User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    0
    For Christ's sake I wish people who worked on these games would just STOP! writing bogus user reviews on metacritic.
    Four 10's? LMFAO OK I know you're proud and all, but like every preppy parent in Park Slope, Brooklyn, you did NOT just give birth to the greatest thing EVER!! There is absolutely NOTHING in this game that warrants a 10/10. It is cluttered, messy, and a little bit broken.
    At best it's a 5/10, 6.5 with a patch. But for the sake of balancing out the "pro-trolls"' Zack gets a ZERO.
    Ha. Pro- trolls....
    Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    What a surprise! a game totally unknown for me before this week, so I googled it, found few reviews, but really good ones. So I decided to give it a try. And I'm impressed. Colorful graphics, really addictive gameplay (with some metroidvania touches) , easy to play, brilliand level design and very good final bosses. A really good platformer and one of the best downloadable games I have played so far. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2012
    7
    Good graphics and variation. Some bugs like freezing when connected on PSN, endless fall on invisible holes, but it worth play with the classic platform style but with the power changing very well executed.
  4. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    A very nice title to play, with a colourful scenarios and its length is bigger than other similar games. Excellent quality / price rate.
    A must for all people like platform genre.
  5. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    The surprise of the beginning of 2012 is this old school platformer with good combat combined with some puzzles to solve to add variety, and plenty of secrets to be found, including a tribute to an old game by one of the developers. It has very good graphics between Ratchet and Clank and Trine and a very good music to round up the package. Despite some flaws that can frustrate at times, it's a totally recommended title Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    1
    Just looking at the graphics of the game makes my eyes hurt. Why, oh why everybody thinks that 100% saturation and "special effects" with all colors of a rainbow all over the whole screen is nice? It's horrible.
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    5
    A old school platformer in 3D environment, have to give to the developer, the graphic(background) is pretty nice, and the music is easily the best part of the game. Although clearly no time as dedicated to the story nor the character. The powers come off as bit generic but still fun to use adn have awesome visuals to them

    The idea of giving depth and multiple layer on the game is
    brilliant however the execution is somewhat lacking as no clear boundaries are present to indicate extra platforms. Moreover, there are a lot of hidden area that are impossible to find as the only way to find them is by falling and hoping that we fall on platform, which is rare since there's this mechanic that kills and prevent you from extending your jump when you first jump to a platform but a tad bit late. Now this is a problem because the destination platform is actually reachable if the game let you jump for the second time. Button mashing combat although it's okay here since the focus was puzzle and platforming.

    There are glitches here and there but nothing major, the worst glitch i ever had was suddenly phasing through wooden plank and stuck in the middle, but it happened only once so grosso modo no problem.

    In the end, Zack Zero provides you with visual and audio delight and gives you good and fun platforming and simple combat if you choose to stick with the main road. But this game is not for you who wants to try to explore(even though it was created to cater those people), all thanks to the broken mechanic placed in the game that kills you even when normally you still could save yourself. Not saying the idea even the execution of this game is bad, it's just some of the design choices are simply confusing as I have explained in the previous paragraph.
    Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. Apr 21, 2012
    75
    Zack Zero is an uncomplicated action-platformer with lots of variation. The game might come across a slightly formulaic, but that doesn't negate all the fun you'll have completing all of the challenges to save your beloved Marlene.
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    58
    Zack Zero stumbles through his adventure to save his beautiful girlfriend. Unfortunately, the game's puzzles are too simple and the story is never compelling. On the other hand, the graphics are incredible and there's a lot of variety to the stage backgrounds. Fans of 16-bit platformers will get a kick out of some of the concepts, but you're better off finding a Sega Genesis on eBay!
  3. 80
    Good ol' retro-style platformer with the highlights coming through level design and array of wacky enemy-types.