Yakuza 3 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Yakuza 3 Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Introducing the next cinematic chapter in the prestigious video game saga offering an authentic, gritty and often violent story set in modern day Japan. Following the events of the previous game, Kazuma and Haruka have left Kamurocho to seek a new life in Okinawa where they manage anIntroducing the next cinematic chapter in the prestigious video game saga offering an authentic, gritty and often violent story set in modern day Japan. Following the events of the previous game, Kazuma and Haruka have left Kamurocho to seek a new life in Okinawa where they manage an orphanage for children. However, their peaceful life is soon interrupted when a series of events unfold pulling Kazuma back into the shadowy past he thought he had left behind. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. 91
    Let me reiterate: this is a fantastic game, with so much fun to throw your way you'd think you were playing wide receiver with Santa Claus as QB.
  2. If you're in the market for a sandbox game that's more RPG than GTA, but still want just a smidge of that GTA craziness, Yakuza 3 would be a great a choice, long as you can handle the slow beginning.
  3. While I hesitate to call Yakuza 3 a sandbox game, it certainly provides you with an open game where you can participate in a huge number of minigames and side quests. It also offers a fairly lengthy and intriguing main storyline.
  4. AceGamez
    80
    Will Yakuza 3 prove the break out hit that Sega hopes it will be? Probably not – It will however remain a cult game adored by those who embrace its quirky but wholly undeniable charms.
  5. Yakuza 3 brings together enough different gameplay styles that it's more or less pointless to assign it to one particular genre. It's the way it combines these individual parts and invests you in its world that really matters.
  6. A complete lack of innovation and old graphics make this game suitable just for who is looking for an atipic and subtly weird game. It's full of subquests and funny things to do, but gameplay sadly feels completely unpolished.
  7. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    60
    Yakuza also suffers from an almost debilitating yappiness. [May 2010, p.76]

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. JohnS
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Thoroughly enjoying my time playing this game. Having never played the previous two Yakuza titles, It was the PSN demo that persuaded me to Thoroughly enjoying my time playing this game. Having never played the previous two Yakuza titles, It was the PSN demo that persuaded me to give Yakuza 3 a chance. I'm really glad I did because it has been surprisingly addictive. This game has great atmosphere and is very cinematic. I love the combat, the storyline, the weird and wonderful characters, the cut scenes, sub quests and mini games. Superb value for money. Collapse
  2. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    best game ever best story awesome combat a lot of stuff to do its so japanese that even japanese people say damn that game is japanese an allbest game ever best story awesome combat a lot of stuff to do its so japanese that even japanese people say damn that game is japanese an all around fun game that I believe everyone should experience Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    I have never played previous Yakuza games before but now I regret it. I found out about Yakuza 3 when I downloaded it's demo, i forgot why II have never played previous Yakuza games before but now I regret it. I found out about Yakuza 3 when I downloaded it's demo, i forgot why I downloaded it but I'm damn glad I did. The story was immersive, I actually cared about the characters and the struggles they had to go through especially the main character Kiryu Kazuma. Without spoiling anything, Kazuma is a former yakuza member and is the fourth chairman of the tojo clan. He now runs an orphange with his stepdaughter Haruka (not official stepdaughter but you can't deny the strong bond between these two). Kiryu finds out that his orphanage is in danger of being demolished for a resort and travels to Kamurucho to get to the bottom of things but he soon realizes that it's much more complicated than that. The story is rather complex and one that you have to pay close attention too but if you do, you'll experience one of the most mature stories of politics, betrayal, greed and violence in video game history. The intro was just a tad confusing but I guess it's my fault for not paying attention to the subtitles. Oh and that's another thing, you're gonna have to read the subtitles to get what they're saying cause this game is in full Japanese (apart from a few lines spoken in English) with no full English dubbing which is actually very appropriate so I didn't really have a problem with it. Next is the gameplay. The hand-to-hand combat is somewhat simple to learn and a bit harder to master but very rewarding. At the beginning, you have a bare bones moves list with your standard punches and kicks and grapple moves but as you progress, you are given new combos, weapons and special "Heat" moves. These "heat" moves allow you to finish enemies quicker by doing things like stomping their face, suplex-ing them on a chair, spit a cigarette at their face then finishing with a punch and soooooooo much more. It provides a very deep combat system and rewards you for mastering your moves. It may seem a little too easy once you get really strong but don't worry, tougher opponents come in huge numbers from time to time and you are also given fresh challenges in the form of some awesome boss battles. Apart from the combat, there's exploration and the side quests. Now, these side quests are unique and fun to play as well. You get to go on dates (little repetitive though), run away from cross dressers, be a hitman, chase guys who stole from old ladies, sing karaoke even act as a detective and solve mysteries and so much more and hell there's even this segment where you take pictures of these certain citizens who do extraordinary and if you hit the precise buttons at the right time and answer a question correctly, it'll reward you with a brand new "heat" move and that is awesome. Though, I wish they would add waypoints to the map. Seriously, I keep pausing and opening the map every 5 seconds to know where the **** I should be going because the game only sets waypoints for main story mission but not for side quests which is annoying as hell. Another annoyance I had with this game is how it doesn't have a day and night cycle. Sure you can switch from day to night and vice versa but you have to go to your base first and take a nap. I don't get it, why can't the Earth rotate by itself without me getting some shut eye first? Hopefully they fix this in future Yakuza installments.

    So in conclusion, this game has a complex and mature story, compelling characters, some high quality voice acting (even though I don't understand them, i know they're saying it with real emotion) some wacky and fun side quests and deep, rewarding combat system AND it has a new game plus so once you finish the game, you can start a new game with all the moves and skills you unlocked in your previous game. This is one of the most underrated PS3 exclusives and one I would recommend to anyone who wants a damn good open-world experience.
    Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    If you're a fan of the late, great Shenmue, then you should immediately check out the Yakuza franchise. Whilst Yakuza 3 doesn't quite achieveIf you're a fan of the late, great Shenmue, then you should immediately check out the Yakuza franchise. Whilst Yakuza 3 doesn't quite achieve the level of catharsis or the stately dignity of Shenmue, it does have a lot of similar elements (namely, the real world locations and the free roaming RPG mechanics). That said, the game isn't a Shenmue wannabe, as it's tone is completely different. Yakuza 3 has a hilarious Japanese sense of humor that sees you beating the holy crap out of anyone who even looks at you funny. Stamping on a man's face / using a traffic cone as a golf club and a dude's head as a ball / braining somebody with a bicycle wheel... FUNNY EVERY SINGLE TIME! Especially when said 'victims' get up from their beatings and profusely apologize to you. The actual combat is tight and fun, the plot is totally nuts but entertaining (and very convoluted) and there are a ton of mini games to distract you from your main quest. Yakuza 3 made me a full-on franchise fan and was great fun from start to finish. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2016
    8
    A strong 8. Not as good as Yakuza 5 content-wise but story-wise this could be the best in the series with the Okinawan setting where you willA strong 8. Not as good as Yakuza 5 content-wise but story-wise this could be the best in the series with the Okinawan setting where you will learn small details about the Okinawan culture by spending time at the Kyabakura! Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2015
    7
    Not bad, the only thing that was improved was the cut scenes which looked really good. I was quite impressed with them actually, I think theyNot bad, the only thing that was improved was the cut scenes which looked really good. I was quite impressed with them actually, I think they were the best cut scenes I have ever seen. It was like watching a movie. At some point though I got tired of all the fighting because I hate the combat style and you have to fight random people in the street a lot. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    2
    This game is the defination of **** gameplay sucks. Seriously a total waste of time and money.
    The only thing a bit good about this game is
    This game is the defination of **** gameplay sucks. Seriously a total waste of time and money.
    The only thing a bit good about this game is the combat but only a bit. I even found the story lame.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews