User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 255 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 255

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    What it does, it does excellent. I'm not a strategy fan, not a turn-based fan, yet I loved this. What I did not like is the fact that the learning curve is really high. The beginning is much to difficult. Once your soldiers start leveling up though, the game gets too easy. So the balance isn't all that great. Luckily you can change the difficulty any time. So you could play the beginningWhat it does, it does excellent. I'm not a strategy fan, not a turn-based fan, yet I loved this. What I did not like is the fact that the learning curve is really high. The beginning is much to difficult. Once your soldiers start leveling up though, the game gets too easy. So the balance isn't all that great. Luckily you can change the difficulty any time. So you could play the beginning on easy, and after a while turn it up to normal. That's what I did. But the difference between easy and normal was too great for me. Easy being way to easy, and normal being too hard. Again, I'm never play strategy games so i'm a complete noob. Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    The first hours of playing, I was ready to give this game a 10/10. The content and gameplay that is in the game is just brilliant. But as the hours went on, I found little new elements. The campaign is almost like a Fifa soccer campaign in the sense that the whole setup for how you approach the story is reset for every single round. There is little sense of continual progress, ofThe first hours of playing, I was ready to give this game a 10/10. The content and gameplay that is in the game is just brilliant. But as the hours went on, I found little new elements. The campaign is almost like a Fifa soccer campaign in the sense that the whole setup for how you approach the story is reset for every single round. There is little sense of continual progress, of exploration, from hour to hour. The changes in the level design and in unlocking new technologies have little effect on the core gameplay. It lacked the kind of artful and intricate storytelling I've come to expect from modern games. And as a 'manager' or 'simulation' type game, I miss something technically enlightening to take away from the game. I didn't learn anything about those laser rifles, or about what the aliens were out for, etc. The rounds of "kill the aliens on this map" just went on and on, with the added side tasks of maintaining the military base. After playing a good chunk of the campaign, it started to feel worn and pointless, so I kind of lost interest. Ultimately I recommend the game to the wide public, but strategy fans will get most appreciation out of its ingenuity. Oh, and don't forget to turn off the action sequences as they are only there to add empty 'oomph'. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    6
    I'v played this everyday since release. And I'm not kidding here when I say that this game has easily the biggest fatal flaw of any game ever. When percentages are wrong. The game is wrong. The manager of the game says it's to "keep things interesting. But if you hand me the wrong numbers. then you are wrong. All the time. I was gonna give this a ten (seriously) but a f;aw this big almostI'v played this everyday since release. And I'm not kidding here when I say that this game has easily the biggest fatal flaw of any game ever. When percentages are wrong. The game is wrong. The manager of the game says it's to "keep things interesting. But if you hand me the wrong numbers. then you are wrong. All the time. I was gonna give this a ten (seriously) but a f;aw this big almost makes this game deserve a passing score. You killed, and wasted your time, developers. Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    BY FAR, one of the best games of 2012. I picked this up when I bought Assassins Creed 3 and Dishonored and saved it for last (mostly because I was more interested in the other ones). WHAT A SURPRISE... I cannot begin to describe HOW ADDICTIVE this game actually is... it has that "civilization addiction", when you keep saying to yourself: "just one more turn; just one more turn; just oneBY FAR, one of the best games of 2012. I picked this up when I bought Assassins Creed 3 and Dishonored and saved it for last (mostly because I was more interested in the other ones). WHAT A SURPRISE... I cannot begin to describe HOW ADDICTIVE this game actually is... it has that "civilization addiction", when you keep saying to yourself: "just one more turn; just one more turn; just one more turn"; and when you notice, it's 3 AM. I just can't put it down... think of it as Final Fantasy Tactics meets Front Mission meets Civilization (sort of) plus guns, lots of guns. You manage a base, a squad and customize everything, from facilities, to weapons, to even the soldiers names, nicknames and armor color. And everything under a very cool "alien invasion" atmosphere. Must not be missed... a hidden gem. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    I own both the PC and console versions, and the PC version is obviously superior. Now before you think I'm here to laugh at console owners, I'm not. I'm just simply saying that if you have to choose between PC and console versions, go get the PC one. Why? Because the load times are shorter and there's not much lag in combat. Lag isn't bad on consoles, but having the PC version, it'sI own both the PC and console versions, and the PC version is obviously superior. Now before you think I'm here to laugh at console owners, I'm not. I'm just simply saying that if you have to choose between PC and console versions, go get the PC one. Why? Because the load times are shorter and there's not much lag in combat. Lag isn't bad on consoles, but having the PC version, it's smoother and less laggy so I'm moving to that and plan to sell my PS3 copy. Plus, on low settings, the PC version looks like the consoles. Other than those things, the game is the same on all platforms. Again, get the PC version if you have to choose between the two. If for some reason you can't get or play the PC version, then certainly get it on whatever platform you have. I mean, it's also on Android/iOS too, which has the same game but simplified graphics. Expand
  6. Jul 28, 2014
    9
    Two words can be used to describe this game: addicting and strategic. This game was very fun in almost all levels of managing and gameplay. I was hooked, I honestly did felt in control of everything..and the game was pretty challenging in pretty much all levels from maintaining panic levels to how you're going to take down enemies in game. Definitely a game where you need to do someTwo words can be used to describe this game: addicting and strategic. This game was very fun in almost all levels of managing and gameplay. I was hooked, I honestly did felt in control of everything..and the game was pretty challenging in pretty much all levels from maintaining panic levels to how you're going to take down enemies in game. Definitely a game where you need to do some homework to advance and not get everyone killed/ lose all the countries. Now this game does suffer from technical difficulties, like stuttering/framerate issues, and bugs/glitches that does ruin the experience a little bit, but overall I lost myself to this game for hours because of how fun and addicting it is. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    Tons and tons of fun. I spent around 40 hours just playing through the game once. The tactical combat system works surprisingly on the PS3. There are a few things that hold the game back, like lag, frequent loading times, and some bugs. Overall though, these minor flaws don't detract from the game, but they do get annoying.
  8. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    I waited until the price dropped before I bought this game, you see I am usually disappointed by games that get so much praise and media hype (anything CoD, or God of War) because the games are usually just rehashed clones or just plain suck. I was pleasantly surprised by Xcom:enemy unknown, I played for four straight hours the first time I sat down with it and I've been hooked since. II waited until the price dropped before I bought this game, you see I am usually disappointed by games that get so much praise and media hype (anything CoD, or God of War) because the games are usually just rehashed clones or just plain suck. I was pleasantly surprised by Xcom:enemy unknown, I played for four straight hours the first time I sat down with it and I've been hooked since. I don't know or care if it maintains the legacy of its predecessors but its fun and challenging. I don't like the in-game menu setup, I find it clunky, I don't like the cinematics or the dialog but I love the actual battles, strategy and planning are a must. You won't simply blast your way through these enemies. There are many choices to make but honestly they don't make much difference in the outcome, but you'll get so caught up in the game that you won't care. I definitely recommend this for anyone who enjoyed Halo:wars or any RTS game. Expand
  9. Feb 11, 2013
    9
    Fire Axis have done a great job of bringing this classic pc series upto date and on to consoles. A turn based stratedgy game. Console versions usually suffer due too the lack of pc mouse point and click but Fire Axis have done a great job of mapping the controls to the dual-shock pad every command is easily found even when in the heat of battle. Commands are not hidden behind unecessaryFire Axis have done a great job of bringing this classic pc series upto date and on to consoles. A turn based stratedgy game. Console versions usually suffer due too the lack of pc mouse point and click but Fire Axis have done a great job of mapping the controls to the dual-shock pad every command is easily found even when in the heat of battle. Commands are not hidden behind unecessary menus. Xcom enemy uknown is easy to pick up and hard to put down. A highly challenging stratedgy game were the games Ai will constantly work tooo beat you and suceed a lot. As you learn each enemy you will begin to progress. Difficulty is chosen by the player normal is the best starter option. Even players of the original will struggle with diving straight into classic mode. To research all the available technology trees will take many hours of play it can take well over 20hours to complete dependending on how you play. I have reached 40hours and have yet too complete it but my squad is fully upgraded with lazer guns and mind controll psi tech i researched from the aliens. squads and breeds of alien classes are many and varied each bringing there own challenges to the game. You must defend the earth from alien attack and must not lose 8 countries to the aliens or the over seeing council will terminate the x-com op. While trying to find the aliens main base and there leader. There is also a dlc story add on that adds a mission timer and new squad type. And a seperate dlc for character armor customisation. Over-all a must buy for stratedgy fans and a great introduction to stratedgy games for new players. Expand
  10. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    A great strategy game on the PS3? You don't see that too oftern! So, for fans of the genre or those looking for something different this is utterly unmissable. I don't know if i could convince casual gamers or action heads to buy this but i do hope it gets the sales figures it deserves. Either way this is still one of the games of the year.
  11. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    If you like deep, tactic games, it's a must have.
    The game have nice graphics with a nice atmosphere but the gameplay, missions, choices and possibilities that the game offers are the really enjoyable gem of this game.
    Tons of hours, replay value and quality in every aspect of this great game.
  12. May 29, 2014
    10
    As games go, this is is hard to fault. The whole point is that you are the commander of a multinational spec ops unit (the eponymous XCOM) tasked with taking out the aliens that have just invaded earth. You fight turn based battles against swarm of enemies with a squad of 4-6 soldiers and/or drones at your disposal. Your actions have real consequences.

    The game continually forces you to
    As games go, this is is hard to fault. The whole point is that you are the commander of a multinational spec ops unit (the eponymous XCOM) tasked with taking out the aliens that have just invaded earth. You fight turn based battles against swarm of enemies with a squad of 4-6 soldiers and/or drones at your disposal. Your actions have real consequences.

    The game continually forces you to question your tactics, both on the battlefield and in the meta-management/base building portion. Unless you reload an earlier save, soldiers killed on the battlefield are gone for good. If you invest your money in the wrong thing at the wrong time then prepare to suffer for it as your troops will lack the weapons/gear/supplies they require. The way XCOM forces you to care about said troops is remarkable. Unlike C&C etc. where you just hit the 'create' button to get another twenty squaddies, each soldier is of equally great importance. Every individual soldier has different specialities and skills. The enemies are tough as nails and will take advantage of any slip ups you make and the base building requires a lot of planning. There are many detailed difficulty options to tailor the experience for each specific player so certain aspects can be augmented to be more or less constrictive.

    I have not covered all the different gameplay aspects in this review but there are too many to mention. This has to be one of the best games I have ever played and I recommend it to anyone who is patient enough to learn it's intricacies.
    Expand
  13. Nov 3, 2012
    7
    So, XCOM... I never played the original UFO: Enemy Unknown on the PC, so I went into the demo with feelings of skepticism, not believing if the acclaim was deserved or not. However, I finished the demo with one feeling: that I needed to get this game. And, when I did start playing, there was no feeling of regret, and I knew the $90 I had spent on it was spent well. I easily put about 20So, XCOM... I never played the original UFO: Enemy Unknown on the PC, so I went into the demo with feelings of skepticism, not believing if the acclaim was deserved or not. However, I finished the demo with one feeling: that I needed to get this game. And, when I did start playing, there was no feeling of regret, and I knew the $90 I had spent on it was spent well. I easily put about 20 hours into the game without feeling like it was pointlessly long. The game offered a real challenge, and for the first time in my life I actually felt terrified of playing any more of a game. The choices to be made in this game have astounding after-effects. For example, you may save the United Kingdom from an abduction instead of Brazil, and Brazil will no longer fund you. And I found myself in one paticular situation when my only Colonel was pinned down with only two health, and a Muton Beserker standing next to him, also with two health. I had a rookie with a grenade. If I were to throw the grenade, I would kill the Muton and my best soldier in the entire game, but there would be a chance of survival. However, if I didn't throw the grenade, my Colonel would most likely die anyway and the surviving team members would need to retreat and evacuate (if they weren't killed by the aliens surrounding them in the act). It's those kind of choices that make XCOM: Enemy Unknown such a great joy to play. It's the sense that your only chance of survival relies on strategy, hunches, weighty decisions and big sacrifices. And, through my twenty plus hours of play (so far), I have spent so much time planning my missions down to the most minute of details, customizing my soldiers to make them immediately recognizable as the core members of my team. Just tuning to the game to fit your liking to the finest of details is a joy within itself. A great part of the game is the choices involved. Sometimes, for example, you will need to risk the lives of everyone on your team to fulfill an objective of the council that fund the XCOM program. You will sometimes need to sacrifice five of your six soldiers to rescue a politician with some pull in the program. Sometimes, though, you'll need to pull your good, effective soldiers out of a dangerous mission, because you know that you will lose them during the mission, and instead put six rookies up to the job of, well, surviving. I would be prepared to say that this is not only a turn-based strategy game, but it is a survival horror game because of the terror that the game evokes as you try and keep your soldiers alive, and risk the lives of them, and send them to certain death, in order to defend the world from an alien invasion that slowly but surely engulfs the entire world. You will find yourself defending against abductions across the world, and destroying UFOs spotted above major cities, engaging in a rather easy combat with the UFO in one of XCOM's many fighter jets. XCOM: Enemy Unknown may just be the my Game of the Year, but at the moment this amazing title is dismissed, as it is the most addicting game I have come across in years, and I am sure I will be playing it, trying to get better, for years to come. This game is truly brilliant and deserves all the praise and critical acclaim it gets from the critics. Expand
  14. Nov 11, 2012
    6
    This game is good at giving the illusion of choice but in reality your choices are fairly limited or don't really matter. If you don't buy satellites and uplinks straight away you will start to lose nations and it will be game over. Also most items you research and develop often don't ever have much use like SHIV's which I tried to use once but just seemed pointless. Overall I enjoyedThis game is good at giving the illusion of choice but in reality your choices are fairly limited or don't really matter. If you don't buy satellites and uplinks straight away you will start to lose nations and it will be game over. Also most items you research and develop often don't ever have much use like SHIV's which I tried to use once but just seemed pointless. Overall I enjoyed playing through the campaign but the game just feels like it's missing a layer or two of depths in certain areas. Collapse
  15. Oct 13, 2012
    8
    PC players, especially strategy gamers, have long had the joy of games where they had to play just "one...more...turn". Now that fun has come to the console. Sure there's been other similar turn-based games for PS3, but this one has taken a classic and re-imagined it for an HD and thumbstick world. Skill levels, base management, cutscenes, character progression, science fiction setting,PC players, especially strategy gamers, have long had the joy of games where they had to play just "one...more...turn". Now that fun has come to the console. Sure there's been other similar turn-based games for PS3, but this one has taken a classic and re-imagined it for an HD and thumbstick world. Skill levels, base management, cutscenes, character progression, science fiction setting, great sound effects...all good things on their own but combine that with a tactical squad simulation that's easy to learn, difficult to master and Firaxis has a masterpiece. I haven't personally run into game freezing that's been complained about though I can see where others have noticed video/audio stutter and that's why the title doesn't get a 9, but the rest of the game is replayability heaven. Expand
  16. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    So happy to see a strategy game like XCOM to be on consoles too, they're usually just for PC only, you know, for the PC master race. It's an incredibly organic game: if you **** up, that's your own fault, not the games. Your tactics and strategies will effect your outcome. Also, winning isn't inevitable, you can put 20 hours in to it and lose to the aliens. The turn-based combat is verySo happy to see a strategy game like XCOM to be on consoles too, they're usually just for PC only, you know, for the PC master race. It's an incredibly organic game: if you **** up, that's your own fault, not the games. Your tactics and strategies will effect your outcome. Also, winning isn't inevitable, you can put 20 hours in to it and lose to the aliens. The turn-based combat is very engaging, and the base management makes you feel like an actual commander. It's all very absorbing, and it's rather cheap now, so definitely pick it up when you can. Expand
  17. Jul 3, 2014
    8
    2K Games you did it again :). First up was Civilization franchise and now I bought this, gj 2K. Best strategy game on PS3 now. The soldier customizing and satellite stuff is just amazing, I have to say. Oh and I was so happy with the gameplay too. Only the bad thing is that there are not so much different stuff to do in this game. Thing is that, there is some aliens--you try to beat them.2K Games you did it again :). First up was Civilization franchise and now I bought this, gj 2K. Best strategy game on PS3 now. The soldier customizing and satellite stuff is just amazing, I have to say. Oh and I was so happy with the gameplay too. Only the bad thing is that there are not so much different stuff to do in this game. Thing is that, there is some aliens--you try to beat them. And the game is little bit boring when you played it little bit. Still game what must to have. And good 8/10 :) Expand
  18. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Console gaming needs more titles like this! I bought XCOM the same day as Dishonored and will be playing it long after that game (as well as many other fall releases). This game is a breath of fresh air that is in the same league as Valkyria Chronicles.
  19. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    If you're a fan of the original, you'll (maybe) be let down --it's pretty different. Don't get me wrong, I'm a fan on innovation, but the changes here are quirky (and suspicious...). It plays like some kinda browser-based flash version of x-com. It's clear the changes were necessary just to get the IP made. Since, obviously no one wanted to play the original (well, I did) --it's tediousIf you're a fan of the original, you'll (maybe) be let down --it's pretty different. Don't get me wrong, I'm a fan on innovation, but the changes here are quirky (and suspicious...). It plays like some kinda browser-based flash version of x-com. It's clear the changes were necessary just to get the IP made. Since, obviously no one wanted to play the original (well, I did) --it's tedious and methodical. So this modern snazzy version is the new bastard child. Normal setting is piss easy (sooo easy). So you gotta play on classic (hard), then you might feel that nostalgia slipping away. It's hard to describe. If your a fan of the original, rent it. You'll see what I mean. But, If your born in the 90's and never heard of x-com until now, then enjoy! Expand
  20. Oct 17, 2012
    2
    First off, this is really not an X-Com game and if you go in looking at it as a new IP then you will be a lot better off. The game is heavily streamlined/dumbed-down from its origins and rather than a turn-based strategy game like the original X-Com games, you are buying a turn-based ACTION game, like a turn-based Gears of War. You are limited to 4 squad members to start, you cannot buildFirst off, this is really not an X-Com game and if you go in looking at it as a new IP then you will be a lot better off. The game is heavily streamlined/dumbed-down from its origins and rather than a turn-based strategy game like the original X-Com games, you are buying a turn-based ACTION game, like a turn-based Gears of War. You are limited to 4 squad members to start, you cannot build or manage new bases, the maps are pre-done rather than random (and can repeat through a game), and virtually all of the strategic portions of the original X-Com have been deleted. I suspect this was done to "attract the CoD/GeoW audience" but it just makes the unsuitable for any true strategy gamer and its slow pace will certainly keep away the FPS fans. Now this is not specifically a "bad" game, and if you are the type of gamer who thought "wouldn't it be cool to command a Gears of War squadron (dressed in Mass Effect armor) in a turn-based game but without all those unnecessary strategic elements, new base building, and micro-managing" then this is the game for you. X-Com EU has loses the overall strategic gameplay, and is all turn-based action with Mass Effect armor and guns. Not for me, but who knows, there might be an big undiscovered market for this game type. Expand
  21. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    I really enjoy the game. I will start off talking about what I like.
    1) the feel of being the underdog, battling for survival (I play on a harder difficulty)
    2) the look of the game 3) The customization options for your base, troops, interceptors etc. 4) The tech tree and how you go about doing it 5) overall game-play is addictive 6) sound is good 7) combat is streamlined and fun
    I really enjoy the game. I will start off talking about what I like.
    1) the feel of being the underdog, battling for survival (I play on a harder difficulty)
    2) the look of the game
    3) The customization options for your base, troops, interceptors etc.
    4) The tech tree and how you go about doing it
    5) overall game-play is addictive
    6) sound is good
    7) combat is streamlined and fun

    What could use improvement:
    1) the ability to change your soilders Nationality/gender. Everyone would enjoy naming soilders after friends, significant others, people you know or characters you've created and played in the past in other games. Some people say every soilder would be from the same country if they allowed this... I feel sorry for their homogenous social structure.
    2) other than explosives, your choices of how to kill/maim the aliens affects the artifacts, and you actually see the pieces around the ground, highlighted for later salvage.
    3) Having to build a prototype after the researchis over, before you can manufacture for deployment
    4) Random maps/more maps

    What the game is missing:
    1) for what it is, and was intended to be, not much.... maybe some more variation in the mission start sequences so you don't feel inclined to click past the mission briefing.

    Overall I would recommend this game as a definate go-get
    Expand
  22. Nov 10, 2012
    0
    i was loving this game for about an hour, then i was so disgusted that i bought this atrocious game i almost commited suicide. if you love gaming, then stay far away from this game as possible!
  23. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Fun strategy, has definitely not been 'dumbed down for consoles' and was quite emotional when getting attached to certain soldiers and watching them progress. Re playability is at a minimum though as it is pretty much the same again.
  24. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    I rarely review games, only when i'm so impressed or overwhelmed. This is the case here with xcom.
    I am new to the series, but THIS WAS A HUG SMACK ON THE FACE.
    this game could easily have gotten a ten, it goes down as one of the best, most addictive games i have played since warcraft frozen throne. It lacks polish and graphical prowess. Apart from that this game is an incredible title
    I rarely review games, only when i'm so impressed or overwhelmed. This is the case here with xcom.
    I am new to the series, but THIS WAS A HUG SMACK ON THE FACE.

    this game could easily have gotten a ten, it goes down as one of the best, most addictive games i have played since warcraft frozen throne. It lacks polish and graphical prowess. Apart from that this game is an incredible title . the gameplay (micromanaging ) is perfect in every way
    Expand
  25. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    One of the best strategy games I have played in the last few years. It's fun, addicting, and your choices have real consequences. Soldier deaths are permanent and wow is the game hard when you ratchet up the difficulty. Fireaxis made a brilliant game and I can't wait for further installments.
  26. Nov 12, 2012
    7
    I have to give this a 7 because there is not much there to justify $60 in my opinion. This would be a 9 as a PSN download for $20. Repetitive as it may be, the victories are rewarding and I always want to see what is coming next.
  27. Sep 2, 2013
    9
    A highly faithful recreation of the PC classic (XCOM: UFO Defense). 2K did everything right with this remake and then some. It's challenging, but still makes itself accessible to new players. If you're like me, and you play most of your games on the console, and you've been looking for a good strategy game, then this is the one you will want to pick up.
  28. Apr 24, 2014
    9
    Damn if you play this you will get destroyed. What, confused why it gets 9 its x-com you suppose to get destroyed its a hard game. I admit its dumbed down a bit but if you think about sadly this day in age new gamers for because most are 5-15 year olds (I'm not happy about it) they action, action all day long. Poor kids I got to say. Anyway at start you only get a squad of 4 but withDamn if you play this you will get destroyed. What, confused why it gets 9 its x-com you suppose to get destroyed its a hard game. I admit its dumbed down a bit but if you think about sadly this day in age new gamers for because most are 5-15 year olds (I'm not happy about it) they action, action all day long. Poor kids I got to say. Anyway at start you only get a squad of 4 but with upgrades 6 which makes them more valuable. you research guns, armor, gear, biology, etc. you get cut scenes now which are welcome if you think of it. Something some whine about "but you can only send 1 squad" I know that's good it makes you go " okay got to chose dammit which one" so it is hard as hell. Right I got to say what's wrong no base attacks, and some many other things the classic ones had sadly overall though its great Expand
  29. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    THis was my first time playing xcom, and I have to tell you guys, it was a surprise how awesome it was! Infact I picked it up on black Friday for 25 bucks just to settle my gaming taste buds while I awaited a big release, however it turned out to be way better then I expected. The sound is a check! the graphics are a check! the replay value is a check! the story is a check!what more couldTHis was my first time playing xcom, and I have to tell you guys, it was a surprise how awesome it was! Infact I picked it up on black Friday for 25 bucks just to settle my gaming taste buds while I awaited a big release, however it turned out to be way better then I expected. The sound is a check! the graphics are a check! the replay value is a check! the story is a check!what more could u guys ask for? Expand
  30. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    How did this game pass me by? If it wasn't for Playstation plus, I probably would never had played it.

    Years ago, me and my mate used to play space crusade on the Commadore Amiga 500. It was a turn based strategy game, your squad against a bunch of aliens, moving room to room to complete an objective and get safely back to your ship, sometimes without all of your squad. It was tense,
    How did this game pass me by? If it wasn't for Playstation plus, I probably would never had played it.

    Years ago, me and my mate used to play space crusade on the Commadore Amiga 500. It was a turn based strategy game, your squad against a bunch of aliens, moving room to room to complete an objective and get safely back to your ship, sometimes without all of your squad.
    It was tense, it was a thinking mans game and I thought I would never play another like it, until now.

    XCOM: enemy unknown is that game from my childhood. It has all the things I've just mentioned, and so much more. It takes you through an easy tutorial of all the game mechanics, from the frontline, to managing your base's facilities, weapons development and financial income. You really feel like its you against an overwhelming alien threat, and its so much fun from the beginning to the end.

    You'll even want to play it all over again.

    My only criticism is the missed opportunity with multiplayer. Remember how much fun "worms" was? This could of been much the same amount of fun. Imagine, four local players in a room together, each with a team of four marines. Passing a pad around, blowing each other away until there's just one team left standing. Instead we get an online only, one on one battle. Such a shame.

    Regardless, single player is incredible. Well worth a play, and a refreshing change from all the first-person shooters out there.
    Expand
  31. Nov 11, 2012
    0
    This game is good at giving the illusion of choice but in reality your choices are fairly limited or don't really matter. If you don't buy satellites and uplinks straight away you will start to lose nations and it will be game over. Also most items you research and develop often don't ever have much use like SHIV's which I tried to use once but just seemed pointless. Overall I enjoyedThis game is good at giving the illusion of choice but in reality your choices are fairly limited or don't really matter. If you don't buy satellites and uplinks straight away you will start to lose nations and it will be game over. Also most items you research and develop often don't ever have much use like SHIV's which I tried to use once but just seemed pointless. Overall I enjoyed playing through the campaign but the game just feels like it's missing a layer or two of depths in certain areas. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a real sleeper hit. Save for repetitive level design, a basic online component, and some questionable voice acting, the game is magnificent. It may take longer than most to appreciate, but it never fails to deliver.
  2. With losing the United States, we also lost our biggest source of incoming funds. And no funding equals no means to combat the enemy. XCOM is all about long term planning, which we found out the hard way. [November 2012, p.58]
  3. Oct 23, 2012
    91
    XCOM has more meaningful decisions and consequences than Mass Effect and more scares than Resident Evil. Turn-based strategy games are cool again. [Dec 2012, p.98]