Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 243 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lead your troops in fierce battles to defeat the alien front, and rescue civilians in crowded cities and remote outlands around the world. Construct and expand your XCOM headquarters, recruit and coach up unique soldiers to thrust into battle, and research alien tech to enhance and multiply your weapons and capabilities. Mix and match aliens and soldiers and synthesize abilities to outwit and overpower your alien opponents. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    100
    Extreme fastidiousness notwithstanding, it can take around 30 hours to see through the single-player campaign in XCOM: Enemy Unknown, though like Firaxis' Civilization series, there are so many different ways to prioritize the research, engineering, economic, and tactical elements of the game that it almost begs for multiple playthroughs.
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    95
    Defending against XCOM's mysterious alien invasion is one of the most challenging, intense gaming experiences of this generation.
  3. With losing the United States, we also lost our biggest source of incoming funds. And no funding equals no means to combat the enemy. XCOM is all about long term planning, which we found out the hard way. [November 2012, p.58]
  4. With every element of Xcom's complex yet utterly accessible systems – from meaningful combat tactics, to budget balancing, to life-or-death diplomatic decisions – feeding directly into every other aspect of the game, this is as compelling a world as any in recent memory.
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    88
    XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a triumph of inspired strategy creation. The critical will focus on the minor shortcomings, perhaps because it's not exactly like the first XCOM, but the polish, relative depth, and overall intensity is absolutely unquestionable.
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    85
    With each turn, the newest entry in this beloved strategy series heightens the sense of tension, and each defeat of a hovering alien craft thus becomes cause for celebration.
  7. Any PlayStation gamer looking to broaden his horizons really ought to take a chance on this. If you're like us, and you figured 'turn-based' was longhand for 'boring', you'll be shocked when your 1000th (sissy) save reads: 40 hours played. [November 2012, p68]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53
  1. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    BY FAR, one of the best games of 2012. I picked this up when I bought Assassins Creed 3 and Dishonored and saved it for last (mostly because I was more interested in the other ones). WHAT A SURPRISE... I cannot begin to describe HOW ADDICTIVE this game actually is... it has that "civilization addiction", when you keep saying to yourself: "just one more turn; just one more turn; just one more turn"; and when you notice, it's 3 AM. I just can't put it down... think of it as Final Fantasy Tactics meets Front Mission meets Civilization (sort of) plus guns, lots of guns. You manage a base, a squad and customize everything, from facilities, to weapons, to even the soldiers names, nicknames and armor color. And everything under a very cool "alien invasion" atmosphere. Must not be missed... a hidden gem. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    So happy to see a strategy game like XCOM to be on consoles too, they're usually just for PC only, you know, for the PC master race. It's an incredibly organic game: if you **** up, that's your own fault, not the games. Your tactics and strategies will effect your outcome. Also, winning isn't inevitable, you can put 20 hours in to it and lose to the aliens. The turn-based combat is very engaging, and the base management makes you feel like an actual commander. It's all very absorbing, and it's rather cheap now, so definitely pick it up when you can. Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Definitely a contender for game of the year. When I heard they were making XCOM for the newest generation of consoles, I suspected it'd either be a graphical facelift to the same old game, as game companies have done so often this generation, or they'd release a seriously dumbed-down slap-dash product counting on nostalgia for the IP to sell copies. Therefore, I was pleasantly surprised when XCOM turned out to be a deep, well-crafted successor to the original. This game streamlined the clunkiness of the original's interface without losing any of the charm or depth. The only knock I have against it is the lack of customizability for your squad. You can change hair and other things, but all 8 voices sound almost exactly the same--a small quibble, I know, and not one that keeps me from wholeheartedly endorsing this game. Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    9
    Damn if you play this you will get destroyed. What, confused why it gets 9 its x-com you suppose to get destroyed its a hard game. I admit its dumbed down a bit but if you think about sadly this day in age new gamers for because most are 5-15 year olds (I'm not happy about it) they action, action all day long. Poor kids I got to say. Anyway at start you only get a squad of 4 but with upgrades 6 which makes them more valuable. you research guns, armor, gear, biology, etc. you get cut scenes now which are welcome if you think of it. Something some whine about "but you can only send 1 squad" I know that's good it makes you go " okay got to chose dammit which one" so it is hard as hell. Right I got to say what's wrong no base attacks, and some many other things the classic ones had sadly overall though its great Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    Well I have been waiting for this game for about 18 years. Though I did not know that since I did not know it was in-development until this past E3. With being a huge fan of the first XCOM I was skeptical when I saw the ARCADY looking characters...but I quickly got over it. This game is a blast to play. If you want a tactical game. I found it far to hard on Classic as I tried to play three rounds and sent 12 men home in the process. So I changed it to Normal and it is a lot more manageable. BUT it still has challenges. I had two people I had from the beginning get wiped out in their 12th mission...I thought I was smooth sailing but no. This is a very challenging game!

    Looks: 8.5 - I only wish all the guys didn;t have the same build. I wish you could customize that more.
    Gameplay - 9.3 - Just as good as I remember with a couple of glitches. Camera is tricky in corners and I feel I do not always get the angle I want and to me if you are behind a wall with full sheild you should never be hit unless some throws a Grenade or Rock Launcher. But that is not the case. Doesn't ruin it just thought I should mention it.
    Sound: 9.0 - Great music and feel...but not as creepy as the original.
    Overall: 9.0: I have played for about 10 hours now and I am still enjoying the missions. I feel the pain when good soldiers die but I enjoy the uncertainty of battle. This game is not for people who want an easy challenge.
    Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2014
    8
    2K Games you did it again :). First up was Civilization franchise and now I bought this, gj 2K. Best strategy game on PS3 now. The soldier customizing and satellite stuff is just amazing, I have to say. Oh and I was so happy with the gameplay too. Only the bad thing is that there are not so much different stuff to do in this game. Thing is that, there is some aliens--you try to beat them. And the game is little bit boring when you played it little bit. Still game what must to have. And good 8/10 :) Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2012
    0
    i was loving this game for about an hour, then i was so disgusted that i bought this atrocious game i almost commited suicide. if you love gaming, then stay far away from this game as possible! Expand

See all 53 User Reviews