Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1647 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Dec 2, 2013
    90
    It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feelsAbsolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Best ps4 game available, get it, love it, play it. What more can I say to pad out this review, how about if you don't love this game you areBest ps4 game available, get it, love it, play it. What more can I say to pad out this review, how about if you don't love this game you are a cissy little girl and shouldn't be allowed near daddy's game console ever again. Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2015
    9
    After a horrible launch with all the bugs and laggy online play this game is finally a game worth buying.

    Still playing it 2 years after
    After a horrible launch with all the bugs and laggy online play this game is finally a game worth buying.

    Still playing it 2 years after launch. Online play is the most fun I have had with my clothes on.

    You cannot beat a BF4 online session into the wee small hours. Yes it's not perfect but i'm still playing it.

    Capiche?
    Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2015
    7
    First thing that comes to mind about this game after putting in a ton of hours is flaws. I'm mainly putting my point across the online gameFirst thing that comes to mind about this game after putting in a ton of hours is flaws. I'm mainly putting my point across the online game play as I didn't complete the campaign portion but the part i did play was fun. Don't get me wrong, online gameplay was fun but there are a ton of glitches that frustrated me beyond frustration. Snipers found glitches behind some rocks, some mechanics wouldn't work and a bit more. Most recent problem is how all the dlc weapon content became locked out of no where after spending so much time achieving most of the weapons. I didn't care for trying as if this happened there's no point in trying to fix it since it'll most likely happen again. I'm not going to pre order Hardline because of how glitchy this game is but hoping it comes out successful. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2015
    6
    This time I didn't even bother to finish the campaign. The multiplayer is not as good as it was in BF3, but it's still good. Not many newThis time I didn't even bother to finish the campaign. The multiplayer is not as good as it was in BF3, but it's still good. Not many new things made here. To be honest I could have been happy if all these new maps were just DLC's for Battlefield 3 and not a whole new game. This game didn't have the same feel to it and this time I bought no DLCs, like I did with BF3.
    It wasn't really necessary to make this game at all.

    (I played this shortly after it came out, I'm just now writing the review)
    Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2014
    4
    ----------------------------------------------------DICE--SUCK------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------DICE--SUCK---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------BIG-TIME-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand
  7. Jul 12, 2015
    0
    The servers are **** 0 out of 10. Nothing fun at all. Takes half the game for your gun to show and map to render. By the way 12 gauge shotgunThe servers are **** 0 out of 10. Nothing fun at all. Takes half the game for your gun to show and map to render. By the way 12 gauge shotgun to the chest from a meter and a half only does 26 damage Expand

See all 363 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.