• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Yakuza 4 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 206 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Yakuza 4 returns for another round of open world adventure, this time with four main characters.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Yakuza 4 Kazuma Kiryu Character Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    92
    An excellent sequel for an outstanding series; Yakuza 4 caters to its fans and offers up another wonderful adventure in Kamurocho.
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    90
    The uninitiated may peer into Kamurocho's kaleidoscope and wonder what on Earth is going on, but through the eyes of the converted, the view is as fabulous as ever.
  3. May 12, 2011
    83
    This is one critic who can see through the bullsh.t and has his name down in blood for Yakuza 5.
  4. Mar 16, 2011
    80
    Yakuza 4's production values are through the roof, its plot is gripping and quirky, it's often very funny indeed, and it would undoubtedly sell in millions if it was published by Rockstar rather than Sega.
  5. Mar 26, 2011
    80
    There's a lot to do in this game from playing pachinko, visiting hostess clubs, and beating up punks to participating in the intrigue of organized crime. It's just so far from anything most Westerners are used to that many will have a hard time warming up to it.
  6. Mar 30, 2011
    75
    Yakuza 4 can be a great game but you'll have to look really hard to discover all of the great aspects it has to offer. This game isn't for you if you don't want to look into the deeper meaning of things.
  7. Mar 11, 2011
    60
    Yakuza 4 isn't as compelling as the third game, nor does it introduce a lot of new, interesting features. But it's still a fun romp, and sometimes when I walk down the streets in Kabukicho it feels like I'm back in Shinjuku, and that's a rare feat. Not for everone, but fans of the series could do worse.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Now's the time to play the most underrated game of all time. This is one of the few games that can tell a great story, worry not if you're aNow's the time to play the most underrated game of all time. This is one of the few games that can tell a great story, worry not if you're a newcomer, the games story can be enjoyed throughly even if you haven't played a previous game. Check out a few game play videos and see how brutal the combat really us. Aren't you tired of shooting people in the face already? Wouldn't you rather beat someone down with a Pylon? Not convinced yet, then read this:http://kotaku.com/#!5772702/ping+pong-for-perverts-courtesy-of-video-games. Yeah there's a mini-game where you play ping pong with a hostess and get bonus points for looking at her breast without getting caught....You've been missing out. Buy it Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    This is a game about the mob, its a brawler with many side quests. The story is very deep. With lots of twists. You really feel for theThis is a game about the mob, its a brawler with many side quests. The story is very deep. With lots of twists. You really feel for the characters in the game. And yes its packed with lots of mini games. Which has an great quality over it. If you've played mini games from Super Monkey Ball. Like Monkey Billiards and Bowling and such mini games. The feel is very similar and accurate and very entertaining. Also anyone that likes japanese culture just a little, would probably like to make babies with this game. It has eng subs and japanese speech to preserve to original feel of asian mobster voice acting. As they have their own words and curse words. Its interesting and It feels natural to listen to them shouting in japanese with deep voices. I highly recommend this game from the deepest reaches of my heart to anyone that likes Japanese culture or this could work as an introduction for you. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Ah Yakuza 4 how i have waited for you and the wait was so worth it. This game which is the forth entry in the yakuza series to come toAh Yakuza 4 how i have waited for you and the wait was so worth it. This game which is the forth entry in the yakuza series to come to america. I personally love this series it is my favorite. I love the story, the gameplay everything. It expands on everything that 3 had and made it better. From the additions to chases and bringing back the hostess clubs there is a lot to do here. The dragon himself returns Kazuma Kiryu and with new friends. The three new guys are Shun Akiyama, Taiga Saejima, and Masayoshi Tanimura each with their own stories and special sidemissions. I wont tell much of the story but it is the best in my opinion. If have a ps3 and like yakuza get this game. Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2014
    9
    I love this game, every time I think it's almost over something else happens and it gets even longer. I haven't had a game last me this manyI love this game, every time I think it's almost over something else happens and it gets even longer. I haven't had a game last me this many play hours in a long time, and I have hardly done any of the optional quests yet. I guess I need to do this one by category.

    Combat: It's fun, not amazing or anything, I would say a lot like the Batman Arkham series, but without the need to use certain attacks for certain foes. You can upgrade your attacks in different ways by leveling up, and there are many different upgrades to chose from. You can also equip weapons(sledgehammers, bats, guns), or pick up things off the ground (signs, bicycles, couches...). All in all, combat gets an 8/10 for being both fun and brutal.

    Story: Amazing, I am on the last chapter and watching everything unfold is great. It's certainly the highlight of the game with a little bit of everything. I want to write more on this, but I don't want to give anything away, 10/10 hands down the best story I have seen in a game this console generation.

    Side missions: There are a lot, and they are great. Some of the side missions are stories in themselves and certainly add a lot of depth to the game. Again I can't say much about them without giving spoilers, but it's easily a 10/10 as well.

    Graphics: Stunning, the character models alone are great, which made it very clear why the game was a 22 gig download. The city is vibrant, and well constructed as well. The only thing that could be considered bad is that you end up seeing a lot of the same faces as random encounters, but again, the game is already 22 gigs, so I will only take off 1 point for that. I will give the graphics a 9/10.

    Audio: it's all in Japanese and some Chinese, so you will have to do a lot of reading, which is something I don't really care for, but it's well worth doing. The music doesn't really stand out, mostly just random scores that are meant to match the mood of the scenario, which is about what you would expect from this type of game. I would give it a 7/10, but it's certainly not an aspect I care about either.

    Mini-games: I don't even know how to rate these. There are just so many, and some are bad, while some are very entertaining. But I don't think you have to do any of them for the main story line or side quests, or at least not do well on them. Most of them are easy to pick up after some getting used to, but hard to master. Some of the mini games are; bowling, ping pong, batting cages, arcade shooter, arcade crane game, fishing, darts, golf, pool, and an entire assortment of casino games. I am sure I am missing some, but all in all I would give the mini games a 10/10 for numbers, and a 6/10 for functionality, so sum it up at about 8/10.

    All in all, I really want to give this game a 10/10, but feel a 9/10 is more fair. I loved it any think anyone not willing to pay the 20 dollars for the download is crazy. Just keep in mind, it is 22 gigs, so make sure you have to room before you download!
    Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    I don't think this is GTA in Japan. It's something else. The story is alright, but what you get is better than most games. The graphics areI don't think this is GTA in Japan. It's something else. The story is alright, but what you get is better than most games. The graphics are decent as well. The gameplay is alright. The minigames are alright. What makes this game good is all of those aspects combined. The game is sort of open world, there is a lot of things to do besides the main story. When I beat the game, I was only 10% done! Some of the cutscenes are fun to watch, and occasionally funny. There is nothing too cringeworthy here, just pure japanese gaming bliss. Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2016
    8
    Yakuza 4 is an open-world brawler set in an immersive environment. The combat is not deprived of nuance and is quite fun and addictive. TheYakuza 4 is an open-world brawler set in an immersive environment. The combat is not deprived of nuance and is quite fun and addictive. The RPG elements are few and far between but they do a good job of keeping things fresh by introducing new combat mechanics, moves and perks throughout the experience. That said, it is really the world, story and characters that make up the true heart of this title; I cannot think of any game that can rival this cast of characters in terms of charisma and engagement. The production value is up there with the best of the crop.There are also plenty of mini games that are surprisingly well integrated and fun. Yakuza 4 is without a doubt one of the greatest achievement of the last generation and a genuine example of a never dying breed of underrated gems. An immersive experience wrapped in a generous layer of fun. Ignore at your own risk. Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2017
    0
    Pas de gros changements d'un Yakuza à l'autre : c'est toujours aussi dirigiste et linéaire, la mise en scène toujours aussi ridicule, les voixPas de gros changements d'un Yakuza à l'autre : c'est toujours aussi dirigiste et linéaire, la mise en scène toujours aussi ridicule, les voix japonaises (sous-titrées en anglais) sont à se tordre et si les cinématiques atteignent un niveau technique presque acceptable, l'environnement du jeu lui-même est juste à peine moins laid que dans Yakuza 3, lui-même à peine moins laid qu'une vieille croûte PS2..

    Par ailleurs, quelques bugs font dresser les cheveux sur la tête, comme par exemple ces jolis reflets lorsqu'il pleut, de belle facture, reflets qui disparaissent brutalement et entièrement lorsqu'on incline légèrement la caméra vers le bas... il faut la voir pour la croire, cette programmation de Kossovar !

    Pour le reste, entre deux cinématiques de blabla interminables, c'est de la baston très bête et sans intérêt et la foire aux combos idiots. La présentation générale baigne toujours autant dans le mauvais goût, les menus, les boîtes de dialogues, tout est à l'avenant. La licence Yakuza reste fidèle à elle-même, une telle constance à végéter dans le marasme vidéo-ludique est un pathétique exploit !
    Expand

See all 41 User Reviews