Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 9, 2011
    79
    A pretty decent rally game, but lacks finishing touches especially with graphics and audio. The driving model regarding feedback could be also more refined. [Dec 2011]
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    71
    WRC 2 isn't the best racing game, but it offers a satisfying rally experience.
  3. WRC 2 is a game that, if you were to it to someone, sounds like the perfect rally game. Once it's in your hands, though, you can't help but feel a bit glum. Whether it's a lack of time, money or skill, we're hopeful that Milestone comes back next year with a title to do the license proud. [Dec 2011, p76]
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    It's bloated, cumbersome and little has changed from last year, and in that way bears many parallels to the game itself. However, it's also earnest, uncompromising and serves its purpose well enough, and in that sense it is equally a fitting title.
  5. Oct 14, 2011
    70
    A decent rally game, and the only simulator, considering the arcade path the Colin McRae/DIRT series has taken. It makes the most of the official license, providing plenty of cars, tracks and competitions, a long and fun career mode, with a demanding, yet satisfying driving. However, its outdated visuals will disappoint many.
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    70
    With WRC 2, Milestone worked hard to offer a better quality in terms of graphics, physics and game modes. The lack of rhythm of the Road to WRC and few issues with the driving model are the bigger problems of this Italian rally experience.
  7. Oct 13, 2011
    70
    While WRC2 presents a good selection of cars and circuits for Rally fans, it's still a bit lacking in the technical and audiovisual side, and it presents a weird balance between simulator and arcade that doesn't make it any favour.
  8. Nov 13, 2011
    67
    Can't compete with today's big-budget racers, but manages to offer almost throwback arcade fun and velocity. [Dec 2011, p.107]
  9. Nov 18, 2011
    63
    Most of us will forget WRC 2 even exists in about a week's time. [Issue#211, p.92]
  10. Nov 14, 2011
    60
    It's a game capable enough to satisfy fans of the sport, but there is still much work ahead.
  11. By far the biggest blot on WRC's copybook is the lack of variety on display. [Dec 2011, p.114]
  12. Oct 27, 2011
    60
    Milestone is trying hard, but doesn't seem capable to deliver the rally game WRC fans are waiting for since the mid '00s.
  13. Oct 13, 2011
    60
    WRC 2 is a minor improvement on last year's game, but that isn't good enough. Other than the official WRC license all the game has going for it is a decent (but not brilliant) driving model. Everything else here feels dated and pales in comparison to numerous other games in the genre.
  14. Oct 19, 2011
    55
    Still flawed in many of the same ways as last year's version, WRC 2 is an inadequate follow-up. It's a minor improvement but it's left positively languishing by the likes of DiRT 3.
  15. Oct 14, 2011
    55
    Despite solid driving physics, WRC 2 fails to make significant improvements on last year's game, or keep up with its racing rivals.
  16. Oct 16, 2011
    50
    The official World Rally Championship game is looking tired on just its second outing, with very few improvements to the first game and far too many flaws.
User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Oct 14, 2011
    7
    I've I spent a number of hours online with this and I have had a good experience with it.
    Yes the graphics aren't any better than WRC 2010,
    I've I spent a number of hours online with this and I have had a good experience with it.
    Yes the graphics aren't any better than WRC 2010, and it seems like a majority of the stages are from last years game to, BUT there are new 2 lane cross-over Super Special Stages, and the handling's been given an overhaul.
    The cars in WRC 2010 felt like obese middle aged men wearing a steel suit of armour, the 2011 model is light and nimble. Also it seems like there's more collapsible fences to hurtle through and straight to the scene of an accident, instead of metal barriers to bounce off, so you're driving style has to evolve to this lack of safety net.
    It's strange, but I was disappointed by F1 2011 despite my love for the actual sport, but I really like WRC 2011 despite not following the real sport at all. Weird.

    Try it, you may be surprised.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    7
    I got this game for my birthday, it's fun and it's a real WRC simulation game. It's not the best racing game I've played, but I have funI got this game for my birthday, it's fun and it's a real WRC simulation game. It's not the best racing game I've played, but I have fun playing and I think that's most important with the games. I haven't played 2010 version, so I can't tell if it's just a refurbished game, but the graphics are ok (not GT5). From what I'm reading in most reviews, I think that they need to really renew the franchise for WRC3 like Dirt was. (most say that I didn't liked Dirt3) Full Review »
  3. Oct 16, 2011
    0
    Honestly saying. I'm really disappointed with this game. Most of the stages are the same as WRC 2010. Blackbean and Milestone are simplyHonestly saying. I'm really disappointed with this game. Most of the stages are the same as WRC 2010. Blackbean and Milestone are simply "recycling" the old title's contents. I can't believe it and regret buying this game.
    And brownish colored graphics looks very dark and dirty. Some car models are really awful, almost look like a toy. I think this game is not 2011 quality. I'd like to recommend you "Don't buy this game".
    Full Review »