Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Dec 1, 2013
    100
    Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is a game I enjoyed immensely. It controls and plays better than Assassin’s Creed III and its hard not to enjoy causing all sorts of mayhem on land and sea.
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    90
    Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag is a damn good game that has little flaws attached to it, which is impressive for a launch title.
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    Stealth games are only as good as the flexibility of their encounters, and in that regard Black Flag is the most generous Assassin’s Creed game to date.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag doesn’t move the franchise forward as a whole—but it doesn’t need to. Instead, this is probably the best pirate simulation in gaming history that successfully lays the groundwork for what’s to come in the series.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    At the end of a generation, Ubisoft gives us a new and great chapter of Assassin's Creed. Black Flag, despite some congenital defects, works great, focusing on the exploration and a free roaming component refreshed for the widest audience.
  6. 90
    Besides being an excellent Assassin's Creed game, Black Flag is also the best pirate game we can remember playing, and makes us wonder why more studios haven't tried their hand at the genre. Black Flag delivers. Yo-ho, yo-ho, a pirate's life for me!
  7. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    Beautiful, expansive and rewarding. Fresh experiences mark a return to form. [Christmas 2013, p.66]
  8. Nov 8, 2013
    90
    There's an incredible scope to what you can do in Black Flag, with a level of harmony between its component parts that encourages you to try it all, and a story that keeps you invested throughout the whole thing. If there was ever any question that Assassin's Creed needed something ambitious to get the series back on track, Black Flag is that game and then some.
  9. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    An ambitious start for Assassin's Creed on next-gen. The vibrant Caribbean world and bloody piracy shine brightest, while the only sour notes come from contrived series story beats and repetitive missions--both need rethinking for AC5.
  10. Jan 2, 2014
    88
    With a great cast of characters and a huge world to explore, this next-generation sequel is the best installment since Assassin's Creed II.
  11. Apr 20, 2014
    90
    The PlayStation 4 version of the game is mechanically the same as the PlayStation 3 version, but the new engine is eye-poppingly awesome.
  12. Dec 27, 2013
    90
    The best pirate game ever. [Jan 2014, p.51]
  13. Oct 29, 2013
    92
    It doesn't solve some of the oldest issues of the saga, but Black Flag is nonetheless a great piece of entertainment software, especially thanks to the rich environment, the interesting underlying plot and the almost infinite list of stuff to do while wandering around.
  14. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    I'm still waiting until we get a modern assassin game out of this universe, but until then Black Flag breathes a whole new energy back into the series. It also looks stunning on the PlayStation 4 and offers a lot of bang for your buck.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 664 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 125
  2. Negative: 11 out of 125
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    much much improved than last year's edition,the vast open world and lush islands are marvels to watch upon and experience.Ubisoft should win next gen with its open world game imo Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2013
    0
    This game is disguised under an epic illusion. It seems the map is very big, but where most elements repeat.
    Too many repetitive side
    missions. And the main missions are very repetitive as well. In addition, the environment is very repetitive. Anyway, every thing is repetitive, making the game fatiguing.
    I remembered AC II was so enjoyable, while You never expect an experience as assassin in AC IV. This franchise has lost the soul of assassin. The only left is a coat. When I was playing the game, I always ask myself: why I have to wear like an assassin?
    The pirate part is not bad for me, but I am soon bored with flat sea face, and you will soon be bored with The naval battle under same pattern.
    This is a game, lack of soul, full of repetitive mechanism and will be forgotten soon.
    Never compare AC IV even with GTA V which is still 10 times better than AC IV in quality.
    IMO, The AC III and IV shouldn't be in Assassin's Creed franchise.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    Let me first say that I'm a huge fan of the Assassin's Creed franchise and have no problem with annual releases. That being said, this may be my favorite in the series yet! Ezio from AC2 is an incredible character, but our new assassin Edward is equally impressive and a joy to play with. Never has the world felt so alive and rich with things to see and do. Travelling around the open seas in sunny weather with the wind at your back, or battling the raging waves in a storm while engaged in a heart pounding navel battle in your ship never gets old.

    The stealth and melee gameplay is as tight as ever, but my only minor complaint is I wish Ubisoft would have gave our assassin the ability to duck at will. There are plenty of character and ship upgrades to keep you looking for resources through most of the game (think Farcry 3), a cool mini game where you send your fleet out to trade resources, underwater exploration, and tons of side quests.

    The PS4 version looks beautiful! While not a true next-gen title there are lots of added effects for your eyes to enjoy. Weather and lighting are much improved, foliage is more dense and reacts to wind more realistic, improved framerate and draw distance, and many other subtle things to improve an already amazing looking game. So do yourself a favor if you enjoy action and adventure, pirate and assassin's, go out and buy this game now! If you don't like the Assassin's Creed series then you may want to rent it first, but there's a chance you may end up enjoying it.
    Full Review »