WWE 2K14 PlayStation 3

WWE 2K14 Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: WWE 2K14 is and authentic and comprehensive WWE videogame experience and the first release in the flagship WWE videogame franchise for 2K Sports.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    87
    30 Years of Wrestlemania provides the strongest campaign backbone the series has had in a long time, the in-ring action is faster and more fluid than it's been in years, and thanks to WWE 2K14's continually expanding creation suite, we’re swimming in more options than we ever knew we wanted.
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    80
    With a fantastic roster and just greater polish overall, WWE 2K14 is a great addition into the WWE video game franchise and is a must own for any wrestling fan.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    With an incredible variety of things to see and do, WWE 2K14 provides dozens of hours of content that both wrestling veterans and newcomers alike will enjoy. It’s unfortunate that some of the series' previous niggles remain, but we’d like to think that these issues will be eradicated by the time that we get to grapple next year’s inevitable PlayStation 4 release.
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    76
    WWE 2K14 gets a lot right and its key drawbacks are at least a little bit overshadowed in the process. There is still a whole lot of room for gameplay improvement though, something one can hope will be addressed for the next release or even in part with some patching.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    75
    This game's a lot of fun, with the 30 Years of Wrestlemania mode as the indisputable highlight. However, the controls aren't very precise, the camera can get quite frustrating and the visuals won't win any awards nowadays. It's good, but it could (and should) have been a lot better.
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    74
    Overall, the best way to play WWE 2K14 is the 30 Years of WrestleMania single-player mode on a moderate to low difficulty. This way, the opponent won’t counter you much, and you can lose yourself in the classic WWE footage and storylines.
  7. CD-Action
    Dec 13, 2013
    30
    A poorly animated, unbalanced game that I didn’t enjoy at all. Although it does offer a lot of different punches, kicks and throws, its gameplay resembles a long, boring QTE. [13/2013, p.74]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    I'm a massive wrestling fan and I have been ever since I can remember so from a wrestling fans point of view, this game is everything youI'm a massive wrestling fan and I have been ever since I can remember so from a wrestling fans point of view, this game is everything you could possibly want! The roster is massive and it has something for everyone, from the likes of Hogan and Andre to Austin and The Rock, right up to guys like CM Punk and Daniel Bryan.The game itself is very similar to WWE'13, the people about this game clearly can't comprehend the fact that this is still a THQ game with the 2K logo plastered all over it, you cannot expect to see 2Ks input until next years title at the very least. However, the game modes such as WWE Universe and 30 Years of WrestleMania make this game very entertaining, with a lot of archive footage being used to tell the stories of each match. As for the creative side of things, I'd say this years game is the best ever, there have been numerous improvements to the CAW mode, players allowed to now use in-game wrestlers like Jericho and Punk as a template, Create-A-Finisher and Create-an-Arena are still as strong as they were in the previous titles so there's a lot to offer for those people that are into the creative side of things.

    Overall I'd say this game is great! I'd recommend it to anyone who is a hardcore wrestling fan or even someone who is just a casual fan, it's very entertaining and worth the £35 price tag.
    Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    I'm a massive wrestling fan and I have been ever since I can remember so from a wrestling fans point of view, this game is everything youI'm a massive wrestling fan and I have been ever since I can remember so from a wrestling fans point of view, this game is everything you could possibly want! The roster is massive and it has something for everyone, from the likes of Hogan and Andre to Austin and The Rock, right up to guys like CM Punk and Daniel Bryan.The game itself is very similar to WWE'13, the people about this game clearly can't comprehend the fact that this is still a THQ game with the 2K logo plastered all over it, you cannot expect to see 2Ks input until next years title at the very least. However, the game modes such as WWE Universe and 30 Years of WrestleMania make this game very entertaining, with a lot of archive footage being used to tell the stories of each match. As for the creative side of things, I'd say this years game is the best ever, there have been numerous improvements to the CAW mode, players allowed to now use in-game wrestlers like Jericho and Punk as a template, Create-A-Finisher and Create-an-Arena are still as strong as they were in the previous titles so there's a lot to offer for those people that are into the creative side of things.

    I hope to see what are 2k going to do at wwe 2k15
    Expand
  3. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    Out of all the WWE games, this one is the best so far. There's a superstar templete on CAW. Though, the only thing I dislike about it is thatOut of all the WWE games, this one is the best so far. There's a superstar templete on CAW. Though, the only thing I dislike about it is that they don't have the custom entrance video anymore. But it's a good game. So, yeah. This game is actually awesome. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Graphic: A graphical improvement from WWE13 some wrestlers look more realistic while others look like clay figures. Still an advancement inGraphic: A graphical improvement from WWE13 some wrestlers look more realistic while others look like clay figures. Still an advancement in the engine, and everything else looks believable. 9.

    Sound: Similar to WWE13's attitude era, the 30 years of Wrestlemania mode has voices clips used from the show. They sync in just fine and it makes the game feel more like a WWE game. The soundtrack is once again entrance music, and some of the music cuts, but finally this game allows for custom soundtracks on the PS3. 8.5.

    Gameplay: The gameplay mechanics from WWE13 return and are definitely improved. The pinning is improved and simpler. The in game WWE history events are much more interesting, and the wrestling moves are as realistic as the show. The reversing still annoys me because sometimes the timing says I'm off but I know I hit it on time, online it doesn't help when there's lag. The game still needs dedicated servers, but other than that this truly is a superb wrestling game. 9.

    Story: 30 years of Wrestlemania, and new modes such as defeat/defend the streak. This game is an improvement from last years Attitude Era. Although more Wrestling footage would have been appreciated especially at the last few matches. Every match in my opinion should show a hype up trailer of real footage, such as the rivalry between the wrestlers. 8.

    Replay Value: While the Wrestlmania mode is short, the game has a lot of replay value for a local party game. Also, multiplayer never gets old, I would recommend this game to any wrestling fan. Definitely one of the best rosters in any wrestling game to date. 10.

    Overall Score: 8.9 out of 10.
    Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2016
    7
    I bought this game nearly a year ago having not bought a single WWE wrestling game since Smackdown vs Raw 2008. I don't know why but I decidedI bought this game nearly a year ago having not bought a single WWE wrestling game since Smackdown vs Raw 2008. I don't know why but I decided to get back into it at the time.

    Graphics wise the game hardly improved, which was pathetic given the 6 year gap between them. Made me assume that there was a lot of rinse and repeat in this department between these years but I could easily be wrong. The gameplay wasn't all that impressive either, hardly any improvement since 2008 with the reverse button at times being awkward and I'm unsure whether the pin minigame was in previous titles but to me it didn't make sense to time it as much as mash it. You could get pinned, even if the zone is very big and easy to time the kick out within, after a single soft attack. One knock down which is soft and hypothetically you can get pinned because you can't time the kick-out, rather than mashing it? What the hell was this about? Just thought it didn't make sense in the slightest.

    What I will say though is that I thoroughly enjoyed 30 Years Of WrestleMania which summed WrestleMania in the past 3 decades well, without the matches being too time-consuming nor short. The information on the loading screen prior to the match, as well as the varied graphic representation within them - to represent each of these eras - really helped me grasp the context and importance of each of these pivotal matches in the history of the industry. I'm certainly not someone who experienced the Attitude Era - which must have been awesome and probably the best era - as I was far too young at the time.

    Multiplayer was good as always, online multiplayer was good and bad due to the poor connection within the servers.

    Defeat The Streak and Defend The Streak with Undertaker was also pretty fun too, albeit linear and formulaic but it got the job done regarding the reputation of The Phenom himself and it felt like a tribute for what the guy has done for the WWE/WWF.

    On the flip-side, WWE Universe had potential and in the end it was shambolic and almost pointless.

    All in all, not the best WWE game. I did hope for more of an improvement than this but there were highlights in this game which masked these problems partially at most.
    Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2014
    7
    Yes, it might as well be called "Super WWE '13". We all knew that, thanks to THQ tanking, the game would have nearly no improvement at all.Yes, it might as well be called "Super WWE '13". We all knew that, thanks to THQ tanking, the game would have nearly no improvement at all. Maybe it's because I really don't care, but I don't see how the Wrestlemania story mode is any different from the Attitude Era mode from the last game.
    I guess between THQ kicking the bucket and relieving moments from Wrestlemania, no one's really complaining. Otherwise, in a perfect society, this game would get the same treatment MW3 got. Then again, WWE 2K14 wasn't nearly a rehash as that game and it's still as fun to play as WWE '13.
    Whatever, here's hoping WWE 2K15 will finally be the game we've been waiting for...
    Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2015
    0
    Wow what an amazing game I especially love the defeat the streak mode where undertaker no sells 3 finishers.Also the 30 years of wrestlemainaWow what an amazing game I especially love the defeat the streak mode where undertaker no sells 3 finishers.Also the 30 years of wrestlemaina mode was terrible. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews