Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1095 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 93 out of 294
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feelsAbsolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2014
    9
    It really is tons of great fun! Even the multiplayer is badass! They know the true feeling to make it feel like war! The walls can be blownIt really is tons of great fun! Even the multiplayer is badass! They know the true feeling to make it feel like war! The walls can be blown up!
    Singelplayer is a action movie game!
    Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    This games graphics are almost as good as killzones. It is a fantastic fps. I am not good at this game, I feel the lack of aim assist messesThis games graphics are almost as good as killzones. It is a fantastic fps. I am not good at this game, I feel the lack of aim assist messes with me. My son and his friends are good at it though. I have heard of so many people having issues with this game but I havent had one. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2014
    7
    This game is fun! But its not without issues, for example every multiplayer match takes 1-2 min just to load in all the sounds and textures.This game is fun! But its not without issues, for example every multiplayer match takes 1-2 min just to load in all the sounds and textures. Battlefield 4's next thing was supposed to be the "levolution" and on most maps its absolutely wasted, but on a few of them its spectacular and awesome. I haven't experianced any game-breaking bugs so far. The single player is short but i actually liked the characters there and missed them when they were gone. The graphics are some of the best i have seen (Definitively next gen) and they multiiplayer is fun. The only thing that worried me is the MICROTRANSACTIONS. You can pay real money to unlock everything in a kit or buy "battlepacks" (which give you accessories for guns). Luckily i haven't seen any problem with them there.

    And with that note lets wrap this up
    Graphics - 10/10
    Story - 7/10
    Multiplayer - 8/10
    Maps - 5/10
    Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    5
    From PS3 to PS4 -
    Okay, the graphics for this game on PS4 look amazing, sadly, that's about it. The game is still broken in every way. I get
    From PS3 to PS4 -
    Okay, the graphics for this game on PS4 look amazing, sadly, that's about it. The game is still broken in every way. I get constant lag for no reason, froze in the load screen several times, and I lost my campaign progression, twice.
    (The second time I didn't really care, the campaign is abysmal anyway. Just skip the entire thing... seriously, don't play it its that bad.)
    My advise, wait for the game to be fixed first, then buy it when it actually runs properly. In the state it's in right now, don't buy it.
    Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    3
    It's not worth $120 thats for sure. I went back to BF3 for a bit, and it is so much better than BF4. They took an amazing game tacked a bunchIt's not worth $120 thats for sure. I went back to BF3 for a bit, and it is so much better than BF4. They took an amazing game tacked a bunch of crap onto it, gave us some **** rush maps and too many grenades. Comander mode takes all strategic movement out of the game. As someone who played on rush 24/7 servers almost every time i'm very unhappy with my purchase. Got to lvl 20 and just stopped.

    The single player game is awful and they force you to play it in order to unlock multiplayer guns.
    Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    Shocking game. Far few too maps in multiplayer (without buying the upgrade packs), Sketchy graphics, unplayable single player campaign modeShocking game. Far few too maps in multiplayer (without buying the upgrade packs), Sketchy graphics, unplayable single player campaign mode due to crashing / corrupting save files meaning player faces countless restarts.
    Avoid at all costs. This game was released broken and unfinished. Everyone involved should hang their head in shame.
    As of January 26th all of these problems persist. Unplayable.
    Expand

See all 294 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.