Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    80
    WRC 4 is a bit more "pretty" and appealing than WRC 3. The new handling system is great, has been further refined, made even more exciting (finally, different surfaces returns different grip), with lots of fine tuning control on the steering wheel. That said, the new rally Milestone is not yet a true prodigy of beauty.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    75
    With his new engine, Milestone was capable to offer his best rally game; however it’s still not good enough to compete with the best racing games out there. WRC: FIA World Rally Championship 4 is a good game, with tons of licenses and contents but his stange mix of simulation and arcade game could be disappointing for hardcore gamers.
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    72
    WRC4 is a loyal to its predecessors, and some small improvements make it the ideal product for rally and motorsport fans. Even with its shortcomings, it is a racing title that will be thoroughly enjoyed by speed freaks.
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    70
    With this fourth attempt, studio Milestone is finally on the right path and manages to deliver a good rally game. WRC: FIA World Rally Championship 4 offers a decent experience, mostly thanks to the nice controls and career mode. Unfortunately it doesn’t look as good as it should nowadays and it feel pretty unpolished.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Dec 2, 2013
    65
    A worthy entry that cannot escape being pinned down by some crucial flaws. [Christmas 2013, p82]
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    65
    A very complete and relatively fun rally experience that lacks any kind of novelty.
  7. Jan 17, 2014
    60
    Signs of progress are invisible and generally speaking, WRC 4 is a secondary experience within a genre that does not have many alternatives, but they are certainly better than this.
  8. Nov 27, 2013
    60
    Every year the WRC franchise gets better. WRC 4: FIA's licenses are perfectly in order, the career mode is a lot of fun and the tracks are varied. On the other hand, the game lacks challenge, has an overabundance of loading times and disappoints audiovisually.
  9. Nov 19, 2013
    60
    Yet again Milestone was not able to deliver a solid, rallying experience. WRC 4 has some great moments, but they are not enough to save an otherwise dated racer.
  10. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 7, 2014
    50
    Offers a decent afternoon's leisure at best. [Jan 2014, p.94]
  11. Oct 28, 2013
    45
    WRC 4 looks a lot like those annualised soccer franchises. Very few evolutions, and nothing but new fills this 4th game of the series, which does not improve by aging. We feel that Milestone has given up, and has just done the bare minimum to keep the franchise alive and make payment for the WRC's rights. Made with no passion, this tasteless game will occupy the most dedicated fans for a few short moments before it's forgotten. Very poor gameplay and a lack of finish won't make many people happy about it. Too bad for the rallye game fans who will have to wait quite some time before they can find a worthy game. Until some new publisher get hold of the license?
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Better loading times, textures, phisycs and overall presentation.
    It already was the best rally franchise available (I said rally, not
    Better loading times, textures, phisycs and overall presentation.
    It already was the best rally franchise available (I said rally, not gimcana), but now it's REALLY GREAT.
    The gameplay, for me, is unparalleled even on the joystick, although a good wheel improves the experience tremendously.
    Good job, Milestone. That's the way.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 11, 2016
    8
    I recently decided that I had a rally itch that wasn't being scratched by the other games I was playing, so decided to pick up the officialI recently decided that I had a rally itch that wasn't being scratched by the other games I was playing, so decided to pick up the official WRC game to see how I would get on with it. Pro reviews don't give this game great scores, but don't really pick any serious flaws with it. My initial impressios were good - it looks and feels good, with a lot of variety. If I were to pick a fault, I would say the sense of speed is a bit lacking (I guess that comes from driving the Suzuki Escudo and F1 cars in other games!) Other things are more to do with the real-life challenge of the environments - for example, in the Swedish snow rally it can be hard to see where you're meant to be going.

    The game features all the cars from all the current categories, it's just a shame there aren't any cars from the 60s or 80s, just to add to the lasting appeal. It plays well enough in terms of realism. There are 4 or 5 different surface types (tarmac, icy/stony/sandy/wet/dry gravel, snow, cement, sometimes 3 different ones in a single stage). These all make a difference to the grip, and there is also variable weather and time of day on some tracks.

    There are 13 very varied locations to race on, for a total of around 100 km of unique courses (roughly the same as a current F1 game). If I'm honest, one of the main reasons I got the game was for the iconic Great Orme stage of the Welsh Rally. I was slightly dissappointed to find out that the course isn't modelled exactly on real life - rather, it has a few short sections from the real stage, and captures the feel of it very well, but then fills in all the gaps with generic forrest areas. I would imagine this is the same on all the other locations.

    Graphics are varied - they are usually very good, but people by the side of the track look a bit wooden in terms of details and animation. Sound is good - the co-driver calls out the directions well, although he can get a bit repetitive at times.

    I have a small number of other gripes. When you start a career and create a new driver, there are only 12 face images to choose from - this could easily have been doubled - indeed some other games (eg NBA) have an entire indentifit system where you can create your own face using an unlimited number of possibilities, such as skin tone, length of hair, etc, and even import real camera photos.

    Speaking of the career mode - I'm not really one for this (is anybody?) I have no interest in reading emails from a pretend manager, or in getting newspaper headlines for my performance., or getting sponsorship deals or anything else that happens off-track. I would be happy with a simpler approach, involving progression through the junior categories and the occasional change of team.

    Anyway, all in all, this is a pretty good game. As somebody who does not follow the actual WRC that closely, it would have been nice if they had taken some liberties with the event format, and maybe included a side-mode that allowed you to race wheel to wheel with other players and/or computer opponents. Otherwise, this game does what it says on the tin.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    4
    This game feels kinda like a rip-of after a few hours of play. Why? Well the driving is kinda of OK, there´s some driving aids in there thatThis game feels kinda like a rip-of after a few hours of play. Why? Well the driving is kinda of OK, there´s some driving aids in there that ccan be turned on and off and really have a big impact betwen a more arcade or simulation gameplay experience, and the graphics are not bad. BUT other than that, the rest of the game is a cheap experience. The sound effects are bad, the career mode is dull and boring, but the worst thing is, its suposed to be 13 Rally comptetions with 6 stages/courses each, wich should be 78 stages/courses total right? WRONG, in reallity its just like 20 or so original courses, the rest they just use the same stages on reverse or with some minor side road diference, even thou they use diferent names and try to pretend its an entirelly diferent new course. I mean how cheap is that??!!
    SO i think this game is only worth buying on some 10$ sale. More than that is just a rip off.
    Full Review »