Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: WWE 2K14 is and authentic and comprehensive WWE videogame experience and the first release in the flagship WWE videogame franchise for 2K Sports.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    87
    30 Years of Wrestlemania provides the strongest campaign backbone the series has had in a long time, the in-ring action is faster and more fluid than it's been in years, and thanks to WWE 2K14's continually expanding creation suite, we’re swimming in more options than we ever knew we wanted.
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    80
    With a fantastic roster and just greater polish overall, WWE 2K14 is a great addition into the WWE video game franchise and is a must own for any wrestling fan.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    With an incredible variety of things to see and do, WWE 2K14 provides dozens of hours of content that both wrestling veterans and newcomers alike will enjoy. It’s unfortunate that some of the series' previous niggles remain, but we’d like to think that these issues will be eradicated by the time that we get to grapple next year’s inevitable PlayStation 4 release.
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    76
    WWE 2K14 gets a lot right and its key drawbacks are at least a little bit overshadowed in the process. There is still a whole lot of room for gameplay improvement though, something one can hope will be addressed for the next release or even in part with some patching.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    75
    This game's a lot of fun, with the 30 Years of Wrestlemania mode as the indisputable highlight. However, the controls aren't very precise, the camera can get quite frustrating and the visuals won't win any awards nowadays. It's good, but it could (and should) have been a lot better.
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    74
    Overall, the best way to play WWE 2K14 is the 30 Years of WrestleMania single-player mode on a moderate to low difficulty. This way, the opponent won’t counter you much, and you can lose yourself in the classic WWE footage and storylines.
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    30
    A poorly animated, unbalanced game that I didn’t enjoy at all. Although it does offer a lot of different punches, kicks and throws, its gameplay resembles a long, boring QTE. [13/2013, p.74]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    I'm a massive wrestling fan and I have been ever since I can remember so from a wrestling fans point of view, this game is everything you could possibly want! The roster is massive and it has something for everyone, from the likes of Hogan and Andre to Austin and The Rock, right up to guys like CM Punk and Daniel Bryan.The game itself is very similar to WWE'13, the people about this game clearly can't comprehend the fact that this is still a THQ game with the 2K logo plastered all over it, you cannot expect to see 2Ks input until next years title at the very least. However, the game modes such as WWE Universe and 30 Years of WrestleMania make this game very entertaining, with a lot of archive footage being used to tell the stories of each match. As for the creative side of things, I'd say this years game is the best ever, there have been numerous improvements to the CAW mode, players allowed to now use in-game wrestlers like Jericho and Punk as a template, Create-A-Finisher and Create-an-Arena are still as strong as they were in the previous titles so there's a lot to offer for those people that are into the creative side of things.

    Overall I'd say this game is great! I'd recommend it to anyone who is a hardcore wrestling fan or even someone who is just a casual fan, it's very entertaining and worth the £35 price tag.
    Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    This game is overall is very good. Being a young WWE fan (I've only been a fan since 2010), the "30 Years of WrestleMania" mode is a very great historical part of the game, if you're a new fan, or just need a refresher, like I said, it's a very great historical part of the game. Now aside from that, the creative suite I think is fantastic! The only thing I wish the game had is the custom entrance videos from '12 and '13. But other than that, the creative suite is my favorite part. The graphics are terrific, the commentary could use some more work, the gameplay itself is smoother than past games, and the overall game experience is just great fun! 2K Games did a very good job and I can't wait to see what's going to come in WWE 2K15! Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    The game is good, addicting and generally a lot of fun to play. A lot of improvements has been made since the last game even though this game has a few glitches it is still a good game with the wrestlemania mode which was good and Universe mode which I spend most my time doing after I completed 30 years of wrestlemania the roster is good however they're missing some crucial wrestlers that should of been added in but it is still a great game. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Graphic: A graphical improvement from WWE13 some wrestlers look more realistic while others look like clay figures. Still an advancement in the engine, and everything else looks believable. 9.

    Sound: Similar to WWE13's attitude era, the 30 years of Wrestlemania mode has voices clips used from the show. They sync in just fine and it makes the game feel more like a WWE game. The soundtrack is once again entrance music, and some of the music cuts, but finally this game allows for custom soundtracks on the PS3. 8.5.

    Gameplay: The gameplay mechanics from WWE13 return and are definitely improved. The pinning is improved and simpler. The in game WWE history events are much more interesting, and the wrestling moves are as realistic as the show. The reversing still annoys me because sometimes the timing says I'm off but I know I hit it on time, online it doesn't help when there's lag. The game still needs dedicated servers, but other than that this truly is a superb wrestling game. 9.

    Story: 30 years of Wrestlemania, and new modes such as defeat/defend the streak. This game is an improvement from last years Attitude Era. Although more Wrestling footage would have been appreciated especially at the last few matches. Every match in my opinion should show a hype up trailer of real footage, such as the rivalry between the wrestlers. 8.

    Replay Value: While the Wrestlmania mode is short, the game has a lot of replay value for a local party game. Also, multiplayer never gets old, I would recommend this game to any wrestling fan. Definitely one of the best rosters in any wrestling game to date. 10.

    Overall Score: 8.9 out of 10.
    Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    This game is rather similar to WWE 13 in game mechanics. You get the best roster, to date, tweaks to every mode from last year and the awesome, new 30 years of Wrestlemania mode that is a beefed up version of Attitude Era from 13.

    The "good": Legend roster that is incredible (Some glaring omissions like Piper, aside). More moves. 30 years mode is a blast. NWO!!! Better Universe mode (rivalries easier to set up). Tweaked gameplay to make striking and reversals better. Hard mode is MUCH harder than WWE 13 hard mode. Tons of unlockables. Same online components. Fink!!

    The "bad": same stupid issues not fixed like: Game may have moveset for a legend CAW but leave out entrance animations and vice versa (STUPID!)! Piper is in videos and is a special ref but not a character even though you can half-ass create him (although they don't add his name for announcers). There really are no new features or modes worth mentioning outside of 30 Years of WM. The AI still stinks, at times, as they still shuffle around awkwardly. Audio commentary continues to be awful with JR, Lawler and Cole repetitive, wrong and awful at times. Can't edit existing roster outfits (or I haven't figured it out) so Daniel Bryan can have his Yes! Entrance but wears the No jacket. Also, no create a PPV mode.

    Overall, it is worth a look if you are an old school fan. Roster is great, AI tweaks make matches more enjoyable so far. But, lots of core problems still need addressed.
    Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2013
    6
    People were promised a patch for WWE 13 and they got it in the form of WWE2k14. They fixed some of the problems but created a couple of more bugs like in create an arena when you make your own arena on ppv the action that spills out side the ring went blurry. Universe is basically untouched except for rivalries which make no sense since at times heel will vs heel and tag partner will face their own tag partner in a 9 week rivalry. SO you will definitely have to do your own booking. I really wish we had the power to select our own cut scenes maybe next year then again I am getting tired of maybe next year. In other sports titles you have the power of control the same thing should happen here too especially in universe. People are expecting a patch for this game. Please do not hold your breath it is not going to happen while the 30 years of mania are nice this is another example of a $30 game being charged as a $60. If companies keep this type of thing up we will have another game crash and it will be games like this that will cause it. If you are a wrestling fan you will enjoy this like I have but it really just is not worth the price of admission for ring side where you would get more bang for your buck in the cheap seats Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    3
    Same **** different game. 've long been a fan of the WWE games, I've owned every single WWE game dating back to 1997 but in recent years product has declined and I have ultimately stopped buying these games. Hoping to regain the love I once had for WWE and these games I rented this title and was again disappointed by a beautifully animated but clunky and downright unenjoyable game with the same gameplay but in a different game. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews