Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: WWE All Stars will deliver one of the greatest rosters ever assembled in a wrestling-centric videogame. Renowned WWE Legends will align with today's most prominent Superstars, inviting players to generate fantasy matches and ultimately determine the greatest competitors of all time. InWWE All Stars will deliver one of the greatest rosters ever assembled in a wrestling-centric videogame. Renowned WWE Legends will align with today's most prominent Superstars, inviting players to generate fantasy matches and ultimately determine the greatest competitors of all time. In addition, each Legend and Superstar will boast a distinctive and highly stylized appearance, adding to the overall atmosphere and intrepid attitude exuding from the on-screen action. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    90
    By far the best wrestling game I've played in the past few years. The lack of depth in match types and singleplayer mode is unfortunate, but the game is seriously fun and a joy to play. Add in the nostalgia factor with the old school wrestlers, and this game is a must for all WWE fans.
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    85
    We could happily recommend this game to those who have been away from the THQ wrestling series for a few releases now or to those that loved the classic WWE franchise. With great gaming mechanics and controls that range from newbie to gaming veteran plus some exceptional graphics, WWE All Stars has some great replay value with some awesome fun to be had online as you make your way up the leaderboards.
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    80
    WWE All Stars is an arcade-y alternative to other wrestling games like Smackdown vs. RAW. The game is most fun when played together with other players.
  4. Apr 4, 2011
    75
    Overall, I think WWE All Stars is definitely worth checking out, but I'd highly suggest avoiding the PS3 version until they get this whole data cache thing worked out.
  5. Apr 18, 2011
    73
    WWE All Stars is a complete over the top spin-off of the usual WWE Smackdown vs. Raw games. You can play with current legends and also with old legends in the singleplayer and exhibition mode. The gameplay is pretty easy and really fun, a cool title.
  6. Apr 2, 2011
    70
    WWE All Stars fills a niche as a few evenings worth of entertainment. It is sort of like a Super Smash Bros. for those who know their Rick Martel's from their Mike 'The Miz' Mizanin's. It is a simple, fun brawler that is best enjoyed with a room full of lifelong wrestling fans. Whether it is worth forty pounds of your money, however, is completely down to how often you find yourself in that situation.
  7. Apr 7, 2011
    50
    An original attempt in the world of WWE, but not as good as the usual Smackdown Vs. Raw.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    I fell in love with this game when I saw the first trailer of it. It is a really fun game. And it's a HUGE change from the main series. It hasI fell in love with this game when I saw the first trailer of it. It is a really fun game. And it's a HUGE change from the main series. It has TONS of replay value that the main games lack. I recommend buying this game ASAP. You will not regret it! Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    I really like this game, because of the combo system, chain grapple. It is simple enough for my sister to play, and hard when playing againstI really like this game, because of the combo system, chain grapple. It is simple enough for my sister to play, and hard when playing against players that knows how to play. I thought that THQ was going to make another one this, adding new WWE Superstars and Legends. Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    This a great game, but has two problems: 1.) It's more of a fighting-wrestling game hybrid and thus many Smackdown vs. Raw fans will beThis a great game, but has two problems: 1.) It's more of a fighting-wrestling game hybrid and thus many Smackdown vs. Raw fans will be confused that this game actually requires skill to play and not just button mashing and 2.) Because this game is a hybrid game, many fans of wrestling "simulation" games will complain that it doesn't have 100 different complex modes of being bored. What this game does have is over-the-top nostalgic fun that is fast and furious and certainly not plodding like other wrestling games. Once you get a hang of the gameplay, since it does have a little bit of a learning curve, you will have the time of your life. If you are intent on trying to make this game into a "simulation" game then you will ultimately be disappointed, since it is not, but if you compare this game to such games as Street Fighter IV, then you will be satisfied by the combo and reversal system, and dig the pure fun involved in just playing a simple match. This game is meant to be played competitively, which means that they have fine tuned the gameplay so that it is fun just to play a normal 1v1 match over and over again. Anyway, give the demo a shot if you are unsure, or check out gameplay videos. Those two things sold me on this game, not reviews. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2011
    7
    WWE All Stars has the biggest potential of any game franchise I have played in a long time. The premiseis an austentatious one. Take theWWE All Stars has the biggest potential of any game franchise I have played in a long time. The premiseis an austentatious one. Take the biggest names of wrestling passed and present, put them in an over-the-top shlauberknockle and have a great time.

    That is really what this is meant to be a sit around with your friends, grab a controller and have a hilarious time. In that respect WWE All Stars is bang on.

    Where the game fails is in its depth, especially when compared to its sister game Smackdown vs. Raw 2011. In a game like Smackdown, players can pursue a nearly unlimited number of tactics to confuse and defeat opponents. Whether it be a strong ground game, or sophisticated grapple style both can win making it fun and original each time you play.

    WWE All Stars falls short in that there is no real ground game to speak of, only rarely does an opponent stay on the mat long enough to get a shot in, its even difficult to use some of the spectacular aerial moves that the game does so well. In short more depth and balance would have made this game a dream to play.

    One thing I would like to see in any future wrestling games, is a change in countering. As of right now most wrestling games online become a giant countering fiasco, its to the point now, where there is very little actual wrestling getting done.

    Lastly is the near non-existant single player campaign. Currently there are two options. First is the dream matches 10 in total, where the developers have chosen 10 dream matches they would like to see that could never happen. Though fun to play and debate about, it could have used more scripting to make the matches more original. Other than the video montages at the beginning, one could make all of these matches themselves using the exhibition mode. Next is a mode where you can pick a superstar (or in 1 case a tag team) and fight 10 matches to get to the title match. Containing only 3 cut scenes in each and there being only 3 of them doesnt not offer extensive playtime and seriously lacks depth in each match.

    One thing I would really like to see next year is a famous match mode, where they take some of the most legendary matches of the last 30 years add lots of scripts and surprises to them. In short a more dynamic combat system couple with more robust single player campaign could make WWE All Stars a powerhouse franchise in the future. I don't consider a faliure but a stepping stone to what the future might bring. However, if you're looking for a game to rent for the weekend to sit around and play with friends, look no further than WWE All Stars.
    Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2011
    7
    This is a very fun arcade style wrestling game. However, like most arcade games, its set of features are very shallow, the game has severalThis is a very fun arcade style wrestling game. However, like most arcade games, its set of features are very shallow, the game has several different modes and match types but in the end they offer very little variety. It also sports your typical create-a-wrestler mode that I'm happy to admit I spent a few hours in already, unfortunately customization is limited as you can only select predetermined move sets, nonetheless the editor is still a nice addition. Thankfully, what the game lacks in content, it makes up in game play, as this is one of the funnest wrestling games I've played in years. It is much more fast paced then your typical wrestling game and is more accessible to non-wrestling fans, my wife (who's never watched wrestling) even joined me in a few matches and had a lot of fun. With special moves that are out of this world and a fantastic roster of old and new, I would definitely recommend this to fans looking for a more casual affair. Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2011
    6
    The game is very enjoyable, with a very fast paced match system, but there's already a problem. 1: The only good match types are, STEEL CAGE,The game is very enjoyable, with a very fast paced match system, but there's already a problem. 1: The only good match types are, STEEL CAGE, 1 ON 1, & EXTREME RULES MATCHES... Why, you ask, because of the AI opponents, sometimes, the opponents act like total brats. The AI also doesn't give any freedom to move around and lengthen the match a little... They are programmed to only very strict directions, whenever they are told. Also, the CAS... Create a Superstar, AKA "Create a Santino"... It sucks, just plain; SUCKS... sure the CAS's look better, but some options, you have more variety, like eyebrows. I mean, COME ON... eyebrows. Oh yeah, not very many clothing options. And guess what SvR fans.... (wait for it...) NO LAYER options AT ALL.... NONE! So, that also restricts a great amount of what you have to work with... I mean, what were they thinking!! Also, whenever you're in a triple threat, fatal 4 way, anything with more than two wrestlers, the opposition AI is just ridiculous, whenever you're fighting somebody else, the other superstars will come over toward you fighting, and then, if you're about, to hit a move, the other wrestlers will ATTACK you... and you defintely don't want to get in between two of them, your health meter.... will go down FAST like lightning... Well, that's all I have to say... those things frustrate me, but it's a very enjoyable, (somewhat) and addictive game. 6/10 Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2011
    0
    The best thing I can say about it is that I made the wise decision to rent it from redbox for 2 bucks a night, because I immediately drove itThe best thing I can say about it is that I made the wise decision to rent it from redbox for 2 bucks a night, because I immediately drove it back and turned it in.

    I was excited to play it because it was published by THQ like the old, awesome WCW games and it had the characters from when wrestling wasn't awful (Stone Cold, Ultimate Warrior, Andre the Giant) and the roster is sweet. That is where it ends.

    THE BAD:
    The AI of the computer in this game is beyond horrible, they pin you whenever your life is low, often after a very weak knockdown. Anything more than 1 vs 1 (1 vs1vs1 and so on) is ridiculous because a slight jab hits both guys in a grapple and just leads to button mashing. All the game modes are ridiculously weak (pretty much 100% exhibition). Entrances stop halfway through the ramp. This game seriously felt like it was meant for 10 year olds which I guess is the WWE's current demographic, but then why include the "Legends" on the roster at all. This game feels like the developers were just laughing at whoever was gonna buy this when they put it together. Just an amazingly half-assed game.
    Collapse

See all 14 User Reviews