Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1687 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield 4: E3 2013 Official Commander Mode Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Dec 2, 2013
    90
    It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feelsAbsolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Best ps4 game available, get it, love it, play it. What more can I say to pad out this review, how about if you don't love this game you areBest ps4 game available, get it, love it, play it. What more can I say to pad out this review, how about if you don't love this game you are a cissy little girl and shouldn't be allowed near daddy's game console ever again. Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2015
    9
    What can I say about Battlefield 4 other than it is just fantastic. I've played countless hours of multiplayer as well as single player and itWhat can I say about Battlefield 4 other than it is just fantastic. I've played countless hours of multiplayer as well as single player and it is one of the best FPS out there. While it did have major bugs on release these fixes have been well and truly fixed and all future DLC will be free.

    Positives:
    +Fantastic shooting gameplay as always within all the multiplayer modes and single player campaign.

    +Much better designed maps than BF3. I thought some of the maps on BF3 were unbalance(Operation Metro) but the design in BF4 maps is much more open and balanced in terms of positional advantage.

    +Multiplayer never fails to entertain for hours if you're interested in that which is about 75% of this game.

    +The sound engineering is exquisite as always

    +Beautiful looking game with the new Frostbite engine

    Negatives:

    -Sniping has become unbalanced with more and more players choosing to be snipers. Its slowly turning into COD on a bigger scale.

    -The physics in terms of the environment is incredibly inconsistent. The jumping over obstacles is random with the player not jumping over small bits of rocks, railings, building materials and even blown up vehicle parts. Vehicles can too easily get stuck behind environmental objects in which it shouldn't be affected as much as it does.

    -Single Campaign is as poor as ever. I know people dont buy BF4 for the campaign but they could at least give a good effort. Seems like the concept was written up in about 5 mins.

    -Even though it has fixed the bugs it was still a terrible decision to release this game in an unfinished state. We can never let EA forget that.

    Overall about an 8.8 rounded to a 9 for Metacritic.
    Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2014
    7
    Battlefield 4 is a FPS made by Dice under the company EA. I picked this up only recently and have decided to make a review on it, I'll shareBattlefield 4 is a FPS made by Dice under the company EA. I picked this up only recently and have decided to make a review on it, I'll share my thoughts of the game as a whole and comparing it to its main rival's in the FPS genre and predecessors of Battlefield games.

    Battlefield isn't usually a game I pick up due to my interests in the more 'unique' and 'quirkier' games. I did play the 360 version of its predecessor Battlefield 3 so I had experience in the franchise beforehand. People who are saying that the graphics haven't improved or look bad are lying to you, it's a visually beautiful game and a credit to console, so from an aesthetic point of view it shouldn't disappoint.

    I did hear about the controversy when it first came out and that it was a broken game with dodgy mechanics but when I got on the game I had to do a 3gb update which I assume sorted out all the bugs within this patch. So it shouldn't be that much of an issue now.

    The online is what you make of it and how you play these particular kind of games, I like to go off tangent personally and go my separate ways from the squad. I had to learn quickly that you can't do that often as you're constantly running to the nearest support for more ammo etc. I also found out that not many people revive like they used to on 3 maybe because you have to unlock the defibrillators but I found that quiet odd while playing.

    I played the first mission of the campaign and I'm glad that I don't need to have two separate discs now to play either online or campaign which is nice. The campaign was unusually fun, I say that because I can't stand Army game campaigns as they have difficulties thinking of new ideas that haven't been done and the stories are ridiculously cliche, but yeah it was okay I know the campaigns enjoyment may possibly dip as I progress.

    In comparison to the latest Cod (Advanced Warfare) it still has the better graphics, even though its been a year later, so that's either a positive on EA's behalf or a negative on Sledgehammers. I personally couldn't care about graphics it doesn't necessarily make a good game in my opinion, I'd much prefer game play and content over graphics any day. The decision is up to you; are you a CoD fan or a Battlefield fan e.g. I personally can not stand CoD so I play Battlefield.

    I rated a 7 because after many years of playing Battlefield there is still not a tutorial on how to fly a Helicopter which I find annoying as everyone seems to use it and is forcing me to play game modes with no vehicles. Also this game is a 7 IMO because it wouldn't be a game I would personally recommend to anyone unfamiliar with the game as at times there is a lot of new information for new players to get used to.

    Defiantly a game for veterans of the Battlefield franchise and for newcomers don't play online until you know how to play the game to it's full extent because people will not give you any sympathy if you're new and you'll end up hating the game because of it hahaha

    Thanks for reading my review of Battlefield 4 (Ps4)
    Happy Hunting

    Ninjo
    Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2016
    6
    Battlefield 4 iba a traernos todo lo bueno de su antecesor pero con más material, más explosiones, más destrucción,... pero antes de alzar elBattlefield 4 iba a traernos todo lo bueno de su antecesor pero con más material, más explosiones, más destrucción,... pero antes de alzar el vuelo ya nos dimos cuenta de que esto no estaba terminado y claro al compararlo con Battlefield 3 salía perdiendo. Battlefield 4 incluía como novedad el aclamado Levolution, pero lo que no sabíamos los usuarios era que esto nos iba a costar perder la destrucción de los edificios (véase en Cruce del Sena, Gran Bazar,...), desaparecieron las bases, y con bases me refiero a la zona de aparición con su pista de despegue, zona de despegue de helicopteros,... (en Battlefield 4 los jets no despegan, ya están en el aire). Me dejo bastantes cosas, las cuales te sacan de la ambientación y hacen notar que no se ha hecho un juego tan cuidado y con cariño como Battlefield 3. A pesar del comienzo desastroso que tuvo, ahora es un juego más estable y que ha añadido contenido gratuito para satisfacer al usuario (no lo han conseguido con todos). Para mucha gente éste es el mejor Battlefield, pero sin duda esa gente no ha probado ninguno de los anteriores. Es increíble pensar que con un motor grafico más potente como Frostbite 3 éste se vea peor a causa de los colores apagados y las texturas tan mal diseñadas, la verdad no sé en que porcentaje se nos dio el juego, pero completo no estaba. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2014
    4
    I wish this game wasn't released yet. This game has so many glitches or bugs it is literally impossible to count how many there are. I'm justI wish this game wasn't released yet. This game has so many glitches or bugs it is literally impossible to count how many there are. I'm just going to say what DICE did right and wrong:

    The Right:

    -The graphics: Wow. All I can say is wow. They really hunkered down on modeling, texturing, and lights. Man those pretty lights... anyway, my point being here is that the game looks phenomenal compared to most games today, it's not far from battle field three in my honest opinion, the game already looked, good. How did they make a game good, gooder? Gooder?? Mmm-yeah.

    -The Wrong: Literally, everything else. To my knowledge, dice released an update to the game which made the game completely broken, I can't even complete the campaign because, I'm stuck in a room. No way in or out, because of the AI, spawn points in a different room, and me in a different one and it cannot trigger a timed event. Comparing my game to footage online of the console version, they just opened the door. They can't because they just stand there like idiots. And have I mentioned that the AI can walk through the door? They don't open it, they just walk through it.
    Expand
  7. Jul 12, 2015
    0
    The servers are **** 0 out of 10. Nothing fun at all. Takes half the game for your gun to show and map to render. By the way 12 gauge shotgunThe servers are **** 0 out of 10. Nothing fun at all. Takes half the game for your gun to show and map to render. By the way 12 gauge shotgun to the chest from a meter and a half only does 26 damage Expand

See all 367 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.