Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1471 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Dec 2, 2013
    90
    It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feelsAbsolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2014
    9
    Is this the reason why you bought a New Gen console? It was for me. And yes, I remember the extreme frustration that came with not being ableIs this the reason why you bought a New Gen console? It was for me. And yes, I remember the extreme frustration that came with not being able to play this game. However, I was fortunate enough to trade in for multiple PS4 games so when Battlefield wasn't working I could play Assassin's Creed, Fifa, etc.

    However, if this was the only game I bought and the only reason I got a PS4, this game would get a score of 1... at the time at least. Now with the looming Battlefield Hardline, I thought I'd mention that this game is better than Battlefield 3 on previous gen consoles. 64 players make it hectic, fun, but can strain a slower internet.

    The single player campaign is more enjoyable than 3 but not quite the caliber of the Bad Company series. It's also relatively short (I beat it in around 7-8 hours) and I have a tough time not thinking that Call of Duty: Ghosts had a better story with more interesting "set pieces" even if it was over-the-top Hollywoodized.

    Comparisons aside, Battlefield 4 does offer a lot of variety in it's well-polished multiplayer and it can be fun to lone wolf as a sniper or help out random allies. However, Battlefield is the most fun while playing with friends and squadmates that know what they're doing and play their roles well.

    I'm also glad to see "Base and Spawn humping" has been addressed, ie. jets no longer have to take off and enemies cannot get to your base. That doesn't mean a game cannot be severely mismatched due to some balancing issues. I found myself quitting out of unbalanced matches after only one map and staying in balanced matches longer than I should have.

    I also think Battlefield 4 creates a better since of accomplishment doling out upgrades, new gear, awards, and "battle boxes" frequently. And balancing weapons and equipment better than predecessors.

    The vehicle controls take some time to get used to and are quite difficult. That can be a good thing because Air Superiority can more easily be combated. It feels as if the game has a more "rock, scissors, paper" approach to combat and an infantryman with the right equipment and skill can actually repel or defeat armored attacks.

    I also found myself using the PS Share feature for those awe-inspiring moments that your friends may not have believed in the past. Now you have proof.

    You may have heard of Levolution (sp?). Levolution basically alters the way a map or area plays. It is not a fluid organic thing however. It is a scripted event that you typically know is coming and when. They are cool, but some levels end up being cooler than others. Examples include map flooding, hurricanes, skyscrapers collapsing, etc.

    Also, I'm a big fan of multiple approaches in a multiplayer match, especially with this franchise, and Battlefield 4 really seems to take this into consideration. There aren't as many bottleneck areas or areas where a tank can dominate . Basically, all maps feel like they were tested thoroughly to ensure the proper ebb and flow of combat and to discourage any one aspect from dominating a map.

    Some negative staples of the Battlefield franchise still exist, like the aforementioned server imbalance, nerfed sniping, awkward melee, taking an objective only to lose it right after leaving, and "micro transactions leading to dominance" among a few other issues.

    Speaking of transactions. I am a fan of the Premium service. I waited and purchased it when the third DLC came out because I still got access to previous Gold Packs, Premium exclusive content (typically aesthetic), and it financially made since. However, I hate the fact that anyone can spend real money to unlock the best weapons, equipment, etc. It's pricey and a person still has to have the skill to back it up, but it can be frustrating in certain scenarios (especially with jets) or when your gun does get outmatched.

    Also, in case you didn't know; Battlepacks have different tiers (gold, bronze, etc) and have random goodies inside. These are typically scopes, camo, etc. and the odds of getting something more useful are increased (if not guaranteed) with the higher quality battlepacks. You can also spend real money on these.

    None of the micro-transactions should surprise you if you knew that EA publishes this franchise.

    All in all, I've had my fun with this game. The DLC is arguably worth it (I love it), Battlefield 4 is not perfect, but it is great. And I'm not quite ready for a new Battlefield to come out. I'd give this game a 9.5 now if I could.
    Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Well first of all two words, Amazing Shooter. This game is more realistic than Battlefield 3. Campaign is amazing. The thing I liked aboutWell first of all two words, Amazing Shooter. This game is more realistic than Battlefield 3. Campaign is amazing. The thing I liked about multiplayer is Levolution. This thing is a moment of seeing buildings destroyed. Although I wished that all maps have Levolution. This game is better than COD. Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2013
    7
    it's alright. That's about it really.

    If you like BF3 you'll probably like BF4, they aren't a world apart as some would have you believe,
    it's alright. That's about it really.

    If you like BF3 you'll probably like BF4, they aren't a world apart as some would have you believe, but it is a slight upgrade, and it isn't bad.

    Just be prepared to pay the price of 2 or 3 games for the DLC they will churn out.
    Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2014
    6
    The game has a much better campaign than call of duty but the online multiplier is slower. I know you battlefield 4 fans are saying " ButThe game has a much better campaign than call of duty but the online multiplier is slower. I know you battlefield 4 fans are saying " But that's how it is in real life." The Problem is most people don't play video games to be in real life. In-fact its the exact opposite most people play video games to escape from reality because there regular life is to boring or doesn't have enough excitement. They want to have power in the video game world, not be regular. I don't want to play a game that puts me right back into real life. But put that aside Battle field 4 has great graphics amazing weapons and the campaign is better than COD's. And for all you people out there that want a first person shooter that's life like, this is the game for you. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    3
    If this game actually worked I would give it a 9. The graphics are amazing. The levelution is amazing, the weapons and customization isIf this game actually worked I would give it a 9. The graphics are amazing. The levelution is amazing, the weapons and customization is amazing. The vehicles are amazing! The problem? You can't play the f'n game!!! If you can't even login and play the multiplayer game, then all the rest of the amazing features are totally useless! Most people get part way through the single player campaign to get a blue screen error message and lose ALL of their progress! Only having to start over and it errors out again! Frustrating. The multiplayer is even worse. You can't login to a game most of the time. When you do login to a game and start having fun, it loses connection. The "join" buttons are not accurate, they function differently than what the screen says they do. When playing, the graphics blur out every 60 seconds. There is no sound during the start of the game. No one can even play conquest right now, which is the most popular game mode. Horrible!!! Look at the battlelog forums and see the 10000+ complaints replying to the "known bf4 issues and next steps" Expand
  7. May 14, 2015
    0
    Boring campaign multiplayer still has problems. Rubberbanding, hit detection getting killed by giy with 0℅ **** health this game sucks bad andBoring campaign multiplayer still has problems. Rubberbanding, hit detection getting killed by giy with 0℅ **** health this game sucks bad and is embarrement ever since ea tried to compete with cod they killed battlefield Expand

See all 350 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.