Metascore
27

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the basement, explore dark, sinister arenas and be at one with the insanity. Bomberman inspired mechanics bring party games to the next generation level. Staying alive won't be easy. The only way to survive is to become death itself, crushing all opponents. Fight with, or against your friends in a intensive, packed with action online and offline game modes. And remember, because of the horror-based graphics and themes, it's best if you don't play this game alone in the dark. You never know what might be hiding behind you.

    -Dynamic action game that can be played even by four players on one PlayStation4 system at the same time.
    -Up to 8 players online on the battleground.
    -Dozens of traps and skills make lots of different ways to slaughter your opponents
    -Pick from four characters, take advantage of their skills and play it in your own style
    -Video output in Full HD 1080p requires 1080p native display.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 15 out of 16
  1. Feb 26, 2014
    50
    Basement Crawl is a reasonably-priced, well-made game lacking the features to make it a must-have. It simply doesn’t offer enough as a multiplayer-only game to fully recommend as a purchase to anyone other than folks who are dying for Bomberman on the PS4.
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    40
    The idea behind it –a dark Bomberman– was ok, but the lack of tutorials and the confusing design makes it hard to play and enjoy.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    40
    This should be a grindhouse version of Bomberman, but the game is poor, tantalized by netcode and matchmaking problems, and in the end a very discouraging arcade.
  4. Mar 11, 2014
    25
    It's possible that, one day in the future, Basement Crawl might be worth checking out, but at this point in time, I wouldn't bet on it.
  5. Feb 28, 2014
    20
    Basement Crawl is not only a broken, unfinished game -- it's also a poor one.
  6. Mar 7, 2014
    20
    Developer Bloober Team has promised to address some of the issues with the game, but as it stands, Basement Crawl is a trainwreck.
  7. Depressing fare. [May 2014, p.83]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 7 out of 7
  1. Mar 3, 2014
    3
    It's a bad Bomberman clone, that's all that it is. The SNES version of Bomberman is superior, far superior, to this. Stay away, far away. It's not worth your time, or money. You can find much better budget titles than this. Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    3
    I wasn't expecting a AAA title with a $10 pricetag, but even my mildest expectations were left completely unfulfilled. This game feels like an early demo at best. There are literally no gameplay options whatsoever. Want to play longer than super quick 3 minute rounds? Tough luck. Would you rather play with a stock number of lives instead of time rounds? Sorry, kiddo. Hoping for more than 3 environments with only slight variations of each? You've come to the wrong place. The devs have made each battle play the exact one way they feel is best, and there's nothing you can do to change it.

    The stripped down nature of this game is even more apparent in the complete lack of any AI-controlled bots. I appreciate the fact that the devs were trying to introduce a game that encourages local multiplayer (because nowadays that's becoming harder and harder to come by), but how can you expect players to want to play a bomberman clone only one on one? Not having a single player mode is one thing, but not allowing two players to take the field with two other computer players is unacceptable. I played multiple rounds head to head against my roommate but after about 30 minutes we gave up. The rounds are WAY too short and due to the random placement of your players in can sometimes take half the battle just getting close enough to the other player to do some damage. This might be somewhat forgiveable if playing online was effectively done, but after spending TWO HOURS trying to get into a game without a single successful attempt, the only thing I want now is a refund.

    Even if I had been able to set up a game with multiple opponents, this still wouldn't overcome the fact that some of the controls and visuals are a mess. There are only 4 available characters to choose from, and their visual design combined with the zoomed out view of an already cluttered board can often make it very difficult to tell which way they are facing and/or if they are in the path of an impending explosion. On top of this, I noticed several instances where it would take multiple button presses for my character to throw bombs, particularly after spawning, and there were even times where one of my explosions would miss the opposing player entirely despite them being in direct path of the explosion (you can also see evidence of this in YouTube gameplay videos).

    One other thing that really bothers me: the music, or rather the lack thereof. I was all for a dark and horror-themed atmosphere going into this, but you don't need near-silence in order to achieve this. Save for a few spooky sounds in the backround, there's practically no music at all. How did the devs not think this was going to be an issue? Especially for a game that strives so hard for fast, replayable matches, the lack of any catchy tunes at all ramps up the boredom threshold very quickly.

    What's most frustrating is that as a big Bomberman fan I was really looking forward to this, and there are glimpses of what I loved about that franchise at the heart of Basement Crawl. They really could have made a very popular game with very little competition out there at the moment. Instead, what we have here feels like an extremely rushed and poorly constructed demo that doesn't even make the cheap pricetag seem justifiable. Hopefully they listen to the responses from players and make some serious improvements through future patches and updates, because otherwise Bloober Team is going to have a very hard time convincing gamers to buy their next game.
    Expand
  3. May 20, 2014
    2
    The following review was posted by Rik one of our writers over at simplyplaystationgaming.com

    It was not supposed to be like this.

    When
    Bloober first announced Basement Crawl, it’s fair to say that I got very excited. My first experience with Bomberman was in the late 90′s in a combination of booze and local multiplayer mayhem. It was absolutely insane. For anyone that has never played Bomberman, the core gameplay here is that you’re a character and your goal is to kill all other characters. Essentially there are three ways to kill someone in Bomberman, by setting traps, by trapping someone in a corner or by deviously panicking someone into suicide. You all start off in different corners of a static map needing to bomb through brick to get to other players to build up the excitement and then there are the power ups and evil ups to keep you on your toes. There is a balance that’s hard to explain and it’s simply one of the best multiplayer games. Ever. So… You’ll forgive me that when I saw the first video of Basement Crawl that I made an instant connection and the game went on my “day zero” buy list. I also went vocal about this, explaining my thoughts to PS4 mates. For less than a tenner it was considered by all to be a fair bet to increase the number of PS4 titles owned… The week leading up launch day, 26th Feb, was genuinely exciting. We had planned a session in the SimplyPSGaming community. Being fully aware of launch day issues we went in with an open mind. It was still a bit of a disaster to put it positively. So, I found a news article the next day that suggested that feedback was welcomed, so I emailed the following based on launch night:- I play in a community (simplypsgaming) and last night we had 7 of us trying to connect together to play. Firstly, when it works it’s blinding and brilliant. However I saw the following issues: - - game would hang on the screen where it shows the controls - game would start and clock would be counting down but there would be no players or blocks - game would start and clock would be counting down but there would be no players spawning - game appeared to have some invisible players that were playing and laying bombs but I couldn’t see. Four of my friends found the following issues: - - whether following an invite or browsing to a game, the players list would be empty – these guys would often be stuck on this empty waiting for game screen - some would see the game crash I didn’t think I got it too bad but overall the night was not considered a success. Some things we discussed that would improve the game/interface… - give the players colours (red/brown/yellow/green/blue/pink/white/black?) – when playing with people you know it would be handy to have a better feel for who you’re stalking and it makes it more personal. You could provide a key of colours vs players too. When playing with multiple friends it’s good to know who you can throw banter at over party chat. Having multiple versions of the same character with exactly the same colours ruins the personal revenge aspect for sure! - have a private function where you can choose not to have randoms joining you. This was definitely annoying. - what is global rank? Any chance of showing when you progress global rank – maybe a profile page? I’m happy supporting the game so let me know if there is anything else you’d like feedback on or whether you need any assistance in testing any patches so we can start to play this game regularly in the community I’m in. :) The canned response:- Hi Rik, thanks a lot for your feedback, we are currently working on solving these issues and adding new features to the game. Sorry about your problems. Pozdrawiam/Regards Aron Cender Marketing Manager Now, more than a month later, it’s a game that I can’t play. The lack of SP campaign, not living with other gamers and it being dropped by many players means that the hectic MP action is not delivered. On the rare occasions when there is a lobby that has more than one player, I am not able to connect. In the meantime my understanding is that Sony are telling people to wait for the patch before they provide a refund. Please fix it soon, Bloober! Expand
  4. Feb 26, 2014
    2
    Lacking any tutorial based anything, and no real single player experience, Basement Crawl is a Bomberman clone that feels more like a bad Twisted Metal side game than anything else. I experienced a lot of server lag, and the art makes it hard to see what is exactly going on. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2014
    1
    No puedo creer que compre un juego que no esta terminado, como lo pueden sacar a la venta así ?
    Estaba emocionado por este juego como fan de
    Bomberman pero fue una gran desilusion Collapse
  6. Apr 5, 2014
    1
    This game is a waste of time and money and has no reason to exist.

    Basement Crawl has the player go into mazes and do missions but
    ultimately it is a bomber man clone. From bugs to glitchs there is no point to buying and playing this game and you should take your $10-$15 and buy something more economical like McDonalds, at least you will reap some benefit for doing that.

    There is no gameplay what so ever and even if there were It is a mission to get past the server lag and bugs. Spend your money on something else serously
    Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2014
    0
    This game is disgusting. It is so broken, I just came from a game where no one was in it , none of us could play. I waited the two minutes everyone got zeroes. This is unforgivable, this happened three times.

    The sound track is horrible.

    I cannot believe I payed 15 dollars for this.... how can a bomberman clone be so broken.
    I'm emailing sony about this.
    Expand