Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: WWE 2K14 is and authentic and comprehensive WWE videogame experience and the first release in the flagship WWE videogame franchise for 2K Sports.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    87
    30 Years of Wrestlemania provides the strongest campaign backbone the series has had in a long time, the in-ring action is faster and more fluid than it's been in years, and thanks to WWE 2K14's continually expanding creation suite, we’re swimming in more options than we ever knew we wanted.
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    80
    With a fantastic roster and just greater polish overall, WWE 2K14 is a great addition into the WWE video game franchise and is a must own for any wrestling fan.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    With an incredible variety of things to see and do, WWE 2K14 provides dozens of hours of content that both wrestling veterans and newcomers alike will enjoy. It’s unfortunate that some of the series' previous niggles remain, but we’d like to think that these issues will be eradicated by the time that we get to grapple next year’s inevitable PlayStation 4 release.
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    76
    WWE 2K14 gets a lot right and its key drawbacks are at least a little bit overshadowed in the process. There is still a whole lot of room for gameplay improvement though, something one can hope will be addressed for the next release or even in part with some patching.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    75
    This game's a lot of fun, with the 30 Years of Wrestlemania mode as the indisputable highlight. However, the controls aren't very precise, the camera can get quite frustrating and the visuals won't win any awards nowadays. It's good, but it could (and should) have been a lot better.
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    74
    Overall, the best way to play WWE 2K14 is the 30 Years of WrestleMania single-player mode on a moderate to low difficulty. This way, the opponent won’t counter you much, and you can lose yourself in the classic WWE footage and storylines.
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    30
    A poorly animated, unbalanced game that I didn’t enjoy at all. Although it does offer a lot of different punches, kicks and throws, its gameplay resembles a long, boring QTE. [13/2013, p.74]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    I'm a massive wrestling fan and I have been ever since I can remember so from a wrestling fans point of view, this game is everything youI'm a massive wrestling fan and I have been ever since I can remember so from a wrestling fans point of view, this game is everything you could possibly want! The roster is massive and it has something for everyone, from the likes of Hogan and Andre to Austin and The Rock, right up to guys like CM Punk and Daniel Bryan.The game itself is very similar to WWE'13, the people about this game clearly can't comprehend the fact that this is still a THQ game with the 2K logo plastered all over it, you cannot expect to see 2Ks input until next years title at the very least. However, the game modes such as WWE Universe and 30 Years of WrestleMania make this game very entertaining, with a lot of archive footage being used to tell the stories of each match. As for the creative side of things, I'd say this years game is the best ever, there have been numerous improvements to the CAW mode, players allowed to now use in-game wrestlers like Jericho and Punk as a template, Create-A-Finisher and Create-an-Arena are still as strong as they were in the previous titles so there's a lot to offer for those people that are into the creative side of things.

    Overall I'd say this game is great! I'd recommend it to anyone who is a hardcore wrestling fan or even someone who is just a casual fan, it's very entertaining and worth the £35 price tag.
    Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    I'm a massive wrestling fan and I have been ever since I can remember so from a wrestling fans point of view, this game is everything youI'm a massive wrestling fan and I have been ever since I can remember so from a wrestling fans point of view, this game is everything you could possibly want! The roster is massive and it has something for everyone, from the likes of Hogan and Andre to Austin and The Rock, right up to guys like CM Punk and Daniel Bryan.The game itself is very similar to WWE'13, the people about this game clearly can't comprehend the fact that this is still a THQ game with the 2K logo plastered all over it, you cannot expect to see 2Ks input until next years title at the very least. However, the game modes such as WWE Universe and 30 Years of WrestleMania make this game very entertaining, with a lot of archive footage being used to tell the stories of each match. As for the creative side of things, I'd say this years game is the best ever, there have been numerous improvements to the CAW mode, players allowed to now use in-game wrestlers like Jericho and Punk as a template, Create-A-Finisher and Create-an-Arena are still as strong as they were in the previous titles so there's a lot to offer for those people that are into the creative side of things.

    I hope to see what are 2k going to do at wwe 2k15
    Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2015
    9
    In my opinion, WWE's best effort in the video game genre is defiantly this game, the roster ranges with over 100 wrestlers, a great story modeIn my opinion, WWE's best effort in the video game genre is defiantly this game, the roster ranges with over 100 wrestlers, a great story mode and nice graphics. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    Not the best wrestling game I've played, but, the improved mechanics and the 30 years of wrestlemania mode makes up for the negatives. Don'tNot the best wrestling game I've played, but, the improved mechanics and the 30 years of wrestlemania mode makes up for the negatives. Don't buy unless you're a diehard wrestling fan. Graphics could have been better, lets see what 2k has in store for us next year. Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    This game is rather similar to WWE 13 in game mechanics. You get the best roster, to date, tweaks to every mode from last year and theThis game is rather similar to WWE 13 in game mechanics. You get the best roster, to date, tweaks to every mode from last year and the awesome, new 30 years of Wrestlemania mode that is a beefed up version of Attitude Era from 13.

    The "good": Legend roster that is incredible (Some glaring omissions like Piper, aside). More moves. 30 years mode is a blast. NWO!!! Better Universe mode (rivalries easier to set up). Tweaked gameplay to make striking and reversals better. Hard mode is MUCH harder than WWE 13 hard mode. Tons of unlockables. Same online components. Fink!!

    The "bad": same stupid issues not fixed like: Game may have moveset for a legend CAW but leave out entrance animations and vice versa (STUPID!)! Piper is in videos and is a special ref but not a character even though you can half-ass create him (although they don't add his name for announcers). There really are no new features or modes worth mentioning outside of 30 Years of WM. The AI still stinks, at times, as they still shuffle around awkwardly. Audio commentary continues to be awful with JR, Lawler and Cole repetitive, wrong and awful at times. Can't edit existing roster outfits (or I haven't figured it out) so Daniel Bryan can have his Yes! Entrance but wears the No jacket. Also, no create a PPV mode.

    Overall, it is worth a look if you are an old school fan. Roster is great, AI tweaks make matches more enjoyable so far. But, lots of core problems still need addressed.
    Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2014
    7
    this is 2ks first wwe game.for there first game they have done a good job.the 30 years of wrestle mania mode was a good story mode in thisthis is 2ks first wwe game.for there first game they have done a good job.the 30 years of wrestle mania mode was a good story mode in this years game.the graphics are no different to wwe 13 but next year should look stunning on next gen consoles.there is a lot of hacking but if you find a decent game it will be fun.creating superstars or divas has loads of options for customization and is always fun to make a silly person.this games not a must buy but a very good one to pick up. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    3
    Same **** different game. 've long been a fan of the WWE games, I've owned every single WWE game dating back to 1997 but in recent yearsSame **** different game. 've long been a fan of the WWE games, I've owned every single WWE game dating back to 1997 but in recent years product has declined and I have ultimately stopped buying these games. Hoping to regain the love I once had for WWE and these games I rented this title and was again disappointed by a beautifully animated but clunky and downright unenjoyable game with the same gameplay but in a different game. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews