Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Relive the Attitude Era of WWE in an all-new story mode. The new WWE Live presentation system features an overhauled audio system and Spectacular Moments. WWE ’13 promises to be the boldest WWE simulation to date.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Take those Legends of Wrestlemania or other attempts at wrestling nostalgia and throw them away because WWE 13 is all you need "and that's the bottom line cause Stone Cold said so."
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    88
    WWE delivers a fresh set of upgrades, an impressive campaign mode, and doubles down on shareable customizations.
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    84
    If you played last year's WWE '12, there are probably enough tweaks to purchase this new version of WWE (13). However as a gamer, I would probably recommend this title to those WWE fans who have missed the last few years because it definitely makes this game more enjoyable if you have been out of the loop.
  4. Part of me wanted to give WWE 13 an even higher score. Namely, the 14-year-old part that would love to dust off his '98 King Of The Ring VHS and watch it on repeat until it disintegrated. Although my inner Attitude-loving teen doesn't quite win out, this is still the most authentically detailed, lovingly crafted grappler ever committed to disc.
  5. WWE '13 has its moments. No other fighting game manages to set the tone so well, before even a single punch has been delivered. The ridiculously drawn-out intros, the fanatic crowd, the light show, the ear deafening music and of course the bloated egos. [November 2012, p.84]
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    There are new and better game modes and, overall, more things to do and see, but WWE '13 stays essentially the same and doesn't dare to stray too much from the formula of the previous chapters. The actual fighting mechanics are still too dull and could have been improved with a little effort.
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    55
    You'll notice this number is higher than that we gave WWE 12 (50%), even though we complain about a barely-evolved sequel here. Well, the power of nostalgia and the strength of the Attitude era combine nicely. Other than that? This is a pointless game.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    A detailed tribute to the industry's greatest era is great, but it wouldn't add up to much if the action between the ropes wasn't up to par. Thankfully, WWE '13 allows fans to recreate virtually anything you see on Raw without resorting to an overly complex control scheme. Standard actions like strikes, grapples, and reverses can be pulled off with basic button presses, but more elaborate maneuvers require some setup. With a finisher stored, you can perform your finisher through a table, a superplex to the outside of the ring, or even a mid-air RKO or Sweet Chin Music if your foe makes an ill-timed leap. Multiplayer bouts are a blast, and several submission and iron man matches had me on the edge of my seat.

    For everything it does right, WWE
    Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    I love that they added Attitude Era. My last game of the series was 2010 and WWE 13 is far better than this one. I'm one of the players who started watching wrestling at around 2003, so I haven't seen the Attitude Era 'live'. The best thing is that this game tells the real story, how it happened it's like an epic flashback and not some random scripted story line. The amount of superstars is awesome, many many old and new ones. Controls are brilliant, reversals are not too easy and not too hard. I've got to give this a 10. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    WWE 13 raises the bar again. I love how they revinvented this series. Attitude Era is outstanding, it is a blast to see some of the best moments in the history of wrestling played out. Spectacular moments are great fun. I will be playing this for months. Well done! Collapse
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    This is better than No Mercy. 1. Good graphics 2.OMG Moments 3.Attitude Era Mode 4.HUGE roster Buy this game. I promise you will love it. This is undoubtably the greatest WWE/F game to date! Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    WWE '13 is a great wrestling game. I've been a WWF/WWE fan since the 80's and have always enjoyed wrestling games. The first thing regarding WWE '13 is I welcome the departure of the "Road to Wrestlemania" mode and the arrival of the "Attitude Era" mode complete with classic moments and objectives. The roster is probably one of the best rosters I've seen in any wrestling game (plus some pretty outstanding Community Creations superstars) and upcoming DLC packs.

    The Universe Mode is outstanding and having the ability to create shows, pay-per-views, and titles will keep anyone busy for quite some time. I think this is about as close to a General Manager mode this installment is going to get. Another welcome addition is the stat-tracking which is very informative letting the individual know how long a certain title has been held, how many times, rankings, etc... which is AWESOME!

    My only complaints are some of the character models not looking all that great (the majority of them looking pretty decent) and the boring "story" mode. I think there should be more freedom of choice involved in a wrestler's decision making for a more interesting branching storyline paths and to keep things fresh. Also, I think injuries should play a major role in WWE games simply for the fact that they do (unfortunately) happen from time to time. After a brutal match the wrestlers just kinda squirm and writhe around with a generic expression of pain on their faces, but no important after effects (like using a special move on an opponent multiple times should call for at least a stretcher down to the ring no?)

    Another complaint is wrestler celebrations. I'll make this short: some of the reactions (one of my favorite wrestlers, The Undertaker, comes immediately to mind) are not realistic at all. I don't think I've ever seen some of these wrestlers pump their fists in the air, smile, and jump around after a victory. Please make the necessary changes to this because it is abysmal and has been a problem for quite some time. Minor complaint: what is up the head of hair on these wrestlers?! just sayin.... and where is the "Manager Mode"?! I think it would be an interesting addition in a future installment (picture it: a mode that allows the player to guide the careers of Bobby "The Brain" Heenan's proteges) and other famous managers.

    The few complaints aside, WWE '13 is really good and is the type of game that's going to keep me busy for quite some time because there is just so many things to do. Going through the Attitude Era mode to obtain unlockables, creating wrestlers, titles, arenas, shows, pay-per-views, and adding decent Community Creation wrestlers to an already impressive roster. I can really tell that this entry into the series has been crafted with attention to detail and passion, but needs a few more tweaks in the next entry to really, really stand out. My hope? the ECW/WCW invasion gets some attention because much like the Attitude era it was a major happening for the WWE.
    Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    It's a good game.It brigs back nostalgia,good story mode,allot of wrestlers to play whit on universe story single player mode and multiplayer But it's not perfect there are allot of bugs and glitches,not that big graphic changes and universe story is almost entirely the same. Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    2
    WWE'13 is an ugly, buggy and clunky game that will no doubt appeal the fans of WWE and such related media, but for people who are not fans of WWE, it would either be fun, dumb fun and not good at all. I, unfortunately, belong to the latter. The graphics (in my opinion) are ugly and look a bit dated and the motion of some of the characters are quite awkward. The game is also buggy and filled with glitches, making the game a more laughable experiences than a fun one. To be honest, this is my first WWE game since a while; I remember playing one of the games years back but cannot remember it, so I cannot compare it to other instalments in the game franchise. As I brave getting attacked by WWE, it might as well say that WWE'13 is just awful and I hope the franchise makes a very large improvement over this disaster in the future. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews