User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CoreyF
    Oct 15, 2007
    0
    wrestling is terrible
  2. DanielFriday
    Nov 9, 2007
    4
    Another poor next gen game, major step back on WWE games, poor graphics, dredful game play unlike ps2 titles, the grapple system dosnt work. just a poor thoughtless rip off to all game fans and WWE fans alike
  3. chriselzinga
    May 6, 2007
    10
    good game loved the 1007 verson
  4. therealdealdude
    Jun 3, 2009
    5
    even though the game isnt good i would say it was the down fall of wrestling games like 09 is even worse but this one is better than 09 but it is terrible just look at the past games the thing that lacks is free mode which i liked like in shut ur mouth and here comes the pain
  5. WillRaiment
    Nov 10, 2007
    8
    Good game, i like it. Looks great, plays quite smoothly, but a few bugs in my opinion. Loading times are awful, the characters move a little too slowly for me, there are several characters that I don't recognise (and i watch it all the time) and the crowd are abit quiet, which sort of makes it a little boring at times. Good though!
  6. BryanM
    Nov 10, 2008
    7
    its better then the new one which suxs! I like the GM mode but thats not in the new one! I would gladly give that pice of junk 09 version for the 08 version and I just rented the 09 version thank the lord I did not buy it!
  7. ZiftK.
    Nov 17, 2007
    5
    Wow.... I'm actually giving a wrestling game a 5. From Here comes the pain to this. Utterly pathetic. What's the difference from SVR 07, other then the horrid frame rate. That's the main reason the PS3 version blows, the dismal frame rate. THQ, get your act together. You went from superb to pathetic. pretty much how the WWE is getting right now.
  8. C.G.
    Nov 26, 2007
    0
    Very good game.
  9. TempieMarkham
    Nov 13, 2007
    5
    Outdated tag champions and excuse of trouble with voice overs leaves the roster way to small for the hype that preceeded the game. Relying on caws to fill out the skimpy roster I may as well apply for a job at thq. The 24/7 mode is a pain in single player mode. be finsihed with this in a week and trading it in. Not going to bother with online play.
  10. JoS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    3
    Really hard adaptation from '07-'08 due to the button changes and all...its also basically a repeat of other previous games considering the GM 24/7 mode , but the CAW system is better...overall I regret buying it and are eventually going to return it.
  11. May 27, 2013
    7
    this ok wresling game i like mechanics and wwe manger. but if i was you i would buy wwe 12. graphics are meidocre its fairly cheap now day so its probaly worth your money
  12. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    WWE SmackDown! vs. Raw 2008 lets players take the fight into their own hands with the debut of Superstar Fighting Styles. The game features eight unique styles, each having its own strategy and exclusive attributes. A brand new Struggle Submission System gives players intuitive and natural control over their WWE Superstars by using the game's popular analog controls. Realism and strategyWWE SmackDown! vs. Raw 2008 lets players take the fight into their own hands with the debut of Superstar Fighting Styles. The game features eight unique styles, each having its own strategy and exclusive attributes. A brand new Struggle Submission System gives players intuitive and natural control over their WWE Superstars by using the game's popular analog controls. Realism and strategy are at the forefront, as players now control the amount of pressure they apply to their opponents. In addition, WWE SmackDown! vs. Raw 2008 features a significant Extreme Championship Wrestling (ECW) presence, including a variety of Superstars, arenas and weapons. The game is also packed with significant updates requested by fans, including new rosters, more environmental hotspots, a combined Season and General Manager Mode experience, improved out-of-ring action, enhanced online community support and much more. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. From the spiffy graphics to the more right analog stick-centric controls to the robust Create-A-Superstar to the new WWE 24/7 career mode, this is SmackDown as its finest. [Dec 2007, p.72]
  2. Still fun and still addictive, but the new grapple styles add little and the old flaws remain. [Dec 2007, p.68]
  3. 90
    This isn't a title for the casual gamer, but if you're a fan of the franchise or just really love throwing half-naked men off ladders and pinning them to the ground, then SvR 2008 is about as good as it gets. [Dec 2007, p.124]