Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 941 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 265
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Battlefield 4's dazzling debut on the PS4 begins in spectacular fashion. It looks stunning and plays awesome. It's a damn fine start and step-up. The frostbite engine is fantastic and pays off in some style as graphically it takes it to a whole other level. It's of the highest quality! The single player campaign is short and sweet but still good fun even if it feels like a missed opportunity because multiplayer is magnificent. It's vintage Battlefield at it's supreme addictive best. Each game mode brings a variety that keeps it fresh enough to play over again and never tire. The game feels and runs greatly, ofcourse there has been complains regarding online but having played it, I can only report that it's been utterly brilliant and nonstop. I've had no issues. All i can say is multiplayer is massive and marvellous! CoD may have came along and be setting world records but the quality is the key here, Battlefield is a total triumph and healds & shoulders above it's rival! With more DLC to come it's safe to assume things can only get bigger and better! The only disappointment is that DICE have missed a great chance with it's storytelling in single player, there was a chance to make Battlefield 4 the ultimate shooter! Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Well first of all two words, Amazing Shooter. This game is more realistic than Battlefield 3. Campaign is amazing. The thing I liked about multiplayer is Levolution. This thing is a moment of seeing buildings destroyed. Although I wished that all maps have Levolution. This game is better than COD. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    7
    I gave this game a 7 since while it is an extremely fun game there were two major issues I found with it. First the story in single player isn't all that great. More like a stereo typical campaign you would find in most FPS games these days. Nothing new and nothing done differently. Second is the game breaking bugs. It has now been a number of months since release and my single player campaign has still broken numerous times as well as multiplayer not saving progress every once in a while. So while its a great game these issues affect the overall experience. Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2014
    5
    This is a great game, surpasses call of duty by a long shot. I like how the game is setup with the vehicles and all, HOWEVER......... The only complaints I have about this game are as follows #1- the respawn points are horrible, and the respawn delay is to long, and let's get realistic for a minute,#2 no one could shoot an enemy combatant through 4 walls of a main building 2,000 yards away, I mean Chris Kyle wasn't that good, and #3 when you come up behind someone and empty an entire clip into there back and then they turn around and one shot you WTF? or an assault rifle kill from across the map, really?? The dynamics are ridiculous, yes good graphics, but I would expect that for a new, more technologically advanced system so not real surprised about that. These guys who make these games should seriously consult some veterans or something because if I shoot you in the head with a .44 Magnum pistol, you are not going to turn around and kill me with your knife, which brings me to the worst thing about this game. You can NOT stab someone head to head, if you are not behind them they will just counter and kill you, it's dumb. While there are some great things that I absolutely love about this game, I just wish the designers of the game would get real man, Don't respawn me right in the middle of the enemy team and then make me wait 20 minutes to freaking respawn so that they can put me in the same place where I will just get killed again before my weapon is even up. hate it. I also don't like the unrealistic damage in these games. AND I AM SICK AND TIRED OF GETTING SHOT IN THE BACK OVER AND OVER BECAUSE THE DUMB GAME WANTS TO RESPAWN THE ENEMY RIGHT BEHIND YOU TO WHAT GIVE THEM A FREE KILL. COME ON!!!!!! and take the dang red names off, if they can't see me they can't see me, they don't need help by putting a big sign above there head. I am 50/50 on this game. It is definitely better than call of duty, but I would really just one time, like to see a FPS that wouldn't do the things this game does, which I previously explained. It's worth the buy, but if you are a person that rages, this is not the game for you. The respawning is absolutely HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!
    It's not bad enough that people don't even play right, ok look talking realism ok, people walking around shooting people with rocket launchers because they are not good is BS. Ok make the game rules based off the Geneva convention and the rules of war, you can't shoot a person with anything larger than a 50 cal unless they have an rpg or some type of anti vehicle weapon for starters. Make the damage a little more realistic, if I shoot a guy in the head don't make me have to use two clips to get him to half health while I get killed in one shot by a ricochet..... I guess some consistency is what I am asking for, and fix the dam respawn problems please. Oh and I just noticed while playing this dumb game, why in the hell can this guy not step over a freaking curb?????????? get stuck on leaves on the ground that I have to jump over???? what is that???? Come on, can someone make a decent FPS that isn't just an arcade game with good graphics that give bonuses to good players while mediocre players have to suffer and die. Cause they will get you across the map with a pistol, they just shoot it in the air and it finds you, thanks for the fair play battlefield (Insert sarcasm). Bunch of A**ho**s.
    Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    3
    The servers do not work in Quick Match, the Conquest matches were offline the initial 3 weeks, and Origin/EA's customer support unattaching my gamertag to an Origin account that the Xbox One version automatically generated has been non existent after 3 weeks of tickets. The 2 weeks I've been able to play it so far? Lag Lag Lag.

    Honestly, this was the year I gave Battlefield 4 a chance and I will DEFINITELY never waste my money or my time on another garbage DICE purchase again.
    Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2014
    0
    After all this time, Battlefield 4 continues to haunt it's players. EA has proven that any company that they take over, will eventually be worse off than it was before. DICE, the once revered name in the industry, now carries with it, a permanent stain that no amount of time will not heal. Much like Bioware and countless others; they will never be whole again.

    The promise that this game had in the beginning, only makes the end result that much harder to suffer through. Countless bugs still plague the game to this day. A quick hop over to the BF4 forums will take you through a time warp that will make you stop and wonder- is this message board still active? Oh yes, these are new bugs.

    Each patch does bring with it many fixes- but for each step forward, brings another step back in a different direction. It is clear that something fundamental is flawed about the code, and not merely patch-fixable.

    With a game released on so many different platforms, and various modes, you'll often encounter someone who can play the game completely fine without issue. So much of what is broken is untraceable, and is clear, will never truly be fixed.

    The Battlefield series officially died with the release of BF4, and stormtrooper or not, nothing they do will ever bring me back.
    Expand

See all 265 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.