45
    Book of Spells is a decent proof of concept for the Wonderbook's augmented reality technology, but the rest of the experience fails to deliver anything memorable or worthwhile, quickly collapsing into an endless parade of gimmicks and dull, overly simplistic minigames.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Sep 15, 2014
    9
    A brilliant little story/game for any child (or child at heart) interested in the Harry Potter Universe. At the end of the day, it is a child's game for an easy and relaxed game using the move. My child was absolutely fascinated by the game and Wonderbook. Even I had a go and thought it was great.

    If you want action and adventure, this is probably not the game for you. However, if your looking for a top up on Harry Potter lore in a fun and interactive way? Then it's worth a buy!
    Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    Bought wonderbook: book of spells for my younger siblings as a christmas present, and thats one of the first things they jumped into playing. I was surprised at how much they enjoyed it and even messed around with it a bit myself. While there are some things that need to be worked out, it wasn't a let down and harry potter fans can find themselves enjoying it and using many spells from the movies. To sum it up it is great for younger age groups. Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    Wow people really are stupid. It's meant for kids, and as far as kids games go its great. I could get them some sucky shovelware that gives them about 5 minutes of fun and is a quick cash in or I could give them some quality content that was made with a child in mind. So as far as fun kid/family games go, this is awesome. Plus, it's Harry Potter, who the heck doesn't like Harry Potter? Seriously?

    Edit: Eggb. You're a troll. All it takes is a quite look at your profile. Fable the journey a 9?! Pffft. You don't own a playstation, you don't own Book of spells. Because if you did, you'd realise that this IS a harry potter game with Pottermore connectivity, based in hogwarts, set in the Harry potter universe. Fool.
    Collapse
  4. Jan 28, 2013
    7
    The reasons i rate this game with a seven are a few and quite simple. First this game gives you a very easy platinum and it costs only 20 E! it s a very small game but for a kid i think it s a very good way to spend those 5 or 8 hours of its game play. I mean 20 E for an enjoyable 5h long game with an easy platinum is not that bad even me that i don t like harry potter that much i enjoyed this game. It also uses the ps move system in a very good way. The cons is it s small duration and the campaign which was quite easy and aimed for kids. The advantages are it s low price and the way that it uses the ps move Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2014
    6
    59/100: When I pre-ordered this game I expected not really that much of it. I thought the Wonderbook would be really innovative but the game itself wouldn't become that special. After I fully completed the game I knew my expectation were right. The game is short but fun to play on some lazy evening. The experience with the Wonderbook for the first time is fun but not a second playthrough worthy. When I played it for the second time and rushed a little bit through the game, I got my platinum trophy in 2 hours. I think it's fun (especially for kids) but not for longer dan some little hours. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    2
    @ Venusaur "Plus, it's Harry Potter, who the heck doesn't like Harry Potter? Seriously? "

    Have you even got this game ?, I bet you will not
    find any mention of Harry Potter as I think you will find that license is owned by EA.
    This game has no real direction and is a 5 minute "Wonder" as confirmed by most reviews
    Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    wow this is most worst game i seen in my life i saw my friend playing this game and i said wtf the no real thrill the no monster no killing no anything just making spells that it....

    what a waste of money
    Expand