User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 71
  2. Negative: 8 out of 71

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeffreyB
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    So much fun! A great hack 'n' slash game. There's a little bit of thinking in it, but mostly, you get to be Wolverine! If you like Wolverine, you have to try this!
  2. BenjaminY
    May 2, 2009
    9
    This game defies the long history of terrible movie games and mediocre x-men games. The first game ever where wolverine actually gets to act his character. That in itself is a mile stone and a gift for any true fan. Besides that, the game plays in the most brutal hack and slash fashion making it extremely hard not to like. There are a few rough edges here and there, but you can't This game defies the long history of terrible movie games and mediocre x-men games. The first game ever where wolverine actually gets to act his character. That in itself is a mile stone and a gift for any true fan. Besides that, the game plays in the most brutal hack and slash fashion making it extremely hard not to like. There are a few rough edges here and there, but you can't rate the game lower just because it's based off the movie, because it was in the works before the movie. All in all one of the most pleasant surprises in gaming to come alone in quite a while. Expand
  3. Z9000
    May 2, 2009
    9
    Apparently unlike most of the official reviewers, I have actually played the entire game to completion (reviews are getting sloppy and ridiculous as of late). This game rates up there with God of War, and Uncharted. The environments are great, the controls very accurate and intuitive. Tons of moves, skills, special combos and rage moves. RPG elements such as leveling for more hit points Apparently unlike most of the official reviewers, I have actually played the entire game to completion (reviews are getting sloppy and ridiculous as of late). This game rates up there with God of War, and Uncharted. The environments are great, the controls very accurate and intuitive. Tons of moves, skills, special combos and rage moves. RPG elements such as leveling for more hit points and skill points, skill trees, equippable power-ups, and the ability to custom tailor your own character. The game focuses on 2 intertwined story lines about Wolverine. One in the present, the other 3 years prior. Through that story telling, you learn about Wolverine's past, who he was, and how he came to be who he is now. The action is gory and satisfying. You can throw enemies off high places, use the environment to impale them, or even throw them at each other. Fighting is highlighted by slo-mo zooms when you do something exceptional (like leaping into the air towards another enemy leaping at you, grabbing him out of the air and slam him to the ground). You can finish kills with fatalities. Blood is everywhere and body parts fly. The real Wolverine emerges instead of the watered down Hollywood version. The enemies you face all have specific weaknesses and fighting styles. Some even work together in unison to present a formidable offense and defense. There are many puzzles and environment features that you see in games like Price of Persia and Uncharted. There are even some pretty good easter eggs (found 2 that will be talked about for sure) and many secret areas. You can even find certain figurines in the game to get a chance to unlock 4 special costumes from historical Wolverine comics. The cut scenes are over the top and some of the in game special events are utterly amazing. The boss fights are pretty good and one in particular will be talked about for a long time. The game takes about 13 hours to complete and is worth every penny. Raven did a great job on this game and they should be proud. Expand
  4. RenardoS.
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best games I've played all year. Love the story line and after beating the game. I got right back in the action agian. I must say they out did themselves on this one. And should really consider taking notes from this game when making others.
  5. royalt
    May 15, 2009
    9
    This game is alot better than I thought it would be. It has great easy controles and also is very fun.. Surprising for a movie game Thats why I gave it a 9. Its one of the best games Ive played this year. It also reminds of Ninja gaiden.. If your a fan of this game you will definitely enjoy wolverine.
  6. alexm
    May 3, 2009
    10
    Ok, so u may think that 10 is a bit ott, but man i love hack n slash adventure games, and this really is as close to god of war as we're gonna get for now. the violence in this game is astounding, and the graphics are pretty damn good for a rushed tie-in game, only real glitch i found was his dogtags that seem to jitter about all over the place for no apparent reason, lol. also, i Ok, so u may think that 10 is a bit ott, but man i love hack n slash adventure games, and this really is as close to god of war as we're gonna get for now. the violence in this game is astounding, and the graphics are pretty damn good for a rushed tie-in game, only real glitch i found was his dogtags that seem to jitter about all over the place for no apparent reason, lol. also, i don't understand why the 360 version has a higher metascore, after perusing the reviews there are a few non console specific reviews that are only applied to the 360's metascore, which are higher, and the ps3 page has some non specific reviews which are low and not applied to the 360 version, which is odd, have a look metacritic moderators, i swear its not right! Collapse
  7. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Best game based on a movie this gen.. Ignore the stupid reviews from critics, go watch some gameplays and see for yourself, its an amazing game, one of the best hack N slash games this gen, truly underrated
  8. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Awesome game.. Better than most movie based games, my favourite one since spiderman 2 on PS2 watch some gameplays before buying it, but i can tell you its a great game, one of the best adventure gmes this gen, very underrated
  9. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Great game.. Better than most games that are based on movies, my favourite one since spiderman 2 on PS2, i advice you to watch some gameplays before buying it, but i can tell you its a great game, one of the best adventure gmes this gen, very underrated
  10. ThomasM.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    The game is just fantastic. It really shows what wolverine is all about. Claws tearing skin, blood splattering everywhere, body dismemberment. Sure it's a hack and slash and can be repetitive at times, but that's usually what makes them fun. I wasn't necessarily thinking it would bring anything new or innovative, but just show the true Wolverine that fans wanted to see. The The game is just fantastic. It really shows what wolverine is all about. Claws tearing skin, blood splattering everywhere, body dismemberment. Sure it's a hack and slash and can be repetitive at times, but that's usually what makes them fun. I wasn't necessarily thinking it would bring anything new or innovative, but just show the true Wolverine that fans wanted to see. The combat is definitely fluid to me, the addition to the feral sense is quite cool of an addition. Not to mention the fact 40% of the game is actually original since they started the game before the movie's production which makes this one of the best movie game tie in of all time. As I've always said before, the best games which is like the movie is when they don't 100% follow the movie and do some things that can't be done in the live action counter part. Definitely one X-Men gem of this generation for sure. The positives far outweigh the negatives if you're a fan where the little issues, which is subjective, shouldn't lower the score. Expand
  11. TylerH
    May 14, 2009
    9
    I think i would give this game an 8.5, but im bumping it up because its such a surprisingly good game. Graphics are good, not spectacular. Unreal Engine should die or get a makeover, its becoming very outdated, but this game manages to pull out lush environments still, which is nice. Extremely addicting, and not as repetitive as the new Prince of Persia where you get tired and fall asleep I think i would give this game an 8.5, but im bumping it up because its such a surprisingly good game. Graphics are good, not spectacular. Unreal Engine should die or get a makeover, its becoming very outdated, but this game manages to pull out lush environments still, which is nice. Extremely addicting, and not as repetitive as the new Prince of Persia where you get tired and fall asleep after 5 minutes. I really enjoy this game. Finally a movie-tie in game thats not like some fat guy taking a huge crap after being constipated. Different from the movie, but obviously its going to be. I like the movie, and so far I like this game too. Gore and dismemberment is fun as hell, definately recommend this game for fans of this style of game (need something to tide you over till God of War 3, this is it), if not, at least rent because it's money well spent for the fun factor, plus it has replayability with its trophies and unlockables to power up. Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. 69
    If you're not fussy, like your button-mashy beat-em-ups and are addicted to either Wolverine or Hugh Jackman's tank-like physique, you'll get the most out of this. It's God of War with claws and an equally bloodthirsty attitude; flawed, fun and fairly brainless gaming.
  2. X-Men Origins: Wolverine may be unapologetically violent, but it's also unapologetically repetitive, and it's the one apology that needs to be made.
  3. 71
    Perhaps the greatest achievement here is the way the gameplay evokes the sensation of being Wolverine.