Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 306
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feelsAbsolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    Game is absolutely fantastic, amazing graphics and maps. So much more realistic than any COD game in terms of the gameplay and power of theGame is absolutely fantastic, amazing graphics and maps. So much more realistic than any COD game in terms of the gameplay and power of the weapons. More difficult than any COD game but still very fun. The reason it isn't a 10 is because the EA servers are very poor and there are occasional glitchy movements in the larger conquest games. Still incredibly enjoyable. Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    This games graphics are almost as good as killzones. It is a fantastic fps. I am not good at this game, I feel the lack of aim assist messesThis games graphics are almost as good as killzones. It is a fantastic fps. I am not good at this game, I feel the lack of aim assist messes with me. My son and his friends are good at it though. I have heard of so many people having issues with this game but I havent had one. Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2014
    7
    The core of the game is the mutliplayer experience and this is an absolute blast to play. The new maps are varied and big. The ability to nowThe core of the game is the mutliplayer experience and this is an absolute blast to play. The new maps are varied and big. The ability to now play with 64 people on the same map is a big step forward. Still, the amount of maps is a little underwhelming and you'll need to fork out extra money if you want the extra DLC maps.

    Paid DLC is fine, as long as the vanilla offering is large enough to warrant a full retail price. This isn't the case here.

    In the graphics department, it doesn't really feel next gen. It sure plays smoothly, but I expected a prettier game on the new consoles.

    The campaign is dull and lackluster, and only provides value when the servers are offline. They would have better made it online MP only, and add more maps, instead of this season pass sillyness.

    + 64 people multiplayer fun
    + Addictive
    + Plays really smoothly

    - Underwhelming amount of included multiplayer maps
    - Extra maps are paid DLC
    - Graphics
    Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2014
    6
    Battlefield 4 seems incredibly advanced, even for these days; mutliplayer is large and complex, singleplayer feels almost believable, andBattlefield 4 seems incredibly advanced, even for these days; mutliplayer is large and complex, singleplayer feels almost believable, and looks beautiful. There isn't much else to say in terms of positives, I feel I have bundled them all up nice and tight in those couple terms. And I would so love to say this game is perfect...but it really isn't. I'm sorry Battlefield fans, but it seems the franchise is on a slow decline.

    Admittedly, the game has come some way since Battlefield 3; levolution is a rather interesting concept, but here comes my first complaint; the trailers and game devs made it seem dynamic, but it's so scripted, I was more than just disappointed. OK, it's cool to wander around a street, just to notice it is slowly filling with water several minutes later, up to the point it becomes a river worthy of riding boats along. But how many times can this happen, before you feel like you've seen it before? Not many, I imagine. The same goes for the dam collapse, the building falling, and every other supposedly innovative alteration. Besides these, the game is just Battlefield 3, with shinier lens flare and elevators.

    So, the campaign? It feels fantastic, characters are lifelike, and graphics are blindingly beautiful. I feel I have nearly no complaints about the campaign, besides the fact it lacks a very detailed story.

    I have one final point to make at the moment. I have covered the single player, the multiplayer, and had you been keeping up with other reviews, you probably know what's coming next...yes, the bugs. They are few and far between, and rather minor, but things like sound taking a while to pop in on the multiplayer, and crashes in the singleplayer, not to mention one specific bug in the campaign where there was absolutely nothing to do, and some guy kept making it clear that he was ready for targets when there were none. These few bugs I have found so far are not game breaking, but they do feel incredibly damaging to the experience, especially when you have to back out and reenter the campaign, which makes you feel detached somewhat, and interrupts immersion.

    The game is great, and may well be almost perfect, but it just feels gimmicky, and slightly damaged at the moment. Hopefully fixes will come, but it feels incomplete as it stands, so I say now to wait for price drops if you want this game, because it is certainly not worth £40 at the moment, but may well be sometime in the near future.
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    3
    If this game actually worked I would give it a 9. The graphics are amazing. The levelution is amazing, the weapons and customization isIf this game actually worked I would give it a 9. The graphics are amazing. The levelution is amazing, the weapons and customization is amazing. The vehicles are amazing! The problem? You can't play the f'n game!!! If you can't even login and play the multiplayer game, then all the rest of the amazing features are totally useless! Most people get part way through the single player campaign to get a blue screen error message and lose ALL of their progress! Only having to start over and it errors out again! Frustrating. The multiplayer is even worse. You can't login to a game most of the time. When you do login to a game and start having fun, it loses connection. The "join" buttons are not accurate, they function differently than what the screen says they do. When playing, the graphics blur out every 60 seconds. There is no sound during the start of the game. No one can even play conquest right now, which is the most popular game mode. Horrible!!! Look at the battlelog forums and see the 10000+ complaints replying to the "known bf4 issues and next steps" Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2015
    0
    This game cannot be finished, is full of bugs, had to restart on mission of 1 hour because it got stuck at the end on the campaign mode. TheThis game cannot be finished, is full of bugs, had to restart on mission of 1 hour because it got stuck at the end on the campaign mode. The plot of the campaign mode is **** written by a kid, the multiplayer is ok, but it keeps crashing and closing the game so is unusable. Not going to pay for more **** like this or call of duty. Expand

See all 306 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.