Yakuza 3 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 9, 2010
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
Buy On
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    65
    Don't get me wrong; Yakuza 3 is still a good game that offers a uniquely Japanese experience and dramatic content an order of magnitude more mature than most of what's coming down the pike, but it just doesn't match up to the first two entries. I hate to say it, but the Dragon of Dojima's gotten soft in the middle-it's time for Kazuma to cut back on the yakiniku and get his ass back to the gym.
  2. Yakuza 3 is another strong entry in a series that deserves your time.
  3. As rough and ready as the previous games but a fascinating tour of Japan's seedy criminal underbelly.
  4. A gripping, violent and intense gangster epic, held back by weeping orphans and frustrating hold-ups in the story. Could have been a truly great game, but its many flaws make it merely good.
  5. Hardcore gamers who grew to love grand adventure games from a decade ago will have a blast. The game mechanics are tired, but there's nostalgic value to it. Fans of the series will also enjoy learning more about the characters. None of this negates the fact, however, that a fresh coat of high definition paint can't mask the fact that the Yakuza series needs to end or change with the times.
  6. If you're expecting a Japanese take on GTA, guess again. If you want pure action, you'll be bored to tears by the lengthy cutscenes. If you're hoping for complex, RPG-like leveling mechanics, you'll be disappointed. Yakuza 3 is a quirky hodgepodge of various genres that rewards the patient japanophile looking to kick a little ass.
  7. 74
    Yakuza 3 does a couple of things quite well. The cutscenes are nice; it’s a atmospheric Japanese game and there’s plenty to do. Still, the game carries tads of problems along, despite / because its one year delay. In-game, the graphics and the depiction of the story are lamentable, especially compared to what recent games have accomplished. Some stuff needs to be re-examined so that the series is up to speed with the current standard in games.
  8. Not exactly groundbreaking, but enjoyable none-the-less, rarely can a game be summarised with the terms 'camp' and 'ultra-violent', yet Yakuza 3 manages to pull it off with ease.
  9. Yakuza 3 arrives in Europe with an unforgivable delay and few cuts. Plus, it inherits from the second chapter an old gen structure and repetitious fights. Just for fans.
  10. Yakuza 3 does offer an involved, lengthy story for those with the patience to wade through the repetition and annoyances.
  11. Yakuza 3 certainly has its flaws! However it does possess a certain charm and offers quite a bit of variety that make it quite enjoyable, however some may not be able to stick with it that long.
  12. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    70
    Strictly Japanese style with all its pros and cons – adult story, childish episodes, plenty of text to read, piles of minigames and somewhere in the middle you'll find a fighting game. [Issue#189]
  13. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    70
    Pre-canned cutscenes suddenly give way to in-engine sections where the characters continue to converse, only silently – via slabs of text you need to click through instead of pre-recorded speech. There doesn't appear to be any real rhyme or reason as to when this will happen – it just seems like a cheap way of extending the cutscenes. All it does it undermine the atmosphere – the game goes from a modern, cinematic action-drama to a static, dusty old RPG in the blink of an eye. [Apr 2010 p.70]
  14. A really good story, some nice voice acting and a couple of nice fighting sequences make for a decent action game that unfortunately seems somewhat aged.
  15. Not much has changed since the first game in 2006. Fortunately, the foundation is still very solid, with an entertaining and beautifully brutal combat system, a great sense of freedom between the missions and satisfying role-playing elements.
  16. Edge Magazine
    60
    A functional, pared-down JRPG and a feisty but flawed translation of the side-scrolling beat 'em up into the third dimension. [Apr 2010, p.94]
  17. games(TM)
    60
    If you just mindlessly consume the thing, it's not entirely unpalatable. But when you pick it apart and consider the ingredients, it isn't hard to see it as a bit of a mess. [Apr 2010, p.116]
  18. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    60
    Yakuza also suffers from an almost debilitating yappiness. [May 2010, p.76]
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. JohnS
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Thoroughly enjoying my time playing this game. Having never played the previous two Yakuza titles, It was the PSN demo that persuaded me to Thoroughly enjoying my time playing this game. Having never played the previous two Yakuza titles, It was the PSN demo that persuaded me to give Yakuza 3 a chance. I'm really glad I did because it has been surprisingly addictive. This game has great atmosphere and is very cinematic. I love the combat, the storyline, the weird and wonderful characters, the cut scenes, sub quests and mini games. Superb value for money. Full Review »
  2. jayn
    Apr 13, 2010
    9
    For someone who loves Japanese culture and wants to experience living there, this game is definitely a must have. Of course there are lots of For someone who loves Japanese culture and wants to experience living there, this game is definitely a must have. Of course there are lots of absurd and unrealistic situations but it's all fun. Gameplay is similar to previous titles but loading is faster in the PS3 so the game is more enjoyable. Fight mechanics are good, mini-games great. People like to compare this with GTA because of the free roaming atmosphere but this game is more like Shenmue (also from SEGA). Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2011
    10
    Who would've thought being a message boy could be so fun? I didn't expect much from this game, but I have to say it held his own pretty well.Who would've thought being a message boy could be so fun? I didn't expect much from this game, but I have to say it held his own pretty well. The combat is intense and visceral, it may be clunky at first, but once you aquire more skills and moves it gets the depth you were waiting for. Never since the day of the final fight/double dragon era has a beat em up game given me such fun. The game starts incredibly slow, and in the first hours you just ache for something interesting to happen, story feels boring and cheesy, combat is lacking, and you can only wonder why do such banal sidemissions exist? (teaching a dog tricks? making banana juice? do shopping?). But before you know it, yakuza gets it's claws on you, you develop an addiction to finish sidequests, just for the sake of seing what will happen next; characters become charming and likable; story becomes interesting (although it remains cheesy); and the combat becomes the most rewarding skull bashing parade I've seen in years (with some minor annoyances). It has many rough edges, and many will hate it, but I can almost say that if you can get past the first few hours you won't be able to leave it before finishing it. Full Review »