Zone of the Enders HD Collection PlayStation 3

Zone of the Enders HD Collection Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zone of the Enders HD Collection bundles together both of the Zone of the Enders games and updates them with HD visuals.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    90
    One of the more exciting and worth-your-money HD Collections available to date.
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    81
    Whether you still harbour fond memories of the franchise or never played it back in the day, Zone Of The Enders is definitely worth another look and the HD remaster team have done a sterling job. Oh, and did we mention the Revengeance demo? You'll want that too.
  3. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    The Zone of the Enders HD collection is a very rich package: the perfect opportunity for both old and new fans to experience a great classic from Kojima Productions.
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    75
    Zone of the Enders HD is a great collection. The first one feels a bit dated and simplistic, but the second one is definitely one of the best mech games ever made. If you've never played these and find yourself intrigued by the concept, don't hesitate to buy it.
  5. Overall, an uneven, slightly flawed but nontheless enjoyable collection that offers a particular brand of gameplay and storytelling you're hard pushed to find from a current release.
  6. 70
    The first game is absurdly weak and offers little more than a look into the world before it ends abruptly after five hours.
  7. Dec 2, 2012
    40
    Its incredibly short stature makes ZOE an almost pointless re-release, and the de-evolved frame rate handling of 2nd Runner isn't much to pine for unless your PS2 copy was lost, stolen, or destroyed. If this is an effort to get people amped and ready for the recently announced Zone of the Enders 3, fans certainly deserve better than this.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    Having only ever played the first ZOE when it came out on PS2 and loving it to pieces when I was a kid, I was pumped for this the moment itHaving only ever played the first ZOE when it came out on PS2 and loving it to pieces when I was a kid, I was pumped for this the moment it was announced. Having just completed both games in the pack, I can say it's one of the better HD conversions to modern hardware I've seen for a while. And having not played ZOE 2 before, I can say with certainty this is probably one of the best, if not the best action game I've ever played. There are flaws with the game, like the odd framerate stability issue and the occasional difficulty spike, but nothing that can blemish what is one of the best combat engines you'll ever seen in a game taken beyond scales you can imagine (bit with the warships and the vector cannon in ZOE 2). If you call yourself a hardcore gamer, you owe it to yourself to at least give it a shot.

    ZOE 1 is definitely the weaker of the two games (although the plot is easier to follow and the soundtrack is better weirdly) but both feature the genius controls and combat - utilizing the face buttons for ascend and descend plus attacks might seem weird but it's easy to pick up, and when combined with dash on R2 the fights turn into a graceful ballet of swords, lasers and exploding mechs. The lock-on can get confused with the sheer numbers you face in the 2nd runner from time to time, but it's not too big an issue as changing target is easy (assuming you can keep up). And oh yeah - this game is fast. Like, REALLY fast. If you're a newbie you might wanna crank the difficulty down a notch or crack through the first game so you've got a little practice under your belt. I can guarantee you've never played anything quite like this before.

    Developers take note - this is how you upscale a game. Not once did I notice a flat or low-def texture in the entire pack. Everything has been cleaned up really nicely. The first does suffer a little with age (you have to remember it was basically a launch title for the PS2) but it still looks clean as hell and runs well to boot. The 2nd runner takes it to a whole new level though - it's astonishing to think that old black box churned out this level of detail and carnage. Enemy counts go through the roof at times, and there's tons of particle effects and physics going on at the same time. The 50/50 cel shading and realism blend looks fantastic and is a joy to behold.

    That said, the framerate does stutter badly from time to time, especially in 2nd runner. But it's not that often. In fact, the worst drops came when fighting one on one with many of the game's spectacular bosses. Weird how the game can handle 100+ little enemies on screen at the same time (and the subsequent explosions) and it stutters during Anubis fights, but I can forgive it easily. It doesn't impact the flow of gameplay in the slightest.

    I got 4 hours out of ZOE 1 and about 8 hours out of ZOE 2 on normal difficulty, but there's quite a bit of content to get through. You also get a two player versus mode, extra missions in 2nd runner, and the games track your performance and give you rankings for your completion. I already wanna dash through both games again and chase down all the trophies, and the only other game I've done that with is Prototype 2.

    Honestly, give this a shot. The only thing holding back my score is the framerate issues. If anything, buying this game is a vote to see a ZOE 3. Hell, borrow it or rent it to give it a shot. If you've never heard of ZOE or played it then this is a masterpiece. Oh, and it comes with an awesome Metal Gear Rising demo.
    Collapse
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    Zone of the Enders HD brings together one of Kojima's lesser known titles. The title "High Speed Robot Action" doesn't fit too well with thisZone of the Enders HD brings together one of Kojima's lesser known titles. The title "High Speed Robot Action" doesn't fit too well with this HD bundle as both the games fall short due to their framerates. ZOE 1's framerate keeps up and doesn't let the experience die down, but ZOE 2 lacks in speed due to the framerate continuously dropping during its shinnying moments. ZOE 1 & 2 both haven Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2016
    8
    Zone of the Enders HD Collection. Bundling together two great games into one great package.

    The original Zone of the Enders was a classic,
    Zone of the Enders HD Collection. Bundling together two great games into one great package.

    The original Zone of the Enders was a classic, with unique mech combat and fun gameplay. The second was that and so much more, providing a lightning fast hack and slash that tests your reflexes and skills. Both of them together, revitalized in HD, is a great deal.

    Gameplay of the original Zone of the Enders was centered around a high-tech mech called an Orbital Frame. Full 360 degree control and combat ability were the highlights, though the game does feel a little bit dated now. The second game provided a much more solid and fast paced experience. The first game could feel a bit bogged down and methodical, whereas the second game was all about speed and precision. Bouncing to and from multiple enemies and hacking them to pieces before barraging a group with homing lasers and moving back in to sweep up the stragglers is cathartic and fun, with full 360 degree movement in open spaces. The boss fights in both games feel great, and in going up against the impossible to beat Anubis is both terrifying and thrilling. In the second game towards the end, when you become equal to Anubis, the ability to teleport to enemies and tear them to pieces makes the action even faster, and makes you feel like a real badass when you're able to clear entire rooms in a massive enemy gauntlet. Both games are great and worth playing in their own rights.

    However, some criticisms must come with the story and dialogue. A B-team of voice actors were called in for both dubs, and the dialogue feels stilted and awkward all the time, making it hard to actually get into the story, and the stories of both games aren't that immersive. On top of that, both games are woefully short, and you can complete either in just 3 or 4 hours, less than if you're an experienced player.

    On top of that, the game's performance on launch was dreadful, with framerate dropping down to 10 frames a second for the second game during the more intense sequences. Luckily, this was later fixed by Hexa Drive, and the game now runs fantastically smoothly.

    Both Zone of the Enders and The Second Runner are fun to play, and are worth their price in the amount of fun you can have, and despite shortcomings, they're still great games that I can replay from time to time.
    Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    Certainly flawed by issues such as the framerate, short playtime on the first game and some other minorities, ZOE HD is still a decent gameCertainly flawed by issues such as the framerate, short playtime on the first game and some other minorities, ZOE HD is still a decent game collection. If you already own both games for you good ol' PS2, it's probably not recommended. If you liked them but don't have 'em anymore, reach out and grab this.
    It's very fast-paced and enjoyable for what it is and the HD-ed graphics work decently well for this title. As far as the story goes it's hit or miss, either you like anime-ish space-war-robot stuff or you don't. If you don't this might not be for you. For returning lovers of the old version and the ones that like the story however, this is worth the coin and it gets a lot of sympathy points from nostalgia.
    Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    This is pretty much the benchmark for when I measure any current games quality. Zone of the Enders Anubis (“The second Runner” in someThis is pretty much the benchmark for when I measure any current games quality. Zone of the Enders Anubis (“The second Runner” in some countries) on the Zone of the Enders HD Collection, is truly great, at the very least it’s one of the greatest.

    What’s really strange is that with the previous game (Zone of the Enders) feels almost the complete opposite end of the enjoyment spectrum to play.

    Zone of the enders is Mech combat in the loosest sense that you pilot a Mech and there is combat; all of which, is aerial and fast paced as opposed to the heavy stereotype often given to this genre. The games have an intense story mode; in each version you play as a frame runner (pilot) that newly experiences the Orbital Frame, Jehuty (The Mech) and brings their unique personality to the table; what I will say is that the voice acting is some of the greatest you will hear to date, and there are extremely emotional moments in each game that will truly move you.

    In the first game though; there’s way too much rubbish, and it can honestly be said, free roaming doesn’t benefit the player at all when it comes to this style of game. Everything’s small yet open ended and often the direction feels like a complete mess when you analyse what you’re actually meant to do. Figuring everything out will give you a solid 5 hours on a first play, but the game itself if you know what to do takes 45 minutes or so at best. Also sub weapon changes can only be done realistically in advance of a battle without having to push start, as it would require a third hand in combat If playing hard mode due to being allocated to the D-pad.

    Also enemy and mission variety is very stale in the first instalment, and it’s honestly the plot that drove me time and again to complete this both now and when I were much younger. It’s interesting that when I completed this game alongside my girlfriend who was watching me do so, her “Is that it?” comment pretty much summarised the whole game.

    Zone of the Enders Anubis (The Second Runner) however is everything the first game should have been and more; the game even has a very recognizable art style in its sequel which has even received a massive upgrade on the HD release, with the developers going so far as to change every single polygonal model, and redraw and colour each animated scene frame by frame to match the games resolution.

    Most importantly the games controls have a massive variety of uses, yet are extremely intuitive, piloting Jehuty is as simple as using the left analogue stick to move, and triangle and cross for ascent and descent, while square commands main weapons and circle supports sub weapons and grab commands. Sub weapons now are accessible from pressing the L1 button (momentarily pausing combat to make the choice easily) as opposed to the dpad live, and more importantly, sub weapons actually have a use now as they are not only introduced in linear fashion, but they also work practically as alternatives to basic combat.

    I know that linear gameplay can sometimes be taboo, but not when it doesn’t feel like one big hallway. The freshness isn’t far removed from the linearity of the Half Life series to be more precise, only Zone of the Enders has a much more captivating plot, and in a lot of ways it has much better voice acting; more so to think that the whole thing is dubbed. I can’t move during cut scenes, but to be fair, I don’t really want to as I never feel robbed of my time while watching genuinely amazing performances on screen; There are definitely exceptions to the no cut scenes rule, and this one of them.

    Also enemies are not only highly varied, but the levels and ways you encounter them are too; this further accents the additional sub weapons; in a very Megaman sense, you’ll find that certain abilities work better than others depending on the situations. The game never gets boring, and when you finally think that it is, the game throws a whole new way to play in and keeps you going for longer.

    In both games Jehuty levels up, but you never feel like you have “avatar strength” and it’s always hard as the enemies level up with you, increasing their speed and strategies as well, making for harder gameplay as you level up, and not ease of enemy disposal as it is with most other games that adopt the RPG style; What sets this apart from other games with hack and slash elements like ‘Devil May Cry’ is that you literally could beat enemies up and throw them around with endless possibilities; in games like ‘Devil May Cry’ however, eventually you just repeat the same most effective combo with no need to change up.
    Expand
  6. Feb 29, 2016
    7
    I have never played any Z.O.E games, but I thought I would review this HD collection to review the improvements. aaand i was disappointed.I have never played any Z.O.E games, but I thought I would review this HD collection to review the improvements. aaand i was disappointed. There are heaps of graphics issues in ZOE, and 2nd Runner. The framerate would often drop below 30, seriously damaging the experience. They did patch up the graphics issues, but only for 2nd Runner, and only the PS3 version. These issues are what put Enders Project on hold. It does come with a demo for Metal Gear Rising, which is nice, but there's no replayability. If you want to get this collection, buy it on the PS3, but the only reason you'd want to buy it is if you loved ZOE on the PS2, or your'e desperate to play Metal Gear Rising. Otherwise, don't buy this. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    3
    I strongly suggest you never launch this first part of this collection, even if you got it for free.
    Zone of the enders is unplayable mess
    I strongly suggest you never launch this first part of this collection, even if you got it for free.
    Zone of the enders is unplayable mess from every point of view.

    Plot is non-existant, main character makes me want to kill him every time he opens his mouth.

    Worst of all are awful gameplay mechanics and fact that this is unplayable without a strategy guide, because game NEVER explain what needs to be done next so its up to you to decide which of 5 already finished levels you must visit for 5th time to get another "password" to progress further.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews