Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1224 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 319
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feelsAbsolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    Two things i want to say. People don't get into vehicle by teleporting into them second. In a stinger versus helicopter battle the stingerTwo things i want to say. People don't get into vehicle by teleporting into them second. In a stinger versus helicopter battle the stinger will always win. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    single player: too short. not satisfying enough, mostly it sounds like a little showcase for the engine. i enjoyed the different settings andsingle player: too short. not satisfying enough, mostly it sounds like a little showcase for the engine. i enjoyed the different settings and the shooting but generally it does not have much to offer. story is a "meh" and worst of all is that the characters were supposed to be like emotional and cool and engaging but they are nothing but everyday heroes! dunt exoect too much
    graphics: well....its just awesome! i am actually impressed how close ps4 is to the PC version, 900p is not bad and it does seems like a 1080p. frame rate is consistent and it rarely goes bellow 40. overall graphics are a reall next gen, the areas are vast and destructable but textures and lightings are so good. some of the textures are a little bit washed out compare to pc but it is not easy to spot. i dont really expect dice to manage to bring their engine really optimised on consoles for now though.
    multi: its just the best. 64 players, frame rate about 40-60. awesome graphics and vast maps. dynamic maps. cool mods and pretty much everything is cool. i like the deep costumization and the commander mode as well. this game can keep you busy for few months easily actually and i strongly recommend it to every ps4 owner as i kniw they will enjoy the multiplayer especially if they never had chance to play on PC.
    Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2015
    7
    (Multiplayer review only!) Battlefield 4 has a really decent multiplayer, although it's nothing too innovative. It shares it's similarities(Multiplayer review only!) Battlefield 4 has a really decent multiplayer, although it's nothing too innovative. It shares it's similarities with it's predecessor. It looks awesome and the levolution makes for a good effect, but apart from that, and also for adding a commander mode, it's not so different from Battlefield 3. The map design is decent, but not spectacular. And also the gunplay feels smooth and fluid. If you've never played any Battlefield game, you should buy this one because it's really enjoyable. However, if you already have Battlefield 3 and you're looking for a change, you're not going to be impressed too much, even though it can be fun. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2014
    6
    Polished game, with very atmospheric combat. I enjoyed the campaign, however it never really got going with no stand-out scenes andPolished game, with very atmospheric combat. I enjoyed the campaign, however it never really got going with no stand-out scenes and repetitive gameplay. The game suffered from regular crashes and sometimes I had to replay huge sections of the game after a crash. A major problem is that there are too many weapons with no real reason to choose them. I would have liked to see sections of the game that were more tailored to certain types of weapon with less opportunity to change your loadout mid-game, making it more of a tactical necessity to choose the correct weapons for your environment.
    Multiplayer is pretty good but not really my sort of thing.
    Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2014
    4
    I wish this game wasn't released yet. This game has so many glitches or bugs it is literally impossible to count how many there are. I'm justI wish this game wasn't released yet. This game has so many glitches or bugs it is literally impossible to count how many there are. I'm just going to say what DICE did right and wrong:

    The Right:

    -The graphics: Wow. All I can say is wow. They really hunkered down on modeling, texturing, and lights. Man those pretty lights... anyway, my point being here is that the game looks phenomenal compared to most games today, it's not far from battle field three in my honest opinion, the game already looked, good. How did they make a game good, gooder? Gooder?? Mmm-yeah.

    -The Wrong: Literally, everything else. To my knowledge, dice released an update to the game which made the game completely broken, I can't even complete the campaign because, I'm stuck in a room. No way in or out, because of the AI, spawn points in a different room, and me in a different one and it cannot trigger a timed event. Comparing my game to footage online of the console version, they just opened the door. They can't because they just stand there like idiots. And have I mentioned that the AI can walk through the door? They don't open it, they just walk through it.
    Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2015
    0
    This game cannot be finished, is full of bugs, had to restart on mission of 1 hour because it got stuck at the end on the campaign mode. TheThis game cannot be finished, is full of bugs, had to restart on mission of 1 hour because it got stuck at the end on the campaign mode. The plot of the campaign mode is **** written by a kid, the multiplayer is ok, but it keeps crashing and closing the game so is unusable. Not going to pay for more **** like this or call of duty. Expand

See all 319 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.