Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lead your troops in fierce battles to defeat the alien front, and rescue civilians in crowded cities and remote outlands around the world. Construct and expand your XCOM headquarters, recruit and coach up unique soldiers to thrust into battle, and research alien tech to enhance and multiply your weapons and capabilities. Mix and match aliens and soldiers and synthesize abilities to outwit and overpower your alien opponents. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    100
    Extreme fastidiousness notwithstanding, it can take around 30 hours to see through the single-player campaign in XCOM: Enemy Unknown, though like Firaxis' Civilization series, there are so many different ways to prioritize the research, engineering, economic, and tactical elements of the game that it almost begs for multiple playthroughs.
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    95
    Defending against XCOM's mysterious alien invasion is one of the most challenging, intense gaming experiences of this generation.
  3. With losing the United States, we also lost our biggest source of incoming funds. And no funding equals no means to combat the enemy. XCOM is all about long term planning, which we found out the hard way. [November 2012, p.58]
  4. With every element of Xcom's complex yet utterly accessible systems – from meaningful combat tactics, to budget balancing, to life-or-death diplomatic decisions – feeding directly into every other aspect of the game, this is as compelling a world as any in recent memory.
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    88
    XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a triumph of inspired strategy creation. The critical will focus on the minor shortcomings, perhaps because it's not exactly like the first XCOM, but the polish, relative depth, and overall intensity is absolutely unquestionable.
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    85
    With each turn, the newest entry in this beloved strategy series heightens the sense of tension, and each defeat of a hovering alien craft thus becomes cause for celebration.
  7. Any PlayStation gamer looking to broaden his horizons really ought to take a chance on this. If you're like us, and you figured 'turn-based' was longhand for 'boring', you'll be shocked when your 1000th (sissy) save reads: 40 hours played. [November 2012, p68]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 50
  2. Negative: 2 out of 50
  1. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    BY FAR, one of the best games of 2012. I picked this up when I bought Assassins Creed 3 and Dishonored and saved it for last (mostly because I was more interested in the other ones). WHAT A SURPRISE... I cannot begin to describe HOW ADDICTIVE this game actually is... it has that "civilization addiction", when you keep saying to yourself: "just one more turn; just one more turn; just one more turn"; and when you notice, it's 3 AM. I just can't put it down... think of it as Final Fantasy Tactics meets Front Mission meets Civilization (sort of) plus guns, lots of guns. You manage a base, a squad and customize everything, from facilities, to weapons, to even the soldiers names, nicknames and armor color. And everything under a very cool "alien invasion" atmosphere. Must not be missed... a hidden gem. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    So happy to see a strategy game like XCOM to be on consoles too, they're usually just for PC only, you know, for the PC master race. It's an incredibly organic game: if you **** up, that's your own fault, not the games. Your tactics and strategies will effect your outcome. Also, winning isn't inevitable, you can put 20 hours in to it and lose to the aliens. The turn-based combat is very engaging, and the base management makes you feel like an actual commander. It's all very absorbing, and it's rather cheap now, so definitely pick it up when you can. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Console gaming needs more titles like this! I bought XCOM the same day as Dishonored and will be playing it long after that game (as well as many other fall releases). This game is a breath of fresh air that is in the same league as Valkyria Chronicles. Collapse
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    I have never played the original XCOM games, I just downloaded the demo off the PSN store, not knowing that the XCOM series existed. I got so addicted to the demo, I replayed it several times. Then I got the full game for Christmas. This game defines fun. The story may seem shallow, but guess what, that why you must create your own story. I mean, you can customize your own soldiers, even their names. Try naming them after your loved ones, and you'll get attached to them. That's the thing about XCOM, it doesn't trivialize death; it even has a memorial for your lost soldiers. Haven't played multiplayer, but singleplayer alone justifies the price tag. There are some lags here and there but they're minor. Come on, buy it NOW. Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    This game was crafted with love. It takes me back to the original. The team at Firaxis should take pride in this one. I was up until the wee hours of the morning hopelessly addicted. Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    A tense game of personal stake and challenge as it ramps up, with a wonderful aesthetic and a care unseen in so many reboots. A game undoubtably worth the money. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2012
    0
    i was loving this game for about an hour, then i was so disgusted that i bought this atrocious game i almost commited suicide. if you love gaming, then stay far away from this game as possible! Expand

See all 50 User Reviews