Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 29, 2012
    84
    While WWE '13 does set a defining, high bar for the modern, single-player wrestling experience, it stumbles in some of its efforts to evolve its audio presentation, and doesn't address other lingering issues for the series.
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    Thankfully, WWE '13 allows fans to recreate virtually anything you see on Raw without resorting to an overly complex control scheme.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    85
    WWE' 13 is a good wrestling game and big improvement over WWE' 12 with the addition of the Attitude Era mode, OMG moments and some other features.
  4. Nov 1, 2012
    75
    The ability to customize characters, arenas, and just about everything else in the game is a testament to how well Yuke's and THQ know what wrestling fans want. It's just a shame that the game didn't have just a bit more polish. Non-fans like myself might want to put their money elsewhere, but wrestling fans will probably really enjoy what WWE '13 has to offer.
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    88
    WWE delivers a fresh set of upgrades, an impressive campaign mode, and doubles down on shareable customizations.
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    There are new and better game modes and, overall, more things to do and see, but WWE '13 stays essentially the same and doesn't dare to stray too much from the formula of the previous chapters. The actual fighting mechanics are still too dull and could have been improved with a little effort.
  7. Part of me wanted to give WWE 13 an even higher score. Namely, the 14-year-old part that would love to dust off his '98 King Of The Ring VHS and watch it on repeat until it disintegrated. Although my inner Attitude-loving teen doesn't quite win out, this is still the most authentically detailed, lovingly crafted grappler ever committed to disc.
  8. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Take those Legends of Wrestlemania or other attempts at wrestling nostalgia and throw them away because WWE 13 is all you need "and that's the bottom line cause Stone Cold said so."
  9. Oct 31, 2012
    55
    You'll notice this number is higher than that we gave WWE 12 (50%), even though we complain about a barely-evolved sequel here. Well, the power of nostalgia and the strength of the Attitude era combine nicely. Other than that? This is a pointless game.
  10. Oct 31, 2012
    60
    WWE'13 feels old, like a soon-to-be-retired wrestler with busted knees and overused vertebrae that would be hard to let go. Yes it's kind of old looking, but there's so much content there, and history, that it's hard to miss when you're a fan.
  11. Nov 26, 2012
    58
    It all feels somewhat rushed and cobbled together. [Christmas 2012, p.94]
  12. Jan 15, 2013
    75
    A tough game to judge as a newcomer. I can see all the potential in the game, but trying to work out the control system was more complex than my college physics class. It's worth checking out just for the fantastic presentation though.
  13. 90
    WWE '13 is the best game in the series of this generation of consoles. Past and present come together to create the ultimate package of the WWE Universe.
  14. But there's no denying that the highlight is the Attitude Era mode, and though it has its flaws, it's a dream come true for children of the '90s. ]Holiday 2012, p.83]
  15. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Like many of its big stars, the WWE series shows its age more with each passing year, but the latest model proves there are still a few cans of whoop-ass left in the tank.
  16. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    Nostalgists will have close to a dozen hours worth of matches and stories from one of the WWE's greatest eras to play through. It's been a long time since I've been able to earnestly recommend a wrestling game to just about any type of fan, but WWE '13 is most definitely worth such a recommendation.
  17. In some matches it almost feels like the AI is taking the piss, effortlessly stringing together combinations and reversals, when it is nowhere near as easy to do this yourself. There's a lot of assumed knowledge and familiarity with the franchise, which can be disconcerting to newcomers. Positioning is key for finishers and signature moves and can get frustrating when your opponent is whaling on you almost effortlessly. [December 2012, p77]
  18. Nov 10, 2012
    85
    Taking a trip down the memory lane with the Attitude Era mode is not what a revolution can really bring. However, WWE '13 is the most complete WWE title we've ever seen.
  19. Nov 14, 2012
    84
    If you played last year's WWE '12, there are probably enough tweaks to purchase this new version of WWE (13). However as a gamer, I would probably recommend this title to those WWE fans who have missed the last few years because it definitely makes this game more enjoyable if you have been out of the loop.
  20. Nov 6, 2012
    60
    THQ have held the WWE licence for a long time now, so to put out a game that feels so broken, with poor collision detection and a large number of bugs are something I'm struggling to accept.
  21. Nov 28, 2012
    80
    A polished version of last year's game with an excellent new mode based on the WWE-side of the classic Monday Night Wars. Sadly the gameplay is a bit too reversal heavy and the contact engine is still a bit iffy but otherwise a positive case of not fixing what isn't broke.
  22. WWE '13 has its moments. No other fighting game manages to set the tone so well, before even a single punch has been delivered. The ridiculously drawn-out intros, the fanatic crowd, the light show, the ear deafening music and of course the bloated egos. [November 2012, p.84]
  23. Nov 12, 2012
    75
    WWE 13 clearly rests on its laurels and does not propose enough innovations to make players dream. And yet, the content remains exhaustive, the gameplay is well-oiled and the new Attitude Era mode will propose interesting sequences for all wrestling fans. That's why, despite the lack of new features, WWE 13 remains one of the best wrestling simulation games to date.
  24. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    A well-made fighting game with enough content to keep the disc spinning in your PS3 for months to come. Lackluster AI and wooden animations, however, keep WWE '13 from getting more praise.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    WWE 13 raises the bar again. I love how they revinvented this series. Attitude Era is outstanding, it is a blast to see some of the best moments in the history of wrestling played out. Spectacular moments are great fun. I will be playing this for months. Well done! Full Review »
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    With all the changes that were made in WWE12 I was thinking.....ok.....just some tweaks this year then spit out another game.......boy was I wrong!

    Game looks great.....SOUNDS even better! AND I get to rock out with the Attitude Era! It's Stone Cold all the time baby! Bring it on!

    Great job THQ!
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    5
    WWE '13 is a step from WWE '12 by alot of things, it's a great game and isn't bad at all, BUT the game feels unfinished due to the MAJOR amount of glitches and bugs. Here is a list of bugs/glitches you may see during this game:
    1. Freezes during WWE Draft Matches
    2. Extremely long loading screens once every few weeks (Universe Weeks)
    3. Slow internet while trying to download and or look for Created Wrestlers
    4. Deletion of SOME data if you don't exit your game before ejecting the disc
    5. "Dead superstar" after a few moves
    6. The insanely annoying 1 count glitch (e.g. I hit Ryder with 3 finishers and put him through 2 tables and he kicked out at 1)
    7. Etc. That i can't remember.
    Full Review »