Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1091 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 294
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feelsAbsolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2014
    9
    It really is tons of great fun! Even the multiplayer is badass! They know the true feeling to make it feel like war! The walls can be blownIt really is tons of great fun! Even the multiplayer is badass! They know the true feeling to make it feel like war! The walls can be blown up!
    Singelplayer is a action movie game!
    Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    This games graphics are almost as good as killzones. It is a fantastic fps. I am not good at this game, I feel the lack of aim assist messesThis games graphics are almost as good as killzones. It is a fantastic fps. I am not good at this game, I feel the lack of aim assist messes with me. My son and his friends are good at it though. I have heard of so many people having issues with this game but I havent had one. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2014
    7
    Battlefield 4 was on shaky grounds when it first released. My campaign saves kept on getting corrupted and deleted, I was constantly kickedBattlefield 4 was on shaky grounds when it first released. My campaign saves kept on getting corrupted and deleted, I was constantly kicked off of servers, and most of all I was not enjoying the experience. The game has been patched since then and we finally have the version that should've been released at launch. For me the single player campaign started good but finished horribly. The ending to me seemed rushed and was very anti-climatic. The multiplayer is a much better experience that can hog up hours of your life. However, I think this is it's downfall. As a casual gamer, I don't have 1,000 hours to invest into this game to reach top rank. I have a job, girl friend, and a life. Why make the leveling up process.... sooooooo.... sloooooow? Sure maybe it's rewarding to the fans who make the grind which is great, but this game fell flat for me after rank 40. With having that said, I still give this game credit for having a fun multiplayer experience. It's currently the best on the market for first person shooters. I would suggest that if a single player campaign is more important to you then give Wolfenstein a try. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    5
    I have to be fair and review this game while including all of the crashes and error messages that I've encountered. First off, this is by farI have to be fair and review this game while including all of the crashes and error messages that I've encountered. First off, this is by far the best Battlefield installment yet. The graphics are top notch and really show off just a smidge of what the Playstation 4 is capable of. The environments are fully destructible and some buildings will crumble completely do the ground. It's breathtaking to watch! On some maps, weather can completely change the tide of battle. Storms can blow through with strong winds and rain and can make it sometimes change your visibility. The sounds are very authentic, especially if you change to "wartapes" in the sound options. The controls are top notch and the fun factor is through the roof. With all this being said, the bugs are absolutely horrible! My game crashes about 1 out of every 4 games I play. The crashes are mostly with the Conquest mode. It makes it very frustrating and although I've always been a huge Battlefield fan, I've almost stopped playing entirely on quite a few occasions. The hope is still here that they will fix these issues soon. This is a great game to buy but I would wait a few months until they've fixed all of the issues. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    3
    The servers do not work in Quick Match, the Conquest matches were offline the initial 3 weeks, and Origin/EA's customer support unattaching myThe servers do not work in Quick Match, the Conquest matches were offline the initial 3 weeks, and Origin/EA's customer support unattaching my gamertag to an Origin account that the Xbox One version automatically generated has been non existent after 3 weeks of tickets. The 2 weeks I've been able to play it so far? Lag Lag Lag.

    Honestly, this was the year I gave Battlefield 4 a chance and I will DEFINITELY never waste my money or my time on another garbage DICE purchase again.
    Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2015
    0
    This is one THE worst shooter to have come out in the past 5 years, numerous amount of bugs that have been in the game from previousThis is one THE worst shooter to have come out in the past 5 years, numerous amount of bugs that have been in the game from previous installments have NEVER been fixed, client side hit detection, dying behind cover, servers run by third party members that will stack and mod teams for people who "donate" (pay2win).
    Who needs cheats when servers will throw games in your favor if you donate, don't believe me go donate and see how well you end up doing on that server. EA enhances gameplay for people who youtube. THEY WILL NEVER DEBUG THIS GAME BECAUSE IT IS A CONSOLE GAME IT COST TO MUCH TO PATCH DO NOT BUY THIS GAME DO NOT BUY THIS GAME DO NOT BUY THIS GAME
    Expand

See all 294 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.