Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1052 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 291
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feelsAbsolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Battlefield 4's dazzling debut on the PS4 begins in spectacular fashion. It looks stunning and plays awesome. It's a damn fine start andBattlefield 4's dazzling debut on the PS4 begins in spectacular fashion. It looks stunning and plays awesome. It's a damn fine start and step-up. The frostbite engine is fantastic and pays off in some style as graphically it takes it to a whole other level. It's of the highest quality! The single player campaign is short and sweet but still good fun even if it feels like a missed opportunity because multiplayer is magnificent. It's vintage Battlefield at it's supreme addictive best. Each game mode brings a variety that keeps it fresh enough to play over again and never tire. The game feels and runs greatly, ofcourse there has been complains regarding online but having played it, I can only report that it's been utterly brilliant and nonstop. I've had no issues. All i can say is multiplayer is massive and marvellous! CoD may have came along and be setting world records but the quality is the key here, Battlefield is a total triumph and healds & shoulders above it's rival! With more DLC to come it's safe to assume things can only get bigger and better! The only disappointment is that DICE have missed a great chance with it's storytelling in single player, there was a chance to make Battlefield 4 the ultimate shooter! Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Trolls are trying to bring this games user score down but BF4 is definitely one of the best launch games for the PS4. However, you'll justTrolls are trying to bring this games user score down but BF4 is definitely one of the best launch games for the PS4. However, you'll just want to rent the game or borrow it from a friend if you only want to check out the campaign, this is a mainly a multiplayer game (this should be known by now though) Expand
  4. May 27, 2014
    7
    BF4 is a great game with lots of fun to have. I haven't played the campaign which is not all that great from what I have read. But the massiveBF4 is a great game with lots of fun to have. I haven't played the campaign which is not all that great from what I have read. But the massive multiplayer is amazing. It runs a 64 player game with out a single drop in frame rate. The graphics are very decent. I most say I never played the game from launch when it had lots of bugs, but right now those bugs are gone! great game! Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    5
    From PS3 to PS4 -
    Okay, the graphics for this game on PS4 look amazing, sadly, that's about it. The game is still broken in every way. I get
    From PS3 to PS4 -
    Okay, the graphics for this game on PS4 look amazing, sadly, that's about it. The game is still broken in every way. I get constant lag for no reason, froze in the load screen several times, and I lost my campaign progression, twice.
    (The second time I didn't really care, the campaign is abysmal anyway. Just skip the entire thing... seriously, don't play it its that bad.)
    My advise, wait for the game to be fixed first, then buy it when it actually runs properly. In the state it's in right now, don't buy it.
    Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2014
    3
    The game in itself is good, but there are game-breaking aspects that ruin the whole experience.
    Personally I liked the campaign but it was
    The game in itself is good, but there are game-breaking aspects that ruin the whole experience.
    Personally I liked the campaign but it was too short and scripted, the only time when you can make a story changing decision is when the campaign ends. Wouldn't recommend buying this game just for the campaign, as it is a waste of money.
    The thing that makes Battlefield a big title is the multiplayer. In this specific title I can rarely find it fun. The game is a rage inducing experience due to bugs, horrible design decisions and really bad servers. I didn't have this problems with other Battlefield games.
    I don't recommend this game, you have lots of other options.
    Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2015
    0
    This is one THE worst shooter to have come out in the past 5 years, numerous amount of bugs that have been in the game from previousThis is one THE worst shooter to have come out in the past 5 years, numerous amount of bugs that have been in the game from previous installments have NEVER been fixed, client side hit detection, dying behind cover, servers run by third party members that will stack and mod teams for people who "donate" (pay2win).
    Who needs cheats when servers will throw games in your favor if you donate, don't believe me go donate and see how well you end up doing on that server. EA enhances gameplay for people who youtube. THEY WILL NEVER DEBUG THIS GAME BECAUSE IT IS A CONSOLE GAME IT COST TO MUCH TO PATCH DO NOT BUY THIS GAME DO NOT BUY THIS GAME DO NOT BUY THIS GAME
    Expand

See all 291 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.