Yakuza 3 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Yakuza 3 Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Introducing the next cinematic chapter in the prestigious video game saga offering an authentic, gritty and often violent story set in modern day Japan. Following the events of the previous game, Kazuma and Haruka have left Kamurocho to seek a new life in Okinawa where they manage anIntroducing the next cinematic chapter in the prestigious video game saga offering an authentic, gritty and often violent story set in modern day Japan. Following the events of the previous game, Kazuma and Haruka have left Kamurocho to seek a new life in Okinawa where they manage an orphanage for children. However, their peaceful life is soon interrupted when a series of events unfold pulling Kazuma back into the shadowy past he thought he had left behind. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. 91
    Let me reiterate: this is a fantastic game, with so much fun to throw your way you'd think you were playing wide receiver with Santa Claus as QB.
  2. If you're in the market for a sandbox game that's more RPG than GTA, but still want just a smidge of that GTA craziness, Yakuza 3 would be a great a choice, long as you can handle the slow beginning.
  3. While I hesitate to call Yakuza 3 a sandbox game, it certainly provides you with an open game where you can participate in a huge number of minigames and side quests. It also offers a fairly lengthy and intriguing main storyline.
  4. AceGamez
    80
    Will Yakuza 3 prove the break out hit that Sega hopes it will be? Probably not – It will however remain a cult game adored by those who embrace its quirky but wholly undeniable charms.
  5. Yakuza 3 brings together enough different gameplay styles that it's more or less pointless to assign it to one particular genre. It's the way it combines these individual parts and invests you in its world that really matters.
  6. A complete lack of innovation and old graphics make this game suitable just for who is looking for an atipic and subtly weird game. It's full of subquests and funny things to do, but gameplay sadly feels completely unpolished.
  7. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    60
    Yakuza also suffers from an almost debilitating yappiness. [May 2010, p.76]

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. JohnS
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Thoroughly enjoying my time playing this game. Having never played the previous two Yakuza titles, It was the PSN demo that persuaded me to Thoroughly enjoying my time playing this game. Having never played the previous two Yakuza titles, It was the PSN demo that persuaded me to give Yakuza 3 a chance. I'm really glad I did because it has been surprisingly addictive. This game has great atmosphere and is very cinematic. I love the combat, the storyline, the weird and wonderful characters, the cut scenes, sub quests and mini games. Superb value for money. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2017
    10
    I'm personally giving it a ten because I really like the story (though it might be slow paced at times) and bosses and how difficult the gameI'm personally giving it a ten because I really like the story (though it might be slow paced at times) and bosses and how difficult the game really is though most people don't see how difficult is this. The soundtrack I really like, this game doesn't have as much content as 5 or 0 but it still is pretty fun being my first Yakuza game i'm giving it a ten now to play all the other titles. :-) Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    best game ever best story awesome combat a lot of stuff to do its so japanese that even japanese people say damn that game is japanese an allbest game ever best story awesome combat a lot of stuff to do its so japanese that even japanese people say damn that game is japanese an all around fun game that I believe everyone should experience Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2016
    8
    It's not a GTA clone and it's also not a game that everyone will appreciate. What makes Yakuza 3 so special is it's unique charm andIt's not a GTA clone and it's also not a game that everyone will appreciate. What makes Yakuza 3 so special is it's unique charm and storytelling. It is a huge refreshment from what I'm used to. I felt truly engaged in the story and I really wanted to save the orphanage. In the end you feel greatly rewarded for all your work. Solid gameplay, not groundbreaking but solid. It's one of those games that could easily feel repetitive over time yet manages to keep its charm all the way through. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    8
    The story and characters are amazing. I've never felt more about a character then I do about Haruka. I always want to protect her. Even thoughThe story and characters are amazing. I've never felt more about a character then I do about Haruka. I always want to protect her. Even though I know she won't get attacked on the streets, I alway stay close to her, I really feel like a father to her. That said, technically this is not a very good game. The gameplay has it's quirks and it's basically still the same game it was on PS2. The graphics are better yes but on PS2 they were amazing, here on PS3 they're just average. Expand
  6. TimS.
    May 18, 2010
    7
    I played Shenmue 1 and 2 all those years ago and loved both of them. In my memory they are one of the best gaming experiences I HAD (note I played Shenmue 1 and 2 all those years ago and loved both of them. In my memory they are one of the best gaming experiences I HAD (note HAD). This game feels very much like Shenmue and that's the problem, this game feels very dated.In its day Shenmue was groundbraking but it has been well and truly surpassed.The streets in Yakuza 3 are beautiful and atmospheric but the old style Low Res in game graphics don't show the scenery its true glory. Places I can see but can't go as I'm stopped by countless invisible barriers,I would love to explore but it is very limited. Downtown Ryuku for example is very small, there's only about 10 Streets to explore so not as big as you may expect. Very repetitive street fight encounters that are only really there to help you increase your abilities, useful for when you face a future boss but it gets repetitive very quickly. I purchased this game because I love all that is Japanese, sadly this fails to impress. The good points, the soundtrack is superb and the story not bad so far but it does have the odd cliche which amuses me when it shouldn't. Maybe I'm missing the point but I don't care for karaoke, fishing, or golfing (the bowling's good though). I want tons of atmosphere, stunning graphics, a large area to explore and a deeply involving story and character which sadly this game lacks. So an average game,not bad but I expected more. Expand
  7. Apr 15, 2017
    0
    C'est l'histoire de programmeurs japonais qui veulent faire un jeu à la GTA et dans un sens, c'est très réussi : je n'ai jamais autant ri.C'est l'histoire de programmeurs japonais qui veulent faire un jeu à la GTA et dans un sens, c'est très réussi : je n'ai jamais autant ri.

    Ri devant ces graphismes de Playstation 2, ri aux voix japonaises (les seules disponibles) ri durant les nombreuses cinématiques ridicules (mais pas trop longtemps quand même, on finit par rire jaune). Ri devant ces boîtes de dialogues en anglais (appuie sur X pour lire la phrase suivante...?)

    J'ai ri aussi devant cette ville que l'on ne peut pas explorer, où l'on ne peut strictement rien faire à dire vrai, sauf suivre le chemin imposé : une ville-couloir, il fallait le faire... ils l'ont fait (Sega c'est plus fort que toi !).

    J'ai ri également devant cette pauvre histoire de yakuzas plus niaise qu'un épisode de Candy, ces combats de rue indignes du plus mauvais jeu de baston, ces boss débiles. L'ambiance sonore est pauvre voire inexistante, la musique... n'en parlons pas. Oh bien sûr j'oubliais, on peut utiliser des objets du décor pour tabasser les tatoués. Tout cela est désopilant et consternant. L'humour japonais sans doute !
    Expand

See all 31 User Reviews