Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1185 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 309
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feelsAbsolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    Very good game I have been playing it since it came out, and my first impressions were pretty good. Of course the only problem with it is EAVery good game I have been playing it since it came out, and my first impressions were pretty good. Of course the only problem with it is EA because battlefield was being battlefield (connections and glitches) but overall a good game. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    I really, really want to like this game. But alas, the single player was short, and began feeling like more and more of a chore as a trudgedI really, really want to like this game. But alas, the single player was short, and began feeling like more and more of a chore as a trudged through it to get weapons for multiplayer, and the multiplayer itself is unreliable in performance. I have really good internet, and it's still laggy as all hell. Texture pop-ins plague the game, and frequent audio cut outs subtract from immersion. Don't get me wrong, when it works, it works, but damn. That's only 20-30% of the time. This game is fun, but until EA and DICE salvage what they can from this abhorrent, unreliable, and all around frustrating mess of something that could be so much more, it is definitely not worth the 60$ asking price, let alone the extra bucks to get Premium. This game was rushed, but I can assure you my review was not. Shame on you, DICE. Shame on you, EA. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2015
    7
    Battlefield BC2 is one of my favourite MP shooters of all time. Since then I've played Battlefield 3 and recently got battlefield 4Battlefield BC2 is one of my favourite MP shooters of all time. Since then I've played Battlefield 3 and recently got battlefield 4 (premium)for my new PS4.
    The singleplay this time was forgettable, but served as an introduction for the controls and gameplay. I soon dived into the multiplayer where these games usually shines, and well, it was fun. I soon found my favourite class in the classic gamemodes.
    The difference this time, just as with BF3, I have a hard time advancing past a certain score. I find it very hard to get past the 10000 mark, most likely because this requires a lot of good team play, and there in lies the biggest problem I think.
    It's incredibly hard to find a team, where anyone actually cares to play as a team. People are always off on their own agenda. This ultimately made me get bored, I always ended up feeling alone, and this in a game with potential 32 players to team up with....
    You just really need friends to actually teamplay with for this game to shine for any extended period. Or you will most probably get bored real soon.
    This was the same as with BF3.
    I was a real pro playing BC2, I loved the levels and the gameplay and I could score high without knowing who I played with, I found it easy to help my team most of the time, and scoring was simple.
    I just dont know what has happened to gameplay since then but it all just seem more chaotic and random.
    I dont really have a favourite level either. It's really hard to find any good strategies. Especially if one team has a commander and yours dont your basically "painted" by drones and will often draw the shortest straw.
    Bottom line is that BF to me has lost that old "magic" enjoyment I got out of BC2. I play for hours but dont feel like I'm progressing... I unlock stuff sure, but dont get past the feeling of randomness. No matter what I try I cant make much of a difference one game to another.
    Final Word is that BF is prettier than ever, yet feels less fun. I cant put my finger on it really. It's just how I feel. I think it's a balancing issue, but also the large levels with a 1000 different places to camp and snipe from make it impossible to advance without taking a big risk. BC2 levels were not like that.

    I'll give BF4 an OK, but I think DICE should think about going back to more basic levels, where skill makes more of a diffrence, not how many players take advantage of cheap camping tactics.
    Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2014
    6
    Polished game, with very atmospheric combat. I enjoyed the campaign, however it never really got going with no stand-out scenes andPolished game, with very atmospheric combat. I enjoyed the campaign, however it never really got going with no stand-out scenes and repetitive gameplay. The game suffered from regular crashes and sometimes I had to replay huge sections of the game after a crash. A major problem is that there are too many weapons with no real reason to choose them. I would have liked to see sections of the game that were more tailored to certain types of weapon with less opportunity to change your loadout mid-game, making it more of a tactical necessity to choose the correct weapons for your environment.
    Multiplayer is pretty good but not really my sort of thing.
    Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2014
    4
    I wish this game wasn't released yet. This game has so many glitches or bugs it is literally impossible to count how many there are. I'm justI wish this game wasn't released yet. This game has so many glitches or bugs it is literally impossible to count how many there are. I'm just going to say what DICE did right and wrong:

    The Right:

    -The graphics: Wow. All I can say is wow. They really hunkered down on modeling, texturing, and lights. Man those pretty lights... anyway, my point being here is that the game looks phenomenal compared to most games today, it's not far from battle field three in my honest opinion, the game already looked, good. How did they make a game good, gooder? Gooder?? Mmm-yeah.

    -The Wrong: Literally, everything else. To my knowledge, dice released an update to the game which made the game completely broken, I can't even complete the campaign because, I'm stuck in a room. No way in or out, because of the AI, spawn points in a different room, and me in a different one and it cannot trigger a timed event. Comparing my game to footage online of the console version, they just opened the door. They can't because they just stand there like idiots. And have I mentioned that the AI can walk through the door? They don't open it, they just walk through it.
    Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2015
    0
    This game cannot be finished, is full of bugs, had to restart on mission of 1 hour because it got stuck at the end on the campaign mode. TheThis game cannot be finished, is full of bugs, had to restart on mission of 1 hour because it got stuck at the end on the campaign mode. The plot of the campaign mode is **** written by a kid, the multiplayer is ok, but it keeps crashing and closing the game so is unusable. Not going to pay for more **** like this or call of duty. Expand

See all 309 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.